- History, African
- History, American
- History, Ancient
- History, Asian
- History, Atlantic World
- History, British
- History, Canada
- History, Caribbean
- History, Disability
- History, Early Modern
- History, Environmental
- History, Genocide
- History, Latin American
- History, Medicine
- History, Medieval
- History, Military
- History, Modern European
- History, World
- Loyalist Collection, Black History
- Loyalist Collection, British West Indies
- Loyalist Collection, Health and Medicine
- Loyalist Collection, Piracy and Privateering
- Loyalist Collection, Religion
- ARTS 1013
- HIST 1101 (SJ)
- HIST*1601 (SJ)
- HIST1004: War in the Modern World (FR)
- HIST1007 - History of the Body (FR/FR)
- HIST2453 / 4453: Cold War [Hi]Stories (FR)
- HIST3011: Age of Empires, European Imperialism 1815-1914 (FR)
- HIST3055 Generation of the Great War (FR)
- HIST3085 / 3095 / 5013 Modern German History (FR)
- HIST4851: Law and War (FR)
- HIST4861: Terrorism in History (FR)
- HIST5465: The Cuban Missile Crisis (FR)
- HIST5804: The Second World War (FR)
- HIST6842: Intelligence in War and Diplomacy since 1945 (FR)
- HIST:4013: The Holocaust: Victims, Perpetrators, Bystanders (FR)
- Watergate: Political Scandal HIST5459 (FR)
Top Article & Research Databases
Use article databases to find articles, reviews, book chapters, etc.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
"Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more ... Provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955."--Database information page.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1955-Current
America: History and Life (EBSCO)
"America: History & Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present ... The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews."--Database information page.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1964-Current
JSTOR Current Collection
In addition to being an archive, JSTOR offers current access to a range of titles from various publishers. UNB has access to current and archival content for almost 50 of these journals.
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO - ProQuest)
"Periodicals Archive Online is a major online periodical archive that makes the backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the full text of a growing number of digitized periodicals that have been indexed in its sister database, Periodicals Index Online."--About page.
Iter - Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
A bibliography covering the period 400-1700. Citations are drawn from journals, books, conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues.
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.
(Showing 7 of 102 resources | View All Results)
Top Reference Materials
Find dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and other materials
Cambridge histories online
This resource, part of Cambridge Core, contains the online versions of over 270 Cambridge Histories publications in the following 15 areas: American History, British History, Economic History, General History, History of Science, History of the Book, Language and Linguistics, Literary Studies, Music, Philosophy, Political and Social Theory, Regional History, Religious Studies, Theatre Studies and Performing Arts, and Warfare. For a complete listing of titles in each area, please refer to the publisher's site, at: https://www.cambridge.org/core/what-we-publish/collections/cambridge-histories
Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online
Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."
Oxford Bibliographies Online
"Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO) is an entirely new research tool for the social sciences and humanities. A scholar-curated library of discipline-based subject modules, OBO is designed to help busy researchers find reliable sources of information in half the time by directing them to exactly the right chapter, book, website, archive, or data set they need for their research."
Purchased multi-user unlimited access
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (ODNB)
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is an illustrated/fulltext reference tool providing 55,000 specially-written signed biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of the British past from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000. It is the product of research instituted at the University of Oxford and funded by the British Academy and by Oxford University Press. It is the achievement of 10,000 contributors and advisers staff in Oxford. The Oxford DNB aims to provide full, accurate, concise, and readable articles on noteworthy people in all walks of life. No living person is included: the Dictionary's articles are confined to people who died before 31 December 2000.
Dictionary of Canadian biography online / Dictionnaire biographique du Canada en ligne
The Dictionary of Canadian Biography/Dictionnaire biographique du Canada provides detailed biographies of important figures in Canadian history from the year 1000 to 1930. This free online resource is produced by Library and Archives Canada, in partnership with Universite Laval and the University of Toronto, and reproduces the full contents of the print Dictionary of Canadian Biography/Dictionnaire biographique du Canada.
Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published.Covers the humanities and social sciences.
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access
Oxford English dictionary (OED)
"This unique and powerful resource offers unprecedented access to the definitive record of the meaning, history and evolution of more than 600,000 words over the last 1,500 years."A complete text of the 2nd. ed. of the Oxford English dictionary with quarterly updates, including revisions not available in any other form.
5 simultaneous users
(Showing 7 of 445 resources | View All Results)
- Aggie Sliwka (she/her)
- I am ready to support your research needs in person, via phone, email, and MS Teams.
- UNB Fredericton