Use the databases below to search for articles on your research topic. If a database does not provide a copy of an article you want, click the Check for fulltext link beside the article record to see if another database provides a copy.
If you want an article that is not available at UNB, either online or in print, fill out a Document Delivery request form and the library will try to get a copy for you as quickly as possible (usually between 2-7 days).
Key Resources
-
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
"Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more ... Provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955."--Database information page.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1955-Current -
America: History and Life (EBSCO)
"America: History & Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present ... The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews."--Database information page.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1964-Current
Additional Resources
-
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of studies."
Permitted Use | eResources record | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | Full text: 1990 - present. I -
Google scholar
Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.
-
JSTOR Archival Collections
JSTOR provides access to back issues of a variety of scholarly journals. UNB Libraries currently subscribes to the Arts & Sciences (I through X) collections, along with the Life Sciences and Ireland collections.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access -
Iter - Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
A bibliography covering the period 400-1700. Citations are drawn from journals, books, conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues.
-
ProQuest historical newspapers
ProQuest Historical Newspapers offers full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. As part of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers program, every issue of each title includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF. Includes The New York Times (1851-2007), The Wall Street Journal (1889-1993), and Washington Post (1877-1994).
-
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Globe and Mail
Canada's Heritage from 1844 contains complete coverage of The Globe and Mail newspaper from 1844 through 2011. Coverage includes major events in Canadian history, images, advertisements, classifieds, cartoons, birth/death notices and the full content of the Report on Business section first published in 1962.
