When researching a new topic, it's often important to start by gaining an overview, understanding unfamiliar terms, obtaining factual information, and testing your own assumptions. The resources listed below offer background and context for studying the history of deindustrialization in Canada and the Maritimes.
Canadian History: Reference Sources
- Dictionary of Canadian Biography
- Historical Atlas of Canada. Volume III, Addressing the Twentieth Century, 1891-1961
- The Cambridge History of the Native Peoples of the Americas. Vol. 1, North America. Part 1
- The Canadian Encyclopedia
- The Oxford Companion to Canadian History
Histories of Deindustrialization in Global Contexts
- Berger, Stefan, ed. Constructing Industrial Pasts: Heritage, Historical Culture and Identity in Regions Undergoing Structural Economic Transformation. Berghahn Books, 2020.
- Berger, Stefan, and Steven High. “(De-)Industrial Heritage.” Labor 16, no. 1 (2019): 1–27.
- Bluma, Lars, Michael Farrenkopf, and Torsten Meyer. Boom - Crisis - Heritage King Coal and the Energy Revolutions after 1945. Walter de Gruyter GmbH, 2021.
- Cowie, Jefferson and Joseph Heathcott, eds. Beyond the Ruins: The Meanings of Deindustrialization. ILR Press, 2003.
- Deindustrialization and the Politics of Our Time (DePOT) - multi-institutional collaboration on deindustrialization in Europe, Canada, and U.S.; see Research tab for publication lists
- Farrenkopf, Michael and Stefan Siemer. Materielle Kulturen des Bergbaus | Material Cultures of Mining: Zugänge, Aspekte und Beispiele | Approaches, Aspects and Examples. De Gruyter Oldenbourg, 2022. [free PDF download]
- Fazio, Michele, Christie Launius, and Tim Strangleman. Routledge International Handbook of Working-Class Studies. Taylor & Francis Group, 2020.
- High, Steven C., Lachlan MacKinnon, and Andrew Perhard. The Deindustrialized World: Confronting Ruination in Postindustrial Places. UBC Press, 2017.
- Kaltmeier, Olaf, Anne Tittor, Daniel Hawkins, and Eleonora Rohland, eds. The Routledge Handbook to the Political Economy and Governance of the Americas. Routledge, 2020.
- Strangleman, Tim, James Rhodes, and Sherry Linkon. “Introduction to Crumbling Cultures: Deindustrialization, Class, and Memory.” International Labor and Working Class History 84 (2013): 7–22.
New Brunswick and Maritime Labour and/or Economic Histories
- Acheson, Thomas William, David Frank, and James Douglas Frost. Industrialization and Underdevelopment in the Maritimes, 1880-1930. Garamond Press, 1985.
- Acheson, T. W. “The National Policy and the Industrialization of the Maritimes, 1880-1910.” Acadiensis 1, no. 2 (1972): 3–28.
- Anastakis, Dimitry. “The Quest of the Volk(swagen): The Bricklin Car, Industrial Modernity, and New Brunswick.” Acadiensis 43, no. 1 (2014): 89–108.
- Canadian Labour History Bibliography, 1976-2009 (Memorial University Libraries) - search over 3,800 publications on the history of Canadian workers
- Frank, David, and University of New Brunswick Department of History. The New Brunswick Worker in the 20th Century: Les Travailleurs Au Nouveau-Brunswick Au 20ieme Siecle: A Reader’s Guide: Un Guide Au Lecture: A Selective Annotated Bibliography: Bibliographie Choisie et Annotee. University of New Brunswick, 1986.
- Forbes, Ernest R. Challenging the Regional Stereotype: Essays on the 20th Century Maritimes. Acadiensis Press, 1989.
- Forbes, Ernest R. “In Search of a Post-Confederation Maritime Historiography, 1900 - 1967.” Acadiensis 8, no. 1 (1978): 3–21.
- Forbes, Ernest R. The Maritime Rights Movement, 1919-1927: A Study in Canadian Regionalism. McGill-Queen’s University Press, 1979.
- Inwood, Kris E. Farm, Factory and Fortune: New Studies in the Economic History of the Maritime Provinces. Acadiensis Press, 1993.
- Reid, Jane H., and John G. Reid. “The Multiple Deindustrializations of Canada’s Maritime Provinces and the Evaluation of Heritage-Related Urban Regeneration.” London Journal of Canadian Studies 31, no. 1 (2016): 89–112.
- Saunders, S. A., and T. W. Acheson. The Economic History of the Maritime Provinces. Acadiensis Press, 1984.
- Labour History in New Brunswick (Provincial Archives of NB, UNB, and Université de Moncton) - history of "the world of work" in 20th-century New Brunswick
- Wylie, Peter J. “When Markets Fail: Electrification and Maritime Industrial Decline in the 1920s.” Acadiensis 17, no. 1 (n.d.): 74–96.
