Article & Research Databases for History

"The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. The present digital collection, that helps chart the development of the concept of 'news' and 'newspapers' and the "free press", totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles. Many of the Burney newspapers are well known, but many pamphlets and broadsides also included have remained largely hidden. These treasures can now be searched, browsed and discovered again within Gale Digital Collections."
Collection record | Purchased multi-user unlimited access

"The 17th and 18th Century Nichols Newspapers Collection features the newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets and broadsheets that form the Nichols newspaper collection held at the Bodleian library in Oxford, UK. All 296 volumes of bound material, covering the period 1672-1737 are presented in digitized format here.

This collection charts the history of the development of the press in England and provides invaluable insight into 17th-18th century England."
Collection record | Purchased multi-user unlimited access

Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of studies."
Permitted Use | eResources record | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | Full text: 1990 - present. I

"America: History & Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present ... The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews."--Database information page.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1964-Current

Early American newspapers, often printed by small-town printers, documented the daily life of hundreds of diverse American communities, supported different political parties and recorded both majority and minority views. This collection provides images and full-text content access to historic newspapers listed in Clarence Brigham's authoritative bibliography, History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820, and in additional subsequent bibliographies.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access

The American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals provides information on the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction (1684-1912). This e-resource includes digitized images of American magazines, journals, and monographs not available from any other source and provide rich content detailing American history and culture from the mid-18th century through the late-19th century. These specialized collections cover advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.
Permitted Use | eResources record | Purchased multi-user unlimited access | Series 1-5

L'Année philologique (APh) is the most comprehensive international index to scholarly research in Classical Studies from prehistory to 800 A.D. The web version covers a wide variety of subjects including archaeology, ancient history, language, literature, law, philosophy, religion, science, and technology. APh currently indexes over 400,000 bibliographic records to journal articles, books, conference papers and book reviews from 1949 onward.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access

Art Index "references articles from international art publications, as well as paintings that appear as illustrations for articles or advertisements, listing the works under the artists' names with full bibliographic citations."
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1984-Current

Artstor is a repository of approximately 300 collections composed of over 2.5 million digital images (and growing), related data and provides tools to actively use those images in a restricted usage environment that balances the rights of the content providers and the needs of the users. The images are drawn from different sources, such as museums, archaeological teams, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference publishers.

Scholars can examine wide-ranging material such as Native American art from the Smithsonian, treasures from the Louvre, and panoramic, 360-degree views of the Hagia Sophia in a single, easy-to-use resource. The artistic traditions across many cultures embraces architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture.

The ATLA Religion Database is an essential tool for the study of religion. It is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Journals are selected for inclusion according to their scholarly merit and scope. Journals representing all the major religious faiths, major denominations, and numerous language groups are included.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1949-Current

Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America (BIPNA) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of Indigenous culture, history, and life in North America. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, education, the gaming industry, religion, folklore, economic development, acculturation, mythology, missions, tribal governments, and ethnohistory. BIPNA contains more than 350,000 citations for newspapers, magazines, academic journals, books, reviews, and trade publications from the United States and Canada with expanded content from Great Britain and Australia. Dates of coverage for content range from the sixteenth century to the present.

Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1989 - present

"A cumulative index to biographical material in books and magazines."

When complete, Black Thought and Culture will provide approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to 1975. The collection is intended for research in black studies, political science, American history, music, literature, art, and includes monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews.

British and Irish Women’s Letters and Diaries spans more than 400 years of personal writings, bringing together the voices of women from England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales. This database allows researchers to view history in the context of women’s thoughts – their struggles, achievements, passions, pursuits, and desires.

"Sourced from the extensive holdings of the British Library, British Library Newspapers delivers a wide range of irreplaceable local and regional voices to reflect the social, political, and cultural events of the eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries. With more than 160 newspaper titles, the series is comprised of approximately 5.5 million pages of historic content, from articles to advertisements.

UNB Libraries provides access to:

Part I: 1800-1900
Ranging from early tabloids like the Illustrated Police News to radical papers like the Chartist Northern Star, publications in Part I span a vast range of national, regional, and local interests.

Part IV: 1732-1950
From key early newspaper titles like the Stamford Mercury to what is possibly the oldest magazine in the world still in publication, the Scots Magazine, Part IV offers key local and regional perspectives."
Purchased multi-user unlimited access

Cambridge Core provides full text for eJournals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities, as well as access to selected eBooks purchased by UNB Libraries.
eBooks: Purchased multi-user unlimited access | eJournals: Subscribed multi-user unlimited access

Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access

Please note: CBCA Reference is now searchable as part of the larger CBCA Complete collection. Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
NOTE: In certain instances ProQuest has decided to omit particular 'articles' from full-text access due to copyright restrictions or because the item has not met their criteria for being an 'article' (ie. too short, a letter, not attributed to an author, etc.).
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access

Indexes over 400 Canadian periodicals (English and French) with full-text and reports from 165 periodicals.

Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876—the largest online collection of 18th- and 19th-century newspapers published in this region—provides a comprehensive primary resource for studying the development of Western society and international relations within this important group of islands. This unique resource is essential for researching colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce, New World slavery and U.S. relations with the region as far back as the early 18th century. 
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access

This project provides a wide variety of original source material detailing China's interaction with the West from Macartney's first Embassy to China in 1793, through to the Nixon/Heath visits to China in 1972-74.

"Music Online: Classical Scores Library is a series of four volumes with a mission to provide a reliable and authoritative source for scores of the classical canon, as well as a resource for the discovery of lesser-known contemporary works. The collections encompass all major classical musical genres and time periods from the Middle Ages to the 21st century. With full, study, piano, and vocal scores, this comprehensive collection will enhance the study of music history, performance, composition and theory for a variety of scholars."

Defining Gender is structured in five sections, each containing a substantial body of original source material, together with thematic essays by leading scholars in the field. The thematic essays introduce students to the material, suggest possible approaches, and place the documents within a broad historical, literary and cultural context. The sources all have distinct URLs and can be readily integrated into course packs or projected in the classroom.

"The Digital National Security Archive contains the most comprehensive collection of primary documents available. The database includes more than 63,000 of the most important declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions."--Home page.

"Searchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. It also offers full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. Includes citations for dissertations and theses from around the world, ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts; master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Designated as an official offsite repository for the U.S. Library of Congress, PQDT Global offers comprehensive historic and ongoing coverage for North American works and significant and growing international coverage from a multiyear program of expanding partnerships with international universities and national associations."

All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.

It is also possible to search within an interface exclusive to Dissertations & Theses @ University of New Brunswick.

For UNB theses submitted after 2012, please consult UNB’s institutional repository, UNB Scholar, or the library catalogue, UNBWorldCat.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1743-Current

Early Encounters in North America documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. The collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from all of the protagonists, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women.

EEBO is based on the microfilm collections curated by the Ann Arbor publisher Eugene B. Power (1905-1993). The founder of what became University Microfilms International or UMI, Power’s first foreign project established the microfilming operation at the British Museum in 1942 and, since then, more than 200 libraries worldwide have contributed to the microfilm collection.

Following its digital launch in 1998, Early English Books Online now contains page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere between 1473 and 1700.

"eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level."--eHRAF World Cultures Home Page. Formerly known as: eHRAF Collection of Ethnography.

A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera. Subject categories include history and geography; fine arts and social sciences; medicine, science, and technology; literature and language; religion and philosophy; law; general reference. Also included are significant collections of women writers of the eighteenth century, collections on the French Revolution, and numerous eighteenth-century editions of the works of Shakespeare. Where they add scholarly value or contain important differences, multiple editions of each individual work are offered. Allows searching Early English Books Online as an option.

Portal to newspapers and periodicals c1685-1815 offers integrated access to the Hope Collection at the Bodleian Library, Oxford (Eighteenth Century Journals I) and the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center University of Texas (Eighteenth Century Journals II). It brings together rare journals printed between c1685 and 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Topics include: the writings of Sir Isaac Newton; the French Revolution; reviews of literature, the theater, and fashion throughout Europe; the origins and rise of Romanticism; political debates; gender, religion, influence of the press, and coffee house gossip and discussion.

Empire Online features a wide variety of material including: Exploration journals and logs; Letter books and correspondence; Periodicals; Diaries; Official Government Papers; Missionary papers; Travel writing; Slave papers; Memoirs; Fiction; Children's Adventure Stories; Traditional; folk tales; Exhibition Catalogues and guides; Maps; Marketing Posters; Photographs; and Illustrations, with many in colour.The project is divided into five sections covering varying aspects of the colonial experience. These are: Section I: Cultural Contact, 1492-1969, Section II: Literature and Empire, Section III: The Visible Empire, Section IV: Religion and Empire.

ESTC is an electronic bibliography of books, serials, pamphlets and other material printed in English-speaking countries from 1473 to 1800, as collected from over 1600 institutions worldwide. Published by the British Library.

EThOS makes UK theses (e and paper based) available via a 'one-stop-shop' by harvesting e-theses from institutional repositories and digitizing paper theses on-demand from researchers. The British Library, in collaboration with many UK universities and other associations, aims to provide over 250,000 theses produced by the UK higher education system on an open access model to all researchers and others requiring information. Some theses are available for immediate download, while others can be requested from a participating institution which then sends the thesis to the British Library for digitization.
Open Access

This bibliographic database is a valuable index for libraries, scholars and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas. EBSCO Publishing, in cooperation with the John Carter Brown Library, has created this resource from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750, the authoritative bibliography that is well-known and respected by scholars worldwide. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples. A wide range of subject areas are covered; from natural disasters to disease outbreaks and slavery. The original bibliography was co-developed by John Alden and Dennis Landis, Curator of European Books at The John Carter Brown Library. The John Carter Brown Library, founded in 1846 is a foremost repository of rare books and materials and is a center for advanced research in history and the humanities.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1493-1750

UNB Libraries subscribes to the Master Academic Collection, along with access to FMG Archival Films & Newsreels Collection and the Entertainment Collection. Includes 42,000+ full-length videos and over 323,000 video segments licensed for use in Canada, covering a broad range of subjects including business, social sciences, education, health and medicine, humanities, sciences, and guidance, and including archival films and newsreels.

UNB subscribed Collections
The Master Academic Collection (over 35,000 titles)
The FM Archival Films & Newsreels (5,000+ titles)
Entertainment Collection (500+ titles)

The French Revolution Publications Collection from the University of Kentucky Libraries consists of nearly 5000 political bulletins, printed from the beginning of the long and bloody French Revolution through the ascendancy of Napoleon Bonaparte, which have been recently digitized and made accessible to researchers around the world.

"Frontier Life provides over 240,000 Images and 7,895 Documents pertaining to the Frontiers of North America, Africa and Australasia. This collection has a wealth of primary source documents including 68% of the collections dedicated to North America, and 20% of that material specific to Canada. There are more than 1,015 documents from the Glenbow Museum and Hudson Bay’s Archive.

The collection deals with some of the major themes of frontier existence including: Settlement development, Law and order, Violence, Expeditions and exploration, Relations with indigenous peoples, Trade and commerce, Death and disease, Missionaries and religion, Women’s history, Military matters, Mining, Religion, Gold rushes, Settler governance, Contested boundaries, Agriculture and livestock."

Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.

Has some older legal classics.

HeinOnline is a comprehensive database of U.S. and international law journals, treatises, yearbooks, reports, cases, treaties, and other legal information resources. Organized into collections called “libraries,” all documents are image-based, full-text searchable PDFs. Most of HeinOnline’s libraries are searchable by citation.

Full-text access to all volumes of the Supreme Court Reports. When using the Citation Navigator, enter the volume number in the search box labelled "Vol." for citations to volumes 1 (1876/77)-64 (1923), but enter the volume year without brackets and the volume number if applicable for citations to volumes published after v.64 (1923). For example, enter 1977 2 in the "Vol." box to find [1977] 2 S.C.R. 36. Advanced search options are also available.

Electronic version of the original bound reprint edition published by Stevens & Sons, 1900-1932. Includes the Index of Cases and the Index Chart. Like the print version, the electronic version includes the Statutes of the Realm (1235-1713). Using the case locator, researchers can search for cases by English Reports citation, nominative citation, case name, or keyword. The Chart Tool can be a convenient way to locate nominative volumes. Advanced search options are also available.

With HeinOnline's FILRD, researchers can search or browse online throughsome of the world's best international law publications, from AmericanSociety of International Law proceedings and prominent yearbooks from aroundthe world to the Hague Permanent Court of International Justice series andthe publications of dozens of other highly respected publishers.

The Revised Statutes of Canada is the consolidation of the Statutes of Canada incorporating amendments and Acts that have been added since the last revision. There have been six revisions thus far in 1886, 1906, 1927, 1952, 1970, and 1985. HeinOnline includes complete coverage of all six revisions from the official printed volumes.

This collection of eBooks and eJournals brings together legislation, cases, essays, articles, books, pamphlets, and other legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world.

All the world's current constitutions in their original languages and English translations are gathered into this single database, which also includes full-text historical legal and political treatises and scholarly articles. Bibliographies of and links to a multitude of secondary resources are also provided. Researchers can use the advanced search screen to perform cross-jurisdictional searches, but users focusing on one particular country might want to use the "browse by country" option and then search within that jurisdiction.

"Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more ... Provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955."--Database information page.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1955-Current

Enabling exploration of the political, social, and cultural history of native peoples from the sixteenth century well into the twentieth century, Indigenous Peoples of North America illustrates the fabric of the North American story with unprecedented depth and breadth. Comprehensive yet personal, the collection covers the history of American Indian tribes and supporting organizations.

Content has been sourced from both American and Canadian institutions and has received direct-from-source permission to digitize newspapers from various tribes and organizations. This archive also features indigenous language materials, including dictionaries, religious texts, and primers.

Purchased multi-user unlimited access | Part I: Indigenous peoples of North America ; Part II: the Indian Rights Association, 1882-1986

A bibliography covering the period 400-1700. Citations are drawn from journals, books, conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues.

JSTOR provides access to back issues of a variety of scholarly journals. UNB Libraries currently subscribes to the Arts & Sciences (I through X) collections, along with the Life Sciences and Ireland collections.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access

In addition to being an archive, JSTOR offers current access to a range of titles from various publishers. UNB has access to current and archival content for almost 50 of these journals.

The resources previously available through Justis and JustCite are now available through JustisOne. JustisOne provides access to all UK statutes dating back to 1235. The full text of legislation, including repealed legislation, is provided as originally enacted with references to amending legislation. Legislation is formatted to resemble the original printed documents, including side notes. UK statutory instruments back to 1671 are also included. UNB's subscription includes access to the full-text of reported and unreported civil and criminal judgments from England and Wales (coverage varies). JustisOne incorporates features from JustCite, a citator service that cross-references case law and legislation from a number of jurisdictions, including Canada.

WestlawNext Canada's LabourSource provides access to arbitration, labour board, and court decisions in Canada; labour and employment legislation from all jurisdictions in Canada; and the latest commentary from Canada's labour law experts, including Donald Brown and David Beatty's Canadian Labour Arbitration, George Adams' Canadian Labour Law, and Warren Winkler and Elaine Willis' Willis & Winkler on Leading Labour Cases.
Please note that UNB does not subscribe to all components of LabourSource; UNB subscribes to the Classic Edition package.

Literature Online offers full text access to rare and inacessible works, up-to-date, reference resources, in addition to the full text of poetry, drama, and prose fiction from the seventh century to the present day. Materials are included from almost every period and genre of English literature as well as many works by 20th century authors. Contemporary criticism is available through the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL).

A growing collection of legal and governmental documents, including statutes, treatises, case law, administrative decisions, and reports of government agencies, boards and departments from the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, and other countries. There is some recent material, but the emphasis is on historical documents.

"Since 1979, the London Review of Books has stood up for the tradition of the literary and intellectual essay in English. Each issue contains up to 15 long reviews and essays by academics, writers and journalists. There are also shorter art and film reviews, as well as poems and a lively letters page."
1979-current | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access

The Harriet Irving Library at the University of New Brunswick in Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada, is a unique repository of Loyalist resources, on microfilm, of British, North American Colonial, and early Canadian primary sources from approximately 1740-1870. The chief focus is Colonial America, the American Revolution, and the early years of Loyalist settlement in British North America. This special Loyalist Collection contains over 3400 reels of microfilm and 700 microfiche. It is largely unindexed and contains only original sources. Includes Church Records, Family Records, Military Records, Public Records, and Special Collections. In addition, there are numerous finding aids listed to records in the Collection, with bibliographic citations and/or urls where appropriate. This could be considered a library catalog or a bibliography. For genealogists: Family Records often contain a biography of the Loyalist.

Maclean’s Magazine Archive, offering content from 1905-2015, a Canadian news and general interest magazine, provides a unique perspective on both national and international affairs. Topics include investigative reporting, opinion and analysis on politics, economy and business, science and technology, society, arts and culture, education and work. It was initially known as then The Busy Man’s Magazine from 1896-1911, with a couple of 1905 issues published as The Business Magazine, and then changed to the current title, Maclean’s, in 1911.

Features:
• Cover-to-cover processing presents each issue in its entirety as originally published
• Articles and cover pages are fully indexed
• Advertisements are fully searchable
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1905-2015

Mass observation online provides access to original manuscript and typescript papers created and collected by the Mass-Observation organisation in Great Britain between 1937 and 1972. The material is held by the Special Collections Library, University of Sussex. Mass observation online offers access to archival material for the study of British social history. The material covers: The end of the ‘Hungry Thirties’ when the impact of the Depression was still being felt; The onset of war, the Blitz and war on the home front; The post war world, with the rise of consumerism and television.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1937-1972

Provides an extensive collection of manuscript materials for the study of medieval travel writing. The core is a collection of medieval manuscripts dating from the 13th to the 16th centuries. The main focus is accounts of journeys to the Holy Land, India and China. The manuscripts are from the British Library; Bodleian Library; Bibliothèque nationale de France; Cambridge University Library; Trinity College, Cambridge; Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg; Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin, Österreichische Nationalbibliothek; Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen; the Beinecke Library at Yale University and about 15 other Libraries and Archives.

"MEDLINE® is the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM®) premier bibliographic database providing information from the following fields: Medicine, Nursing, Dentistry, Veterinary medicine, Allied health, and Pre-clinical sciences. As well, MEDLINE is the primary source of global information from international literature on biomedicine, including the following topics as they relate to biomedicine and health care: Biology, Environmental science, Marine biology, Plant and animal science, Biophysics, and Chemistry."

MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literature, folklore, film, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included. Dating back to 1925, the database contains more than 2.7 million citations, over 6,000 journals and series, 1,200 book publishers and over 372,000 subject names and terms and adds over 66,000 records annually (May 2018).

Coverage is international and includes titles and full-text links from online publishers including JSTOR, Project MUSE, Wiley-Blackwell and Taylor & Francis.

The MLA Directory of Periodicals contains all information available on the journals and series on the bibliography's Master List of Periodicals.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1925-Current

NFB Campus offers access to over 3,500 Canadian film productions.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access

Naver News Library is a full-text Korean newspaper article database containing the following four major newspapers:Tonga ilbo東亞日報 = Dong-A ilbo (1920-1999); Kyŏnghyang sinmun 京鄕新聞 = Kyunghyang Shinmun (1946-1999); Maeil kyŏngje sinmun 每日經濟新聞 = Maeil Business Newspaper (1966-1999); Han'gyŏre 한겨레 = The Hankyoreh (1988-1999)

"Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world´s largest online classical music library. The library offers the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues plus the complete catalogues or selected titles from over 650 record labels, with more labels joining every month. Along with classical music, jazz, world, and pop/rock are also represented."

"New Brunswick Historical Newspapers Project provides researchers with unified access to UNB Libraries' current and historical newspaper collections in all formats, from New Brunswick and across the world. Search and discover print, microform, and selected digital newspaper titles (including New Brunswick Historical Newspapers Online collection) available from UNB Libraries. Fulltext searching is available for our growing list of digitized titles."--Home page.
Open Access

Nineteenth Century Collections Online is a digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century. The program includes a variety of content types--monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more--and unites them in one central, cross-searchable location. 12 collections are now available:

Individual titles in these collections are available for discovery in our eBooks search or in UNBWorldCat:
• Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange
• British Politics and Society
• British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture
• Children's Literature and Childhood
• European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection
• Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature
• Religion, Society, Spirituality, and Reform
• Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, Part II

Individual titles in these collections can only be discoverd in the NCCO site:
• Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest
• Photography: The World through the Lens
• Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, Part I
• Women: Transnational Networks

North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories provides personal experiences of immigrants and insights into labor history, American and world history in general, women's and ethnic studies, and a wide range of related disciplines.

This database is comprised of full-text materials that span the entirehistory of North America; from first encounters involving Native Americans and Europeancolonists to the stories of aboriginals living in a 21st century world. Included arebiographies, autobiographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oralhistories.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries indexes American and Canadian women's diaries and correspondence over centuries. Researchers will have access to immediate experiences of 1,325 women.

The database indexes collections of oral history in English from around the world. Some full-text material is contained in the database; there are links to other material, textual as well as audio and video, available on other web sites. Both full-text and bibliographic searching are provided.

Contains full text and translation of the meetings of the English parliaments from Edward I to Henry VII, covering the years from 1275 to 1504.

"Periodicals Archive Online is a major online periodical archive that makes the backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the full text of a growing number of digitized periodicals that have been indexed in its sister database, Periodicals Index Online."--About page.

The Philosopher's Index "is a bibliographic database with informative author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in the fifteen fields of philosophy, published in journals and books since 1940."

"Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others." UNB subscribes to almost 400 eJournals, and provides access to select Open Access eBooks.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers offers full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. As part of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers program, every issue of each title includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF. Includes The New York Times (1851-2007), The Wall Street Journal (1889-1993), and Washington Post (1877-1994).

Canada's Heritage from 1844 contains complete coverage of The Globe and Mail newspaper from 1844 through 2011. Coverage includes major events in Canadian history, images, advertisements, classifieds, cartoons, birth/death notices and the full content of the Report on Business section first published in 1962.

This collection allows users to easily conduct in-depth political science research, discovering more of the most relevant full-text and A&I records. It offers consolidated access for the bibliographic records contained in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service), and International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) and combines these with the full-text articles in ProQuest Political Science.

The collection also contains full-text dissertations, thousands of working papers, country reports, and government documents, offering an international perspective from leading and emerging academics, policy makers, and think tanks.

"The PTSDpubs database, covering the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress, is produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in White River Junction, Vermont. The PTSDpubs database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage."
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access

The PAIS International database contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. Also included in PAIS are the PAIS Archive and ProQuest Deep Indexing: Public Administration and Policy databases.

PubMed Central "is a digital archive of life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH), developed and managed by NIH's National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) in the National Library of Medicine (NLM)."
Some titles in the collection offer only partial Open Access.

Bibliothèque et Archives Nationales du Québec (BAnQ) has adopted an ambitious digitization program for the whole of the published and archival documentary heritage produced in Québec since the 17th century, or of foreign origin and related to Québec. All categories of documents are included: printed and handwritten material, photographs, sound recordings and so on. The digitized resources are available free of charge on the Web with more being added.

This resource interface is available in English and French, with some tools only available in French and the content being primarly French as well.

RCMP monthly intelligence reports, 1919-1945.

Scopus, a multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.

This collection explores changing attitudes towards human sexuality, gender identities and sexual behaviors from the nineteenth to the twenty-first centuries. Investigating the breadth and complexity of human sexual understanding through the work of leading sexologists, sex researchers, organizations and personal accounts.

eCollection title lists:

• Sex and Sexuality: Module I
• Sex and Sexuality: Module II

Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access

Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive is devoted to the study and understanding of the history of slavery in America and the rest of the world from the 17th century to the late 19th century. Archival collections were sourced from more than 60 libraries at institutions such as the Amistad Research Center, Bibliothèque nationale de France, the National Archives, Oberlin College, Oxford University, the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, and Yale University; these collections allow for unparalleled depth and breadth of content.

Purchased multi-user unlimited access | Part 1 & Part 2

This digital collection documents key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries. Topics covered include the African Coast, the Middle Passage, the varieties of slave experience, religion, revolts, abolition, and legislation. The collection also includes case studies from America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Cuba.

Smithsonian Global Sound provides over 35,000 tracks of music, natural sounds and spoken words, delivered via streaming audio. It includes performances of traditional musics from around the world, poetry readings, environmental sounds, and recordings by legendary folk, jazz and blues performers. Liner notes for many recordings are also available.

The Times Digital Archive allows users to search and view online The Times (London) newspaper from 1785-1985.
NOTE: The Times is not published on Sunday, and the The Sunday Times, a distinct newspaper, is not included in this database.

“Rare magazines published by service personnel of the First World War are now searchable online in Trench Journals and Unit Magazines of the First World War, providing scholars with a unique resource from which to research alternative perspectives on the conflict.

Published by every type of military and support service unit, from every involved nation, trench journals were a means of expression through which men and women engaged in all aspects of World War I could share their thoughts and experiences. By making these magazine discoverable online, Trench Journals and Unit Magazines of the First World War opens up new opportunities for research in multiple fields: literature, history, war studies, cultural studies, and gender studies.

Over 1,500 periodicals, drawn from the holdings of major libraries and research collections, including the Imperial War Museums and the British Library.”

U.K. Parliamentary Papers via ProQuest offers a comprehensive collection of primary sources for the 18th, 19th and 20th century, for Britain, its colonies and the wider world. Included are the following Paper Series:

• Bills and Acts 1695-2018
• Command Papers 1802-2018
• House of Commons Papers 1715-2018
• House of Lords Papers 1714-1909
• Hansard 1803-2005
• Journals 1688-1834
• Debates 1774-1805
• Histories and Proceedings 1660-1743

U.S. Declassified Documents Online provides immediate access to a broad range of previously classified federal records spanning the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. The collection brings together over 700,000 of the most sensitive documents from all the presidential libraries and numerous executive agencies in a single, easily searchable database. The collection is the most comprehensive compilation of declassified documents from the executive branch. The types of materials include intelligence studies, policy papers, diplomatic correspondence, cabinet meeting minutes, briefing materials, and domestic surveillance and military reports. The collection editors have actively monitored the release of formerly classified documents from presidential libraries. They have also added numerous major releases of declassified documents from the Department of State, Department of Defense, Central Intelligence Agency, Federal Bureau of Investigation, Joint Chiefs of Staff, and other executive agencies.
Purchased multi-user unlimited access

The U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO) is responsible for the production and distribution of information products and services for all three branches of the Federal Government, including U.S. passports for the Department of State as well as the official publications of Congress, the White House, and other Federal agencies in digital and print formats. GPO provides for permanent public access to Federal Government information at no charge.

This collection provides access to books and journals/serials.

The Royal College of Physicians of London (RCP) covers the history of medicine, medical humanities, medicine and culture, religion, and government, the establishment of public health systems, and the policies governing medical education and practice from 1205 to 1980. It  contains monographs, rare books, manuscripts, correspondence, reports, conference papers, medical reports, medical education textbooks, proceedings, lectures, anatomical drawings, public health surveys, photographs, drawings, data and ephemera—all presented as fully searchable digital images that can be analyzed, downloaded, manipulated, and compared with content from other societies and universities in the Wiley Digital Archives program.

Purchased multi-user unlimited access | Primary sources from 1205-1980

Women and Social Movements in the United States serves as a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. It provides learning modules in the form of mini-monographs, each of which is organized around a specific question about a single social movement.

Covers the core disciplines in Women's/Gender Studies, including history, sociology, political science, public policy, international relations, humanities, business and education. ALso relevant to family violence research,nursing and other disciplines. Contains Women's Studies Abstracts, Women's Studies Bibliography Database and Women's Studies Librarian.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1972-Current

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides "citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy."