Skip to main content

HIST1004: War in the Modern World (FR) Guide Ask Us

Guide Sections

Reference Sources

 

When researching a new topic it is often necessary to get an overview, explanations of unfamiliar terms, or brief factual information. The print and electronic resources listed below include selected reference materials (dictionaries, encyclopaedias, handbooks, guides, and standards) for the field of Military History. To find additional reference materials, check UNB WorldCat (the library catalogue) or our Reference Materials database. In WorldCat, try a search for war AND encyclopedia to find many other subscribed e-books.

Key Resources

  • Oxford bibliographies. Military history
    Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on military history. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.
    Collection record | Purchased multi-user unlimited access
  • The encyclopedia of military history from 3500 B.C. to the present [HIL-REF D25 .A2 D8 1977]
  • Oxford companion to military history, The [HIL-REF D25 .A2 O94 2001]

    "This Oxford companion does much to untangle the long and complicated history of military events in Europe and North America since the 18th century. The thoughtful entries are clear, concise, and readable, with a number of extended entries on such subjects as artillery, infantry, and the science and technology of war."--"Outstanding Reference Sources," American Libraries, May 2002. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Warfare and armed conflicts : a statistical encyclopedia of casualty and other figures, 1494-2007 [HIL-REF D214 .C54 2008]

    This volume is an attempt to account for military and noncombatant casualties in every war (and other forms of mass human violence) for which there exist statistics over the course of the last five centuries. Rather than engage in a dry recital of statistics however, the author has embedded the numbers within essays that briefly explore the historical contexts of the conflicts, how people died and at the end of which weapons, and the impacts of the various conflicts. Numerous other statistics are embedded within these essays as well, such as the number of personnel engaged in battles and campaigns, numbers of missing in action, and numbers of weapons and vehicles deployed.

  • Reader's guide to military history [HIL-REF D25 .R34 2001]

    This book contains some 600 entries on a range of topics from ancient Chinese warfare to late 20th-century intervention operations. Designed for a wide variety of users, it encompasses general reviews of aspects of military organization and science, as well as specific wars and conflicts. The book examines naval and air warfare, as well as significant individuals, including commanders, theorists, and war leaders. Each entry includes a listing of additional publications on the topic, accompanied by an article discussing these publications with reference to their particular emphases, strengths, and limitations. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • An encyclopedic dictionary of conflict and conflict resolution, 1945-1996 [HIL-REF D842 .J47 1998]

    Rather than mark the end of conflict, the end of World War II began a half century of ideological, political, military and economic struggles, many with century-old antecedents. This work brings together in encyclopedic format most of the major events of the last half century that can be classified as conflict. While war is the ultimate conflict, the volume includes assassinations, coups, insurgency, terrorism, massacres, and genocide. It provides detailed information on the people, places and events that have produced conflict and its resolution since 1945. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Encyclopedia of military technology and innovation [HIL-REF U24 .B85 2004]

    Bull (curator of military history and archeology at the Museum of Lancashire) describes the invention and evolution of significant advances in military technology from the knobkerrie through nuclear and biological warfare. After a refreshingly honest preface about the role of weaponry in history, Bull lists nearly 600 entries alphabetically, with references to technologies from aircraft and armor through vehicles and warships. He describes the inventors, designers, specifications, and histories of each item, and also includes additional readings for most along with a comprehensive bibliography. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Additional Resources

  • Encyclopedia of World War II : a political, social and military history [HIL-REF D740 .E516 2004 vols. 1-5]

    Tucker (retired, military history, Virginia Military Institute, Lexington and emeritus, history, Texas Christian U.) and five assistant editors have compiled an impressive reference of over 1500 alphabetical entries, supplemented with maps and a volume of primary documents. The entries contain descriptions and analysis of battles, weapons systems, wartime conferences, battlefield and diplomatic turning points, geographical areas, and military divisions. A large percentage of the entries are biographies. Care has been taken to achieve a global focus, with entries covering aspects of all theaters of the war. Maps are one of the reference's strengths; they're plentiful and clearly marked with cities and towns, battle sites, lines of battle, etc. Each entry includes cross-referencing and a short list of references; many include b #38;w photos. Volume Five, edited by Priscilla Mary Roberts (history, U. of Hong Kong) is devoted to 238 primary documents, including speeches, the texts of broadcasts, acts, resolutions, laws, directives, and charters; it contains as well the comprehensive index for all five volumes. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • The encyclopedia of the Cold War : a political, social, and military history [HIL-REF D840 .E63 2008 vols. 1-5]

    This set is a comprehensive five-volume reference on the defining conflict of the second half of the 20th century, covering all aspects of the Cold War as it influenced events around the world. The confrontation of Western capitalism and Soviet and Chinese Communism shaped world affairs for almost the entire second half of the 20th centurya period defined by pervasive political tension, nuclear-fueled nightmares, intense diplomacy, and the transformation of regional/national disputes into test-case ideological battlefields where the superpowers squared off. The conflict that dominated world events for nearly five decades is now captured in a multivolume work of unprecedented magnitudefrom a publisher widely acclaimed for its authoritative military and historical references. Under the direction of internationally known military historian Spencer Tucker, ABC-CLIO's The Encyclopedia of the Cold War: A Political, Social, and Military History offers the most current and comprehensive treatment ever published of the ideological conflict that not so long ago enveloped the globe. From the Second World War to the collapse of the Soviet Union, The Encyclopedia of the Cold War provides authoritative information on all military conflicts, battlefield and surveillance technologies, diplomatic initiatives, important individuals and organizations, national histories, economic developments, societal and cultural events, and more. The nearly 1,300 entries, plus topical essays and an extraordinarily rich documents volume, draw heavily on recently opened Russian, Eastern European, and Chinese archives. The work is a definitive cornerstone reference on one of the most important historical topics of our time.

  • United Nations treaty collection / Collection des traités des Nations Unies
    Under Article 102 of the Charter of the United Nations, "Every treaty and every international agreement entered into by any Member of the United Nations after the present Charter comes into force shall as soon as possible be registered with the Secretariat and published by it".
  • Historical dictionary of terrorism [HIL-REF HV6431 .A537 2002]

    The horrific events of September 11 caught America off guard and left millions of people with unanswered questions. The ever-present threat of a terrorist attack has shaken the foundation of the nation, leaving people suddenly searching for a better understanding of terrorism. This newly revised and updated edition of the Historical Dictionary is a wealth of information regarding major terrorist groups, significant terrorist events and the weapons behind the terror. Beginning with acts of terrorism from the first century Judean Zealots and Sicarii to latter-day leftist, rightist and fundamentalist militants, this book offers insight into how and why such groups originated and how they operate. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Who's who in military history : from 1453 to the present day [HIL-REF U51 .K43 1996]

    Who's Who in Military History looks at those people who have shaped the course of war. Broad in geographical and chronological scope, it concentrates on all the periods and conflicts about which the reader is likely to want information, up to and including the Persian Gulf War. It provides detailed biographies of the most interesting and important figures in military history from 1453 to the present day, a series of maps showing the main theatres of war, a glossary of common words and phrases, an accessible and user-friendly A-Z layout, and a unique and invaluable source of information for the student and general reader alike. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online
    Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."
  • Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
    A digital collection of current and historical maps, from the Perry-Castaneda Library at the University of Texas at Austin. The online collection features images of over 5700 maps from the Perry-Castaneda Library, as well as extensive links to other map-related sites.
    Open Access | 1896 - present
  • Cambridge histories online
    This resource, part of Cambridge Core, contains the online versions of over 270 Cambridge Histories publications in the following 15 areas: American History, British History, Economic History, General History, History of Science, History of the Book, Language and Linguistics, Literary Studies, Music, Philosophy, Political and Social Theory, Regional History, Religious Studies, Theatre Studies and Performing Arts, and Warfare. For a complete listing of titles in each area, please refer to the publisher's site, at: https://www.cambridge.org/core/what-we-publish/collections/cambridge-histories
  • Women and war : a historical encyclopedia from antiquity to the present [HIL-REF U24 .W69 2006]

    Cook (history, Loyola U., New Orleans) compiles a two-volume encyclopedia for a general audience that considers women's experiences with war--in battle, medical, manufacturing, and administrative roles, and as victims. The entries cover people and events from antiquity to the present, all aspects of war, and places in all parts of the world, from Afghanistan to Yugoslavia. Some entries are topical (e.g. on rape); others are biographical profiles of journalists, government figures, military leaders, Nobel Peace Prize winners, peace activists, photographers, spies, terrorists, writers, and even a few entertainers.

  • The encyclopedia of religion and war [HIL-REF BL80.3 .E53 2004 ]
    "The Encyclopedia of Religion and War examines the complex relationship between religion and war throughout the world and across time. In 130 articles, it analyzes how and why religious beliefs have generated wars and conflicts. The entries are contributed by international scholars representing many areas of expertise, including religious studies, world history, political science, philosophy, and anthropology."
  • A history of Christian, Jewish, Hindu, Buddhist, and Muslim perspectives on war and peace [HIL-REF BL65 .W2 F76 2004 vols. 1-2]

    Frost (Swarthmore College) has written widely about peace and Quakers. Here he compiles perspectives from the major world religions on war and peace for general readers who are not specialists in the history of religions, the evolution of wars, the relationship between the two, but are interested in how faith communities in the past dealt with issues similar to those in effect now. In addition, he says particular chapters could be used in undergraduate courses and seminars. This first volume covers the origins of the ideas in the five religions, and Euro-American traditions through the 19th century. The two volumes are paged together, and the index and bibliography for both are contained in each. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

  • International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences (2nd Ed.)
    Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.

    UNB has online access to the 2001 edition as well as owning print volumes of the earlier edition.

 

Talk to me about your research and teaching needs including working with primary sources, literature searches, building a research question, evaluating online sources, effective reading and organizing sources, and more.


Last modified on May 19, 2024 17:30