When researching a new topic it is often necessary to get an overview, explanations of unfamiliar terms, brief factual information, and test your own assumptions about the topic.
-
A Companion to Nineteenth-Century Europe
This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access -
Germany and the Modern World
[HIL-STACKS DD221 .H556 2018]
Introduction: Nation, empire, globe -- Colonial fantasies and imperialism -- Germany looks to the West (and the East) -- Nationalism and racism -- Europe and the crisis of the German state -- Weltwirtschaft : industrialization and national competition -- A world of enemies? : Global empires and European powers -- Conclusion: Around the world in eighty days.
-
A Companion to World War I
This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access -
The Columbia dictionary of European political history since 1914
[HIL-REF D424 .C65 1992]
Originally published: Dictionary of British and European history since 1914. U.K. : Macmillan.
-
The Cambridge Economic History of Europe, Part1 (The Cambridge Economic History of Europe; Vol.7)
This title is part of the Cambridge Histories Online e-book collection.
Purchased multi-user unlimited access -
A Companion to International History 1900-2001
A comprehensive overview of the most important international events, movements, and controversies of the 20th century. Written by distinguished scholars, each an authority in their field Explores influential, underlying themes such as imperialism, nationalism, internationalism, technological developments, and changes in diplomatic methods Addresses a broad range of topics, including diplomacy of wartime and peacemaking, the cold war era and the ""new world order"", the end of European empires, the rise of nationalism in the Third World, globalization, and terrori.
Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access -
Cambridge History of the First World War
[HIL-REF D521 .C35 2014]
The Cambridge History of the First World War is a comprehensive, three-volume work which provides an authoritative account of the military, political, social, economic and cultural history of the Great War. Reflecting the very latest research in the field, the volumes provide a comprehensive guide to the course of the war and of how the dynamics of conflict unfolded throughout the world. Volume I surveys the military history showing the brutal realities of a global war among industrialized powers, whilst Volumes II and III explore the social, economic, cultural and political challenges that the war presented to politicians, industrialists, soldiers and civilians. Written by a team of leading international historians, the volumes together reveal the ways in which the war transcended the boundaries of Europe to subsequently transform the Middle East, Africa, Asia and the Americas just as much as Europe itself.
-
The Cambridge history of the First World War. Volume 1, Global war
This first volume of The Cambridge History of the First World War provides a comprehensive account of the war's military history. An international team of leading historians chart how a war made possible by globalization and imperial expansion unfolded into catastrophe, growing year by year in scale and destructive power far beyond what anyone had anticipated in 1914. Adopting a global perspective, the volume analyses the spatial impact of the war and the subsequent ripple effects that occurred both regionally and across the world. It explores how imperial powers devoted vast reserves of manpower and material to their war efforts, and how, by doing so, they changed the political landscape of the world order. It also charts the moral, political and legal implications of the changing character of war and, in particular, the collapse of the distinction between civilian and military targets.
Purchased multi-user unlimited access -
The Cambridge history of the First World War. Volume 2, The state
Volume 2 of The Cambridge History of the First World War offers a history of the war from a predominantly political angle and concerns itself with the story of the state. It explores the multifaceted history of state power and highlights the ways in which different political systems responded to, and were deformed by, the near-unbearable pressures of war. Every state involved faced issues of military-civilian relations, parliamentary reviews of military policy, and the growth of war economies; and yet their particular form and significance varied in every national case. Written by a global team of historical experts, this volume sets new standards in the political history of the waging of war in an authoritative new narrative which addresses problems of logistics, morale, innovation in tactics and weapons systems, the use and abuse of science; all of which were ubiquitous during the conflict.
Purchased multi-user unlimited access -
The Cambridge History of the First World War. Volume 3, Civil Society
Volume 3 of The Cambridge History of the First World War explores the social and cultural history of the war and considers the role of civil society throughout the conflict; that is to say those institutions and practices outside the state through which the war effort was waged. Drawing on twenty-five years of historical scholarship, it sheds new light on culturally significant issues such as how families and medical authorities adapted to the challenges of war and the shift that occurred in gender roles and behaviour that would subsequently reshape society. Adopting a transnational approach, this volume surveys the war's treatment of populations at risk, including refugees, minorities and internees, to show the full extent of the disaster of war and, with it, the stubborn survival of irrational kindness and the generosity of spirit that persisted amidst the bitterness at the heart of warfare, with all its contradictions and enduring legacies. This volume concludes with a reckoning of the costs and consequences of The Great War.
Purchased multi-user unlimited access -
A Companion to the Holocaust
How we label things determines in part how we understand them. There is no name for the mass murder of European Jews in the 1940s that is not also simultaneously an interpretation. Final Solution, Holocaust, Shoah, Genocide: each of these implies a certain analysis of what happened and why. Thus the changing (and contested) names attached to the mass murder of European Jewry over the past seventy years also suggest shifts over time in how the event has been interpreted. Similarly, these names reflect a series of debates among historians about how best to analyze the destruction of Europe's Jews. Some of these debates have been more or less resolved, but many persist and seem likely to continue for the foreseeable future. It can thus hardly be the goal of this chapter to resolve these debates or to offer a definitive interpretation of the mass murder. Rather, I want to trace, in broad terms, the trajectory of Holocaust historiography from the first Jewish histories of the Holocaust to today in order to give a sense of where the historiography stands now and how it got here.
-
Oxford bibliographies. Jewish studies
Oxford Bibliographies Jewish Studies offers carefully selected articles that break down subject areas into their component parts and pithy annotations that summarize the main contribution of each citation. The field of Jewish studies is broad and interdisciplinary, encompassing history, religion, philosophy, literature, sociology and political science. Its chronological and geographical range is immense, stretching from the Bible to the present and including communities from the Americas to Western and Eastern Europe, North Africa and the Middle East, South and East Asia, and Africa.
Collection record | Purchased multi-user unlimited access -
Oxford bibliographies. Military history
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on military history. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.
Collection record | Purchased multi-user unlimited access -
War and Genocide: A Concise History of the Holocaust
see also [HIL-STACKS DD256.5 .B3916 2016]Introduction : Holocaust, war, and genocide : themes and problems -- Dry timber : preconditions -- Leadership and will: Hitler, the National Socialist German Workers' Party, and Nazi ideology -- From revolution to routine: Nazi Germany, 1933-1938 -- Open aggression: in search of war, 1938-1939 -- Brutal innovations: war against Poland and the so-called euthanasia program, 1939-1940 -- Expansion and systematization: exporting war and terror, 1940-1941 -- War and genocide : decisions and dynamics in the peak years of killing, 1942-1943 -- Flashover : the killing centers, 1942-1944 -- Death throes and killing frenzies, 1944-1945 -- Conclusion : legacies of atrocity. -
A dictionary of European history and politics, 1945-1995
[HIL-REF D1051 .U78 1996]
The Dictionary of European History and Politics since 1945 covers, in a concise and easy-to-use format, the most significant features of Western and Eastern European history and politics in the tumultuous period since the end of the Second World War.
-
Germany since 1945: Politics, Culture, and Society
[HIL-STACKS DD257 .C35 2018]
Peter C. Caldwell and Karrin Hanshew's Germany Since 1945 traces the social, political and cultural history of Germany from the end of the Second World War right up to the present day. The book provides a narrative that not only explores the histories of East and West Germany in their international contexts, but one that also takes the significantly different world of the Berlin Republic seriously, analyzing it as a distinct and significant period of German history in its own right. Split into three parts roughly devoted to a quarter-century each, this book guides students through contemporary Germany from the catastrophe of war, genocide and the country's division to the very different challenges facing the reunified Germany of the 21st century. There are key primary source excerpts integrated throughout the text, as well as 32 images, numerous maps, charts and tables and a detailed bibliography to further aid study. The book is complemented by online resources which include sample syllabi and a pedagogical supplement. Germany Since 1945 underscores both the particularities of German history and the international trends and transactions that shaped it, giving good coverage to key aspects of post-1945 German society and politics, including: East and West German paths to reconstruction; the development of consumer society and the welfare state; the politics of memory and coming to terms with the Nazi past; the Cold War; new social and political movements that opposed the postwar status; immigration and the move toward a multicultural society. This is an essential text for any student of contemporary German history.
-
Modern Germany : an encyclopedia of history, people, and culture, 1871-1990
[HIL-REF DD14 .M64 1998 ]
A handy English-language information resource whether you are interested in the first unification of the Germanic states in 1871, the present-day reunified Germany, the Weimar Republic, or the third Reich, here is the first English-language quick-reference guide on this major European power. The Encyclopedia covers every major aspect of German culture and society for the past century. Its broad spectrum of information is presented in entries that range from essays to brief paragraphs and encompass subjects from Konrad Adenauer to Helene Weber, from zoological gardens to aeronautics, from poetry to policing, and much more. The majority of the articles not only provide a historical background, but also bring their subjects into the post-Berlin Wall era, surveying such components of the German political system as federalism, the office of the Chancellor, and political parties. The Encyclopedia also features articles on the demise of the GermanDemocratic Republic and the subsequent reunification of the two postwar German states. It analyzes the political relationship between Germany and the other European powers, Germany's membership in the European community, its relations with the United States and many other contemporary political concerns. Clearly, the Encyclopedia is an excellent source of information for students and a refresher and bibliography resource for specialists.
-
Encyclopedia of European social history from 1350 to 2000
[HIL-REF HN373 .E63 2001 vols. 1-6]
"Covering the period from the beginning of the Renaissance to the present, this encyclopedia consists of 209 signed articles and nearly 300 biographical entries. The set is thoroughly indexed, amply illustrated, and a joy to read. Graduate students will find it useful as an introduction to historiography while advanced high school students will enjoy the articles on historical topics."--"Outstanding Reference Sources," American Libraries, May 2001. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
-
International historical statistics
[HIL-REF HA155 .M575 2003 vols. 1-3]
This three-volume set of international historical statistics allows the full breadth of statistical analysis and comparisons across both time and across the world.
-
Cambridge histories online
This resource, part of Cambridge Core, contains the online versions of over 270 Cambridge Histories publications in the following 15 areas: American History, British History, Economic History, General History, History of Science, History of the Book, Language and Linguistics, Literary Studies, Music, Philosophy, Political and Social Theory, Regional History, Religious Studies, Theatre Studies and Performing Arts, and Warfare. For a complete listing of titles in each area, please refer to the publisher's site, at: https://www.cambridge.org/core/what-we-publish/collections/cambridge-histories
-
Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online
Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."
See also the Germany and the Second World War series in UNB WorldCat--se: Germany and the Second World War--for an expansive, multi-volume overview of Germany's involvement in World War II.
Use Google Scholar as an entry point into your topic to explore key authors and texts.
To find additional reference materials, check UNB WorldCat (the library catalogue) or our Reference Materials database.
