Finding Market Research Reports
A market research database can provide you with some really great information to help you build out your business idea. They can help you find information on:
- Market size
- Market opportunity
- Competitors
- Revenue forecast
- Emerging technology trends
Below are a few market research databases to get you started.
Industry Reports
A video tutorial demonstrating how to login to BCC Research. A video transcript is here.
A video tutorial providing a brief introduction to BCC Research. A video transcript is here.
BCC Research produces comprehensive market research reports to assist with market sizing, forecasting and industry intelligence. They cover topic areas such as biotech, engineering, pharmaceuticals, information technology, energy and resources, nanotechnology and photonics.
A video tutorial providing a brief introduction to Forrester Research. A video transcript is here.
Forrester Research is a leader of emerging-technology analysis. It provides objective research on technology change and the impact emerging technology can have on business. Forrester Research delivers real-world insights from analysts who are in constant contact with business directors, IT experts, marketing specialists, and senior executives across various industries.
Note: UNB-only login. Forrester requires that you create an account using a current UNB email address.
A video tutorial providing a brief introduction to Frost & Sullivan. A video transcript is here.
Frost & Sullivan provides industry reports looking at disruptive and emerging technologies covering North American and global markets. A report title example would be Global Virtual Reality Ecosystem or Global Blockchain Applications.
Reports can include information on key market trends, major market competitors and promising startups, revenue forecasts, etc.
A video tutorial providing a brief introduction to IBISWorld. A video transcript is here.
IBISWorld provides industry reports for Canada, the US, along with some global coverage. This database primarily covers established industries, not emerging technology. A report title example would be Solar Panel Manufacturing in the US or Breweries in Canada.
IBISWorld can be really helpful if you have developed a product or service which will disrupt an existing industry. To successfully disrupt that industry you need to first understand how that industry is currently performing, major companies operating in the industry, and the overall outlook for the industry.
A video tutorial providing a brief introduction to Passport GMID. A video transcript is here.
Passport GMID provides industry, country, and business dynamic reports for Canada, the US, and other international countries. A report title example would be Consumer Electronics in Canada or Colour Cosmetics in China.
Reports can include information on market size, company shares, brand shares, pricing, etc. They also have interactive dashboards that allow you to understand high-level trends on a global scale.
The Passport GMID homepage can be overwhelming. A good place to start is the Search by keyword box at the top of the page. By typing in a keyword, such as beverages Canada, a list of Statistics and Analysis will be generated.
You can also use the more detailed Search option (found in the toolbar at the top of the page).
From there, you can Search Full Tree by clicking 'Go'. This search function allows you to explore all the industries covered by Euromonitor, and use the Geographies section to specify the countries you are interested in learning more about.
For example, under Industries, you can see the top-level categories covered by Passport GMID. You can drill down in each category by clicking the '+' next to the category to see the sub-categories. You can select the entire category or an individual sub-category to add it to your search.
Once you have added your categories and/or sub-categories, back at the top of the page you can select Geographies to add individual countries to your search.
Customers & Consumers
A video tutorial showing how to build a company list in D&B Hoovers. A video transcript is here.
A video tutorial showing how to build a contact list in D&B Hoovers. A video transcript is here.
D&B Hoovers provides company information through a global database of over 120 million company records and business analytics (including financials, contacts, news, reports, triggers, and industry information). It's a great place to begin when researching an unfamiliar company. Alongside company information D&B Hoovers can help to build a list of companies to match a customized set of criteria.
A video tutorial providing a brief introduction to eMarketer. A video transcript is here.
eMarketer is the go-to authority on digital marketing, mobile, social media, and e-commerce, offering insights essential to navigating the changing, competitive and complex digital environment. By weighing and analyzing information from different sources, eMarketer provides information to evaluate emerging trends, validate decisions, develop new ways to reach consumers, and stay ahead of the competition.
A video tutorial providing an introduction to using Mergent Intellect.
Mergent Intellect holds information on over 100 million public and private North American/global companies. Alongside company research, the enhanced features of the Intellect interface offer users the opportunity to look up executives, build contact/mailing lists and perform market research queries.
Mergent Intellect provides numerous research options allowing you to filter results by location, industry, size of the company, and financial information. This can be useful if you are trying to identify potential customers, suppliers or partners to work within your local area, or nationally.
A video tutorial providing a brief introduction to Statista. A video transcript is here.
Statista is a statistics portal that provides business, marketing, demographic, and economic data on 80,000+ topics from over 18,000 sources. It covers a wide variety of topics and can be a great place to start with your research.
You can easily enter a keyword into the search field and Statista will suggest keywords for you to search. A quick search will provide you with individual charts or lengthy dossiers compiled on a specific topic.
Statista's toolbar has an Outooks section with helpful coverage such as the Consumer Market Outlook and Digital Market Outlook tools. Each tool allows you to drill down into a specific market.
For example, in the Digital Market tool, you can select eCommerce. Then using the Market and Region filters at the top you can narrow the market down to eCommerce Apparel in Canada.
Competitors
A video tutorial showing how to search for competitors in PitchBook. A video transcript is here.
First and foremost, PitchBook is a private equity and venture capital database. It is also a powerful tool to use for competitor research. It can help identify companies that are providing products or services similar to the business idea you are proposing.
Note: UNB-only login. PitchBook requires that you create an account using a current UNB email address.
