History, Modern European Guide Ask Us

This resource, part of Cambridge Core, contains the online versions of over 270 Cambridge Histories publications in the following 15 areas: American History, British History, Economic History, General History, History of Science, History of the Book, Language and Linguistics, Literary Studies, Music, Philosophy, Political and Social Theory, Regional History, Religious Studies, Theatre Studies and Performing Arts, and Warfare. For a complete listing of titles in each area, please refer to the publisher's site, at: https://www.cambridge.org/core/what-we-publish/collections/cambridge-histories

Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published.Covers the humanities and social sciences.
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access

"Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO) is an entirely new research tool for the social sciences and humanities. A scholar-curated library of discipline-based subject modules, OBO is designed to help busy researchers find reliable sources of information in half the time by directing them to exactly the right chapter, book, website, archive, or data set they need for their research."
Purchased multi-user unlimited access

Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is an illustrated/fulltext reference tool providing 55,000 specially-written signed biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of the British past from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000. It is the product of research instituted at the University of Oxford and funded by the British Academy and by Oxford University Press. It is the achievement of 10,000 contributors and advisers staff in Oxford. The Oxford DNB aims to provide full, accurate, concise, and readable articles on noteworthy people in all walks of life. No living person is included: the Dictionary's articles are confined to people who died before 31 December 2000.

This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access

This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access

"This unique and powerful resource offers unprecedented access to the definitive record of the meaning, history and evolution of more than 600,000 words over the last 1,500 years."A complete text of the 2nd. ed. of the Oxford English dictionary with quarterly updates, including revisions not available in any other form.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access

A Companion to the French Revolution' comprises twenty-nine newly-written essays reassessing the origins, development, and impact of this great turning-point in modern history. This book examines the origins, development and impact of the French Revolution; Features original contributions from leading historians, including six essays translated from French; Presents a wide-ranging overview of current historical debates on the revolution and future directions in scholarship; and gives equally thorough treatment to both causes and outcomes of the French Revolution.

Hanson (history, Butler U., Indiana) cites people, laws and decrees, committees and other organizations and agencies, battles and other events, places, ideas, and other aspects of the revolution that revolutionized revolution. The cross-referencing is extensive, but there is no index. He includes a chronology from 1786 to 1799, a bibliography arranged topically, and an introduction placing the revolution in historical context. The 2004 cloth edition was titled Historical Dictionary of the French Revolution. Annotation #169;2007 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

This invaluable reference guide provides an understanding of the social, political, and economic forces and events in Russia that led to the 1905 Russian Revolution in which leftists radicals disposed of the Czar and his regime. It addresses key developments such as the formation of the provisional government, the Bolshevik Revolution in October 1917, and the Russian Civil War—connected, evolutionary historical events that fundamentally reshaped Russia into the Soviet Union.

This book serves students and general readers seeking a single source that provides in-depth coverage of the Russian Revolution and the Russian Civil War. Beyond the reference entries, the book contains primary documents that cover the key events, people, and issues that emerged during Russia's revolutions and Civil War. These documents give readers a more detailed understanding of how the Bolsheviks used calls for greater "democracy" to gain support for their revolution, how the Bolsheviks used terror and control as means to maintain their power once the Bolshevik Revolution took place, and why the Bolsheviks believed such extreme measures were needed. Also included is a chronology of major events from 1890 through 1923 and a bibliography that serves as a starting point for more directed research.

Features

• Provides a detailed history of the Russian Revolution, addressing events from the abdication of Czar Nicholas II to the Bolshevik Revolution
• Gives readers a more complete understanding of how the Bolsheviks fought during the Civil War to maintain and solidify the success of their revolution
• Includes a substantial collection of primary documents that offers keen insights into what key actors thought and how these individuals behaved during the historical period

"This encyclopedia explores the history of this complex region over the last two centuries." "Articles are included on countries and regions of Eastern Europe: Albania, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, and the countries that once made up Yugoslavia. European Russia is also included. These articles are both detailed and concise, offering the reader a brief but comprehensive introduction into a country's history during the last two centuries - a crucial time when Europe was swept by wars and convulsive political change that shaped the present." "The book covers not only the leading figures who shaped the region's political destiny, but also the major artists, writers, and other culturally significant individuals of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Some of these figures are known in the West, while others will be new to many readers." "An extensive map program enriches the text and helps the reader place a topic in geographic context. A bibliography at the end of each entry directs the reader to accessible sources for further reading or research on Eastern European history."

The first two volumes of this five-volume history of the British Empire establish a very high standard of scholarship. Over three dozen scholars examine both major and minor aspects of the modern imperial experience. The chronological focus develops from the 16th century, when Ireland was the starting point of the empire, to the end of the 18th, when the 13 American Colonies were lost. The essays form an interlocking analysis of the origins of empire from an intellectual, military, economic, and technological perspective. There is some overlap; for example, several essays discuss the role of naval power, but each author approaches the topic with a different focus, such as technology in N.A.M. Rogers's essay and politics in John Appleby's. The various chapters, therefore, reinforce the overall picture instead of being redundant. Separate chapters in the first volume analyze the origins and implementation of the British imperial expansion, or contraction, in each region and then continue in the second volume, as do discussions of new subjects, such as the colonization of Australia. The interrelationship between the mother country and the Colonies also receives continued emphasis. Jonathan Israel's chapter, in Volume 1, on the continental perspective of British empire building helps place events in an even broader context. There is a short bibliography after each chapter. Three following volumes will see the empire through to its 20th-century decline. Recommended for all libraries.Frederic Krome, Jacob Rader Marcus Ctr. of the American Jewish Archives, Cincinnati Copyright 1998 Cahners Business Information, Inc. From: Reed Elsevier Inc. Copyright Reed Business Information

"Covering the period from the beginning of the Renaissance to the present, this encyclopedia consists of 209 signed articles and nearly 300 biographical entries. The set is thoroughly indexed, amply illustrated, and a joy to read. Graduate students will find it useful as an introduction to historiography while advanced high school students will enjoy the articles on historical topics."--"Outstanding Reference Sources," American Libraries, May 2001. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

EEBO is based on the microfilm collections curated by the Ann Arbor publisher Eugene B. Power (1905-1993). The founder of what became University Microfilms International or UMI, Power’s first foreign project established the microfilming operation at the British Museum in 1942 and, since then, more than 200 libraries worldwide have contributed to the microfilm collection.

Following its digital launch in 1998, Early English Books Online now contains page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere between 1473 and 1700.

A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera. Subject categories include history and geography; fine arts and social sciences; medicine, science, and technology; literature and language; religion and philosophy; law; general reference. Also included are significant collections of women writers of the eighteenth century, collections on the French Revolution, and numerous eighteenth-century editions of the works of Shakespeare. Where they add scholarly value or contain important differences, multiple editions of each individual work are offered. Allows searching Early English Books Online as an option.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online is a digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century. The program includes a variety of content types--monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more--and unites them in one central, cross-searchable location. 12 collections are now available:

Individual titles in these collections are available for discovery in our eBooks search or in UNBWorldCat:
• Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange
• British Politics and Society
• British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture
• Children's Literature and Childhood
• European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection
• Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature
• Religion, Society, Spirituality, and Reform
• Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, Part II

Individual titles in these collections can only be discoverd in the NCCO site:
• Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest
• Photography: The World through the Lens
• Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, Part I
• Women: Transnational Networks

"Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more ... Provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955."--Database information page.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1955-Current

JSTOR provides access to back issues of a variety of scholarly journals. UNB Libraries currently subscribes to the Arts & Sciences (I through X) collections, along with the Life Sciences and Ireland collections.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access

Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.

"Periodicals Archive Online is a major online periodical archive that makes the backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the full text of a growing number of digitized periodicals that have been indexed in its sister database, Periodicals Index Online."--About page.

The French Revolution Publications Collection from the University of Kentucky Libraries consists of nearly 5000 political bulletins, printed from the beginning of the long and bloody French Revolution through the ascendancy of Napoleon Bonaparte, which have been recently digitized and made accessible to researchers around the world.

Defining Gender provides access to a vast body of original British source material that will enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective.

EEBO is based on the microfilm collections curated by the Ann Arbor publisher Eugene B. Power (1905-1993). The founder of what became University Microfilms International or UMI, Power’s first foreign project established the microfilming operation at the British Museum in 1942 and, since then, more than 200 libraries worldwide have contributed to the microfilm collection.

Following its digital launch in 1998, Early English Books Online now contains page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere between 1473 and 1700.

Empire Online features a wide variety of material including: Exploration journals and logs; Letter books and correspondence; Periodicals; Diaries; Official Government Papers; Missionary papers; Travel writing; Slave papers; Memoirs; Fiction; Children's Adventure Stories; Traditional; folk tales; Exhibition Catalogues and guides; Maps; Marketing Posters; Photographs; and Illustrations, with many in colour.The project is divided into five sections covering varying aspects of the colonial experience. These are: Section I: Cultural Contact, 1492-1969, Section II: Literature and Empire, Section III: The Visible Empire, Section IV: Religion and Empire.

German History in Documents and Images (GHDI) is an online collection of primary-source materials documenting various aspects of German history from the Early Modern period to the present. The project consists of ten chronologically ordered volumes, each of which features a large selection of carefully chosen texts and images, as well as maps and audiovisual sources in some cases. Each volume also includes an introduction to the featured period as well as other commentaries. The website is completely bilingual (English/German). Designed to serve broad audiences, GHDI aims to promote new approaches to research, academic teaching, and learning in the fields of German, European, and transnational history.All of the materials can be used free of charge for teaching, research, and related purposes; the site is strictly intended for individual, non-commercial use.

Halsbury's Laws is a comprehensive and authoritative encyclopedia of the law of England and Wales, arranged in an alphabetical scheme of over 160 subjects. Within each subject, reference is made to pertinent legislation and case law. Other components of the service include Halsbury's Is it in Force?, Halsbury's SI Citator, and Halsbury's Statutes Citator.

Electronic version of the original bound reprint edition published by Stevens & Sons, 1900-1932. Includes the Index of Cases and the Index Chart. Like the print version, the electronic version includes the Statutes of the Realm (1235-1713). Using the case locator, researchers can search for cases by English Reports citation, nominative citation, case name, or keyword. The Chart Tool can be a convenient way to locate nominative volumes. Advanced search options are also available.

All the world's current constitutions in their original languages and English translations are gathered into this single database, which also includes full-text historical legal and political treatises and scholarly articles. Bibliographies of and links to a multitude of secondary resources are also provided. Researchers can use the advanced search screen to perform cross-jurisdictional searches, but users focusing on one particular country might want to use the "browse by country" option and then search within that jurisdiction.

JSTOR provides access to back issues of a variety of scholarly journals. UNB Libraries currently subscribes to the Arts & Sciences (I through X) collections, along with the Life Sciences and Ireland collections.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access

"The Making of the Modern World is an extraordinary series which covers the history of Western trade, encompassing the coal, iron, and steel industries, the railway industry, the cotton industry, banking and finance, and the emergence of the modern corporation."UNB Libraries provides access to:Part I, The Goldsmiths'-Kress Collection, 1450-1850Offers ways of understanding the expansion of world trade, the Industrial Revolution, and the development of modern capitalism, supporting research in variety of disciplines. Users have access to an abundance of rare books and primary source materials, many of which are the only known copy of the work.Part II, 1851-1914Takes The Making of the Modern World series to the end of the nineteenth century. Comprised mainly of primary source documents such as monographs, reports, correspondence, speeches, and surveys, this collection broadens Gale’s international coverage of social, economic, and business history, as well as political science, technology, industrialisation, and the birth of the modern corporation."
Purchased multi-user unlimited access

Nineteenth Century Collections Online is a digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century. The program includes a variety of content types--monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more--and unites them in one central, cross-searchable location. 12 collections are now available:

Individual titles in these collections are available for discovery in our eBooks search or in UNBWorldCat:
• Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange
• British Politics and Society
• British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture
• Children's Literature and Childhood
• European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection
• Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature
• Religion, Society, Spirituality, and Reform
• Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, Part II

Individual titles in these collections can only be discoverd in the NCCO site:
• Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest
• Photography: The World through the Lens
• Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, Part I
• Women: Transnational Networks

InteLex Past Masters is comprised of 100+ full-text humanities and sciences databases that make available cohesive collections of editions, in both original language and in English translation, of seminal figures in the humanities and sciences.

U.K. Parliamentary Papers via ProQuest offers a comprehensive collection of primary sources for the 18th, 19th and 20th century, for Britain, its colonies and the wider world. Included are the following Paper Series:

• Bills and Acts 1695-2018
• Command Papers 1802-2018
• House of Commons Papers 1715-2018
• House of Lords Papers 1714-1909
• Hansard 1803-2005
• Journals 1688-1834
• Debates 1774-1805
• Histories and Proceedings 1660-1743

The Royal College of Physicians of London (RCP) covers the history of medicine, medical humanities, medicine and culture, religion, and government, the establishment of public health systems, and the policies governing medical education and practice from 1205 to 1980. It  contains monographs, rare books, manuscripts, correspondence, reports, conference papers, medical reports, medical education textbooks, proceedings, lectures, anatomical drawings, public health surveys, photographs, drawings, data and ephemera—all presented as fully searchable digital images that can be analyzed, downloaded, manipulated, and compared with content from other societies and universities in the Wiley Digital Archives program.

Purchased multi-user unlimited access | Primary sources from 1205-1980

Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Collections are chosen for Archives Unbound based on requests from scholars, archivists, and students.

UNB has access to 14 archives:

1. 19th Century English-Language Journals of the Far East | UNBWorldCat: 794778563
2. American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism | UNBWorldCat: 551797520
3. Civil War Service Reports of Union Army Generals | UNBWorldCat: 750590961
4. Feminism in Cuba: Nineteenth through Twentieth Century Archival Documents | UNBWorldCat: 551797483
5. German Anti-Semitic Propaganda, 1909-1941 | UNBWorldCat: 860713307
6. German Folklore and Popular Culture: Das Kloster (Scheible) | UNBWorldCat: 707935863
7. German Foreign Relations and Military Activities in China, 1919-1935 | UNBWorldCat: 849493401
8. Homophile Movement: Papers of Donald Stewart Lucas, 1941-1976 | UNBWorldCat: 803998549
9. Minutes of the Shanghai Municipal Council | UNBWorldCat: 822057416
10. Russian Civil War and American Expeditionary Forces in Siberia, 1918-20 | UNBWorldCat: 881829856
11. SAFEHAVEN Reports on Nazi Looting of Occupied Countries and Assets in Neutral Countries | UNBWorldCat: 773624052
12. Tiananmen Square and U.S.-China relations, 1989-1993 | UNBWorldCat: 611152344
13. War of 1812: Diplomacy on the High Seas | UNBWorldCat: 793100869
14. "We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death": Freedom Riders in the South, 1961 | UNBWorldCat: 704290642

Artstor is a repository of approximately 300 collections composed of over 2.5 million digital images (and growing), related data and provides tools to actively use those images in a restricted usage environment that balances the rights of the content providers and the needs of the users. The images are drawn from different sources, such as museums, archaeological teams, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference publishers.

Scholars can examine wide-ranging material such as Native American art from the Smithsonian, treasures from the Louvre, and panoramic, 360-degree views of the Hagia Sophia in a single, easy-to-use resource. The artistic traditions across many cultures embraces architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture.

"Sourced from the extensive holdings of the British Library, British Library Newspapers delivers a wide range of irreplaceable local and regional voices to reflect the social, political, and cultural events of the eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries. With more than 160 newspaper titles, the series is comprised of approximately 5.5 million pages of historic content, from articles to advertisements.UNB Libraries provides access to:

Part I: 1800-1900

Ranging from early tabloids like the Illustrated Police News to radical papers like the Chartist Northern Star, publications in Part I span a vast range of national, regional, and local interests.

Part IV: 1732-1950From key early newspaper titles like the Stamford Mercury to what is possibly the oldest magazine in the world still in publication, the Scots Magazine, Part IV offers key local and regional perspectives."
Purchased multi-user unlimited access

ProQuest Historical Newspapers offers full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. As part of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers program, every issue of each title includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF. Includes The New York Times (1851-2007), The Wall Street Journal (1889-1993), and Washington Post (1877-1994).

The Times Digital Archive allows users to search and view online The Times (London) newspaper from 1785-1985.
NOTE: The Times is not published on Sunday, and the The Sunday Times, a distinct newspaper, is not included in this database.

Mass observation online provides access to original manuscript and typescript papers created and collected by the Mass-Observation organisation in Great Britain between 1937 and 1972. The material is held by the Special Collections Library, University of Sussex. Mass observation online offers access to archival material for the study of British social history. The material covers: The end of the ‘Hungry Thirties’ when the impact of the Depression was still being felt; The onset of war, the Blitz and war on the home front; The post war world, with the rise of consumerism and television.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1937-1972

“Rare magazines published by service personnel of the First World War are now searchable online in Trench Journals and Unit Magazines of the First World War, providing scholars with a unique resource from which to research alternative perspectives on the conflict.

Published by every type of military and support service unit, from every involved nation, trench journals were a means of expression through which men and women engaged in all aspects of World War I could share their thoughts and experiences. By making these magazine discoverable online, Trench Journals and Unit Magazines of the First World War opens up new opportunities for research in multiple fields: literature, history, war studies, cultural studies, and gender studies.

Over 1,500 periodicals, drawn from the holdings of major libraries and research collections, including the Imperial War Museums and the British Library.”