When researching a new topic it is often necessary to get an overview, explanations of unfamiliar terms, or brief factual information. The print and electronic resources listed below include selected reference materials (dictionaries, encyclopaedias, handbooks, guides, and standards) for the field of Latin American History. To find additional reference materials, check Quest (the library catalogue) or our Reference Materials database. for a quick search for your topic, use the Reference Universe search box, here:// //
Search for Reference Materials
Enter your search terms:Key Resources
-
Encyclopedia of Latin American history and culture
[HIL-REF F1406 .E53 2008]
This 5-vol. set spans the centuries from the earliest civilizations of the Olmec, Maya, and Chavin to the present day. The region is broadly defined to include South America, Central America, Mexico, the Caribbean Sea, and the historical Spanish borderlands north of the Rio Grande that are now part of the United States. The set emphasizes political, economic, and social history, yet does not overlook those elements of material and popular culture that have affected the history of Latin America.
-
Encyclopedia of Latin American politics
[HIL-REF F1410 .E56 2001]
Illustrated with maps and photographs, the Encyclopedia of Latin American Politics covers the current and past political development of Puerto Rico and the 20 independent republics of Central and South America and the Caribbean. Although the coverage begins with the independence movements of the late 18th century, the book focuses mainly on the 20th century. Each chapter includes a Country Chart listing relevant economic, political, and social data; a Country Entry selection containing 20 to 40 brief entries on important terms, events, and individuals; a list of presidents; and a bibliography. An excellent source of current data and basic historical information on Latin American politics, the book is a valuable research tool for high school and college students and interested public library patrons.
-
A companion to Latin American anthropology
see also [HIL-REF GN564 .L29 C64 2008]Comprised of 24 newly commissioned chapters, this defining reference resource on Latin America introduces English-language readers to the debates, traditions, and sensibilities that have shaped the study of this diverse region. Written by some of the most prominent figures in Latin American and Latin Americanist anthropology and drawing on their own ethnographic research, the Companion highlights national and regional debates. Both geographically and topically focused, these chapters give a vivid sense of how anthropologists often combine intellectual and political work to address the pressing social and cultural issues of Latin America. Ultimately this volume encourages readers to consider how a confrontation with Latin American political, cultural, and historical realities has forced us to rethink traditional categories of scholarly analysis.
-
A companion to Latin American History
This work provides a state-of-the-art overview of the history of Latin America in all its diversity. Comprising 28 chapters by leading world experts, this is a single source of information for scholars and students interested in Latin America's past and is the ideal starting point for further study.
-
Archaeology of ancient Mexico and Central America : an encyclopedia
[HIL-REF F1218.6 .A73 2001]
A reference devoted to the pre-Columbian archaeology of Mesoamerica features in-depth articles on the major cultural areas of ancient Mexico and Central America, coverage of important sites, articles on day-to-day life of ancient peoples in these regions, and several b&w regional and site maps and photographs.
-
Cambridge histories online
This resource, part of Cambridge Core, contains the online versions of over 270 Cambridge Histories publications in the following 15 areas: American History, British History, Economic History, General History, History of Science, History of the Book, Language and Linguistics, Literary Studies, Music, Philosophy, Political and Social Theory, Regional History, Religious Studies, Theatre Studies and Performing Arts, and Warfare. For a complete listing of titles in each area, please refer to the publisher's site, at: https://www.cambridge.org/core/what-we-publish/collections/cambridge-histories
-
The Cambridge encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean
[HIL-REF F1406 .C36 1992]
Discusses the region's past and present culture, society, history, economics and politics.
Additional Resources
-
Oxford Reference
Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published.Covers the humanities and social sciences.
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access -
Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online
Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."
-
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
A digital collection of current and historical maps, from the Perry-Castaneda Library at the University of Texas at Austin. The online collection features images of over 5700 maps from the Perry-Castaneda Library, as well as extensive links to other map-related sites.
Open Access | 1896 - present -
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007 (Adam Matthew Digital)
This digital collection documents key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries. Topics covered include the African Coast, the Middle Passage, the varieties of slave experience, religion, revolts, abolition, and legislation. The collection also includes case studies from America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Cuba.
-
International historical statistics
[HIL-REF HA155 .M575 2003 vols. 1-3]
This three-volume set of international historical statistics allows the full breadth of statistical analysis and comparisons across both time and across the world.