History, Military Guide Ask Us

"In the years immediately following World War II, information was disclosed about what has been termed the "shadow war" between hitherto secret agencies. In Germany it was the Abwehr and the Sicherheitsdienst; in Britain it was MIS, the Secret Intelligence Service, and Special Operations Executive; in the United States it was the Office of Strategic Services and the Special Intelligence Service of the Federal Bureau of Investigation; in Japan it was the Kempeitai; and in Italy it was the Servicio di Informazione Militare. Sixty years after World War II, information is still being released about the covert activities that took place. Many countries, even those that were ostensibly neutral, had secret agencies and stealthy operations. Changes in American, British, and Soviet official attitudes to declassification in the 1980s allowed thousands of classified documents to be made available for public examination, and the result was extensive revision of the histories of the conflict, which had previously excluded references to clandestine intelligence sources." "Historical Dictionary of World War II Intelliqence tells the emerging history of intelligence during the war through a chronology, an introduction, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on secret agencies, operations, and events. The world of double agents, spies, and moles during World War II is explained in this comprehensive reference."--BOOK JACKET. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

This set is a comprehensive five-volume reference on the defining conflict of the second half of the 20th century, covering all aspects of the Cold War as it influenced events around the world. The confrontation of Western capitalism and Soviet and Chinese Communism shaped world affairs for almost the entire second half of the 20th centurya period defined by pervasive political tension, nuclear-fueled nightmares, intense diplomacy, and the transformation of regional/national disputes into test-case ideological battlefields where the superpowers squared off. The conflict that dominated world events for nearly five decades is now captured in a multivolume work of unprecedented magnitudefrom a publisher widely acclaimed for its authoritative military and historical references. Under the direction of internationally known military historian Spencer Tucker, ABC-CLIO's The Encyclopedia of the Cold War: A Political, Social, and Military History offers the most current and comprehensive treatment ever published of the ideological conflict that not so long ago enveloped the globe. From the Second World War to the collapse of the Soviet Union, The Encyclopedia of the Cold War provides authoritative information on all military conflicts, battlefield and surveillance technologies, diplomatic initiatives, important individuals and organizations, national histories, economic developments, societal and cultural events, and more. The nearly 1,300 entries, plus topical essays and an extraordinarily rich documents volume, draw heavily on recently opened Russian, Eastern European, and Chinese archives. The work is a definitive cornerstone reference on one of the most important historical topics of our time.

Military historian and war gamer Manganiello presents articles averaging about half a page on people, battles, weapons, political statements and other documents, institutions, and other matters relating to the series of conflicts pitting parliament and crown, or perhaps Protestants and Catholics, or the mercantile and landowning classes, or Medieval and Modern theories and methods of warfare. The biographical entries identify birth and death dates and places if they are known, official positions, and such information as nicknames; then narrate the person's role and significance in the wars. Maps are provided for each battle entry. There is no index. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

"The second edition of A Handbook of American Military History delineates the military history of the United States from the Revolutionary War into the opening stages of the twenty-first century war on terrorism. Comprehensive and easy to use, it supplies essential information on the social, technological, political, tactical, and strategic developments that have affected the evolution of the U.S. armed forces. New to the second edition is a chapter on U.S. military history from 1995 through 2004 and an index." "A Handbook of American Military History is the perfect reader's guide for the military history buff or anyone interested in a brief overview of American military history."--BOOK JACKET. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

With a focus on the military aspects of the conflict, this 4-volume resource also contains lengthy entries on central issues of religion and culture that have an impact on Israeli and Palestinian relations. The first three volumes are devoted to the A-Z entries, many of them biographies, with topics that include specific battles, treaties, and sites. Individual entries are included for the policies of key countries, such as France, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, and the Soviet Union. Each entry concludes with cross-references and a short list of references, and many include b #38;w images. Volume Four is given over to the comprehensive index and 168 primary documents (many in excerpted form), including military reports, resolutions and declarations by various delegations and congresses, protocols, and speeches. This is a thorough, even-handed work that provides clear descriptions of the history of this long-standing and complex conflict to a wide readership. Annotation #169;2008 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

"This second edition of the Historical Dictionary of Civil Wars in Africa reviews the wars that have occurred in Africa in the past half century: Algeria's struggle for independence from French colonial rule, Nigeria's fight to achieve a balanced state after the British departure, the Rwandan genocide of 1994, and the current ethnic cleansing in Darfur, to name only a few. It contains a chronology, a list of acronyms and abbreviations, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and cross-referenced dictionary entries on wars, conflicts, major political and military figures, and topics such as child soldiers, mercenaries, and blood diamonds."--BOOK JACKET. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Cook (history, Loyola U., New Orleans) compiles a two-volume encyclopedia for a general audience that considers women's experiences with war--in battle, medical, manufacturing, and administrative roles, and as victims. The entries cover people and events from antiquity to the present, all aspects of war, and places in all parts of the world, from Afghanistan to Yugoslavia. Some entries are topical (e.g. on rape); others are biographical profiles of journalists, government figures, military leaders, Nobel Peace Prize winners, peace activists, photographers, spies, terrorists, writers, and even a few entertainers.

Includes more than 350 battles, arranged alphabetically, chronologically, and by the war during which they were fought; lists of battlefield sites, arranged alphabetically and regionally; a glossary of important terms and terminology; and an extensive bibliography.

This impressive 5-volume reference, appropriate for high school and undergraduate students and the public library, contains over 900 entries on the people, battles, issues, and events of the war. Many of the entries are biographical, describing the subject's life and the details of their involvement in the conflict. Two general essays are included at the outset, on the origins of the American Revolution and the military operations during the war. Maps are included at the beginning of vols.1-4 (maps of specific actions are also incorporated into the text), and a glossary, chronology, and bibliography are included in vol.4. All of vol.5 is devoted to primary documents, including acts, resolutions, official reports, first-hand and sometimes contrasting accounts of significant events, letters, treaties, and political proclamations. The volumes are well illustrated with b #38;w images. Fremont-Barnes is an independent historian; Ryerson is academic director of the David Library of the American Revolution, Washington Crossing, Penn. The contributors are academics and independent scholars in the U.S., Canada, and the U.K. Annotation #169;2007 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

The horrific events of September 11 caught America off guard and left millions of people with unanswered questions. The ever-present threat of a terrorist attack has shaken the foundation of the nation, leaving people suddenly searching for a better understanding of terrorism. This newly revised and updated edition of the Historical Dictionary is a wealth of information regarding major terrorist groups, significant terrorist events and the weapons behind the terror. Beginning with acts of terrorism from the first century Judean Zealots and Sicarii to latter-day leftist, rightist and fundamentalist militants, this book offers insight into how and why such groups originated and how they operate. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

After the September 11, 2001, terrorist attacks on the World Trade Center and the Pentagon, a stunned public asked: How could this happen? Why did the attackers do what they did? What did they hope to accomplish?This wasn't the first battle in a conflict that has included bombings of U.S. embassies and planes, the Iran hostage crisis, and kidnappings or shootings of American citizens. This unique volume sets out to answer these questions using the unfiltered words of the terrorists themselves.Over many decades, radical forces in the Middle East have changed and evolved, yet their basic outlook and anti-Western views have remained remarkably consistent. Barry Rubin and Judith Colp Rubin have assembled nearly one hundred key documents, charting the evolution of radical Middle East movements, their anti-Americanism, and Western policy response. The buildup to the battle between a world superpower and Middle East revolutionaries is brought dramatically to life. Among the documents included are the charters of such organizations as Hizballah, Hamas, and World Islamic Front; speeches by Syrian president Hafiz al-Asad and former Iraqi president Saddam Hussein; al-Qa'ida recruitment materials; and terrorist training manuals. The book also shows and analyzes the often conflicting and deeply conflicted responses to September 11 by journalists, clerics, and activists in the Arab world.Supplemented by an annotated chronology, a glossary of terms, and sections that put each selection in context, this comprehensive reference serves not only as essential historical background to the ongoing aftermath of the September 11 attacks, but more generally as an invaluable framework for understanding a long-term, continuing conflict that has caused many crises for the United States. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

This timely collection provides an invaluable, academic resource on the challenges bioterrorism poses for American society and institutions. Critically selected essays from a wide range of disciplines document and analyze the problems and implications for political, economic, and legal institutions, as well as the challenges a weapon of disease and fear can impose on public health and public policy. By placing bioterrorism into its historical context, this collection also traces the academic research and historical decisions that have contributed to the formation of American policies attempting to cope with a potentially catastrophic attack on the population in general and urban population in particular. Available as a full set or individually, the volumes include: * Vol. 1: "Epidemics, Bioweapons, and Policy History"352 pp * [0-415-94278-0]* Vol. 2: "Public Health, Government, and Minority Issues"352 pp * [0-415-94279-9] Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

• Weapons of mass destruction Encyclopedias.
• Weapons of mass destruction Handbooks, manuals, etc.
• Weapons of mass destruction.

This second edition of The Historical Dictionary of Russian and Soviet Intelligence is the only volume that lays out how Russian and Soviet intelligence works and how its operations have impacted Russian history. It covers Russian intelligence from the imperial period to the present focusing in greatest detail on Cold War espionage cases and the Putin-era intelligence.

Some 500 entries review the personalities, programs, legislation, and agencies of US intelligence, from the Revolutionary War to the most recent reorganization of the US intelligence community. Each entry is cross-referenced and provides a definition and a brief historical evaluation. A chronology traces two centuries of history, and an introduction shows how US intelligence operations have evolved. Appendices list directors and deputy directors. Turner is a political scientist and a 15-year veteran of the CIA. Annotation #169;2006 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Spanning almost four centuries, this set chronicles the evolution of the American military from Colonial times to the 1990s.

Systematic and up-to-date account of warfare from Archaic Greece to the seventh century AD.

Sage (classics, U. of Cincinnati) gives researchers and college students a good first look at the highly charged world of the Roman military establishment from the archaic and Servian period to the Late Republic. Through translations of key texts (many in English for the first time) and a range of primary documents Sage describes the early structure of the military and its development into a "manipulator army" capable of conquest in nearly every sphere. He fully describes the army of the Later Republic, from its development of tactics to its rewards (both honors and booty), punishments, conditions of service, experiences in battle, role in Roman imperialism, and control of the sea. Especially useful are Sage's comments on the economic impact of a standing force. Annotation #169;2008 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Who's Who in Military History looks at those people who have shaped the course of war. Broad in geographical and chronological scope, it concentrates on all the periods and conflicts about which the reader is likely to want information, up to and including the Persian Gulf War. It provides detailed biographies of the most interesting and important figures in military history from 1453 to the present day, a series of maps showing the main theatres of war, a glossary of common words and phrases, an accessible and user-friendly A-Z layout, and a unique and invaluable source of information for the student and general reader alike. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

• Bills and Acts 1695-2018
• Command Papers 1802-2018
• House of Commons Papers 1715-2018
• House of Lords Papers 1714-1909
• Hansard 1803-2005
• Journals 1688-1834
• Debates 1774-1805
• Histories and Proceedings 1660-1743