Reference, Historiographic, and Other Sources
-
A Companion to American Foreign Relations
An authoritative volume of historiographical essays that survey the state of US diplomatic history. The essays cover the entire range of the history of American foreign relations from the colonial period to the present.
-
A Question of Standing: The History of the CIA
This book presents an overview of the Central Intelligence Agency’s (CIA’s) origins, successes, and failures, and looks at key events, such as the Bay of Pigs episode. It highlights the CIA’s effectiveness, which depended on its standing in the White House, Congress, and public opinion. It also explains how the CIA’s success depended on the ability of a president to understand intelligence briefings and his willingness to heed them, which is a function of personality and political priorities. The book looks at the significance of the CIA’s standing abroad and affirms that its covert actions were the greatest single cause of anti-Americanism in the post-World War II era.
-
America in the World: The Historiography of American Foreign Relations since 1941
This volume includes historiographical surveys of American foreign relations since 1941 by some of the country's leading historians. Some of the essays offer sweeping overviews of the major trends in the field of foreign/international relations history. Others survey the literature on US relations with particular regions of the world or on the foreign policies of presidential administrations.
-
Canadian Military Intelligence: Operations and Evolution from the October Crisis to the War in Afghanistan
[HIL-STACKS UB251 .C2 C48 2022 ]
David A. Charters has written a groundbreaking history of the influence of intelligence on eight Canadian Armed Forces operations between 1970 and 2010. Drawing on original documents, interviews, and other sources, the book examines the strategic, technological, and policy trends that impacted Canadian military intelligence; how the military intelligence organizations evolved; and how they supported operations and with what effect. The book makes three key points. First, that quality and adaptability could offset insufficient resources, but they could not guarantee operational success. Second, that belonging to international networks allowed the small Canadian military intelligence contingents to punch above their weight. Finally, by 2010, operational experience and internal reforms had transformed Canadian military intelligence and proven its value to commanders and civilian decision-makers.
-
Code Warriors: NSA's Codebreakers and the Secret Intelligence War against the Soviet Union
A sweeping, in-depth history of NSA, whose famous "cult of silence" has left the agency shrouded in mystery for decades The National Security Agency was born out of the legendary codebreaking programs of World War II that cracked the famed Enigma machine and other German and Japanese codes, thereby turning the tide of Allied victory. In the postwar years, as the United States developed a new enemy in the Soviet Union, our intelligence community found itself targeting not soldiers on the battlefield, but suspected spies, foreign leaders, and even American citizens. Throughout the second half of the twentieth century, NSA played a vital, often fraught and controversial role in the major events of the Cold War, from the Korean War to the Cuban Missile Crisis to Vietnam and beyond. In Code Warriors, Stephen Budiansky--a longtime expert in cryptology--tells the fascinating story of how NSA came to be, from its roots in World War II through the fall of the Berlin Wall. Along the way, he guides us through the fascinating challenges faced by cryptanalysts, and how they broke some of the most complicated codes of the twentieth century. With access to new documents, Budiansky shows where the agency succeeded and failed during the Cold War, but his account also offers crucial perspective for assessing NSA today in the wake of the Edward Snowden revelations. Budiansky shows how NSA's obsession with recording every bit of data and decoding every signal is far from a new development; throughout its history the depth and breadth of the agency's reach has resulted in both remarkable successes and destructive failures. Featuring a series of appendixes that explain the technical details of Soviet codes and how they were broken, this is a rich and riveting history of the underbelly of the Cold War, and an essential and timely read for all who seek to understand the origins of the modern NSA.
-
Encyclopedia of Intelligence and Counterintelligence
From references to secret agents in The Art of War in 400 B.C.E. to the Bush administration's ongoing War on Terrorism, espionage has always been an essential part of state security policies. This illustrated encyclopedia traces the fascinating stories of spies, intelligence, and counterintelligence throughout history, both internationally and in the United States. Written specifically for students and general readers by scholars, former intelligence officers, and other experts, Encyclopedia of Intelligence and Counterintelligence provides a unique background perspective for viewing history.
-
Historical Dictionary of British Intelligence
This second edition covers the history through a chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 1,000 cross-referenced entries on specific operations, spies and their handlers, the moles and defectors, top leaders, and main organizations.
-
Historical Dictionary of Russian and Soviet Intelligence
This second edition of The Historical Dictionary of Russian and Soviet Intelligence is the only volume that lays out how Russian and Soviet intelligence works and how its operations have impacted Russian history. It covers Russian intelligence from the imperial period to the present focusing in greatest detail on Cold War espionage cases and the Putin-era intelligence.
-
Intelligence Studies in Britain and the US: Historiography Since 1945
see also [HIL-STACKS JN329 .I6 I58 2013]This new account uncovers intelligence historiography's hugely important role in shaping popular understandings and the social memory of intelligence. In this first introduction to these official and unofficial histories, a range of leading contributors narrate and interpret the development of intelligence studies as a discipline. Each chapter showcases new archival material, looking at a particular book or series of books and considering issues of production, censorship, representation and reception. The book offers original insights into intelligence through an engagement with its past formulation and emerging patterns.
-
Need to Know: World War II and the Rise of American Intelligence
[HIL-STACKS D810 .S7 R4853 2022 ]
The entire vast, modern American intelligence system--the amalgam of three-letter spy services of many stripes--can be traced back to the dire straits the world faced at the dawn of World War II. Prior to 1940, the United States had no organization to recruit spies and steal secrets or launch covert campaigns against enemies overseas and just a few codebreakers, isolated in windowless vaults. It was only through Winston Churchill's determination to mobilize the US in the fight against Hitler that the first American spy service was born, built from scratch against the background of the Second World War. In Need to Know, Nicholas Reynolds explores the birth, infancy, and adolescence of modern American intelligence. In this first-ever look across the entirety of the war effort, Reynolds combines little-known history and gripping spy stories to analyze the origins of American codebreakers and spies as well as their contributions to Allied victory, revealing how they laid the foundation for the Cold War--and beyond.
-
Oxford bibliographies. Military history
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on military history. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.
Collection record | Purchased multi-user unlimited access -
Palgrave Advances in Cold War History
[HIL-STACKS D840 .P26 2006]
Introduction : The Cold War as history / Geraint Hughes and Saki Ruth Dockrill -- The international system / Wolfgang Krieger -- National security and national interest / Jussi Hanhimäki -- Ideology / Leopoldo Nuti and Vladislav Zubok -- Alliance / Lawrence Kaplan -- Strategy / Lawrence Freedman and Geraint Hughes -- Economics / Ian Jackson -- Science and technology / Christoph Bluth -- Intelligence / Richard Aldrich -- Culture / Patrick Major and Rana Mitter -- Decolonisation and empire / John Kent.
-
Spies, Lies, and Algorithms: The History and Future of American Intelligence
Spying has never been more ubiquitous-or less understood. The world is drowning in spy movies, TV shows, and novels, but universities offer more courses on rock and roll than on the CIA and there are more congressional experts on powdered milk than espionage. This crisis in intelligence education is distorting public opinion, fueling conspiracy theories, and hurting intelligence policy. Amy Zegart separates fact from fiction as she offers an engaging and enlightening account of the past, present, and future of American espionage as it faces a revolution driven by digital technology. Drawing on decades of research and hundreds of interviews with intelligence officials, Zegart provides a history of U.S. espionage, from George Washington's Revolutionary War spies to today's spy satellites; examines how fictional spies are influencing real officials; gives an overview of intelligence basics and life inside America's intelligence agencies; explains the deadly cognitive biases that can mislead analysts; and explores the vexed issues of traitors, covert action, and congressional oversight.
-
Spying on Canadians: the Royal Canadian Mounted Police Security Service and the origins of the long Cold War
Award winning author Gregory S. Kealey's study of Canada's security and intelligence community before the end of World War II depicts a nation caught up in the Red Scare in the aftermath of the Bolshevik Revolution and tangled up with the imperial interests of first the United Kingdom and then the United States. Spying on Canadians brings together over twenty five years of research and writing about political policing in Canada. Through its use of the Dominion Police and later the RCMP, Canada repressed the labour movement and the political left in defense of capital. The collection focuses on three themes; the nineteenth-century roots of political policing in Canada, the development of a national security system in the twentieth-century, and the ongoing challenges associated with research in this area owing to state secrecy and the inadequacies of access to information legislation. This timely collection alerts all Canadians to the need for the vigilant defence of civil liberties and human rights in the face of the ever increasing intrusion of the state into our private lives in the name of countersubversion and counterterrorism.
-
The Oxford handbook of the Cold War
This title provides 34 essays by a team of leading scholars offering a broad reassessment of the Cold War, calling into question orthodox ways of ordering the chronology of the period and presenting new insights into the global dimension of the conflict. The Oxford Handbook of the Cold War offers a broad reassessment of the cold war period based on new conceptual frameworks developed in the field of international history. The cold war emerges as a distinct period in twentieth-century history, yet one that should be evaluated within the broader context of global political, economic, social, and cultural developments.
-
The Rise and Fall of Intelligence: An International Security History
This sweeping history of the development of professional, institutionalized intelligence examines the implications of the fall of the state monopoly on espionage today and beyond. During the Cold War, only the alliances clustered around the two superpowers maintained viable intelligence endeavors, whereas a century ago, many states could aspire to be competitive at these dark arts. Today, larger states have lost their monopoly on intelligence skills and capabilities as technological and sociopolitical changes have made it possible for private organizations and even individuals to unearth secrets and influence global events. Historian Michael Warner addresses the birth of professional intelligence in Europe at the beginning of the twentieth century and the subsequent rise of US intelligence during the Cold War. He brings this history up to the present day as intelligence agencies used the struggle against terrorism and the digital revolution to improve capabilities in the 2000s.
-
The Routledge Handbook of the Cold War
This new handbook offers a wide-ranging overview of current scholarship on the Cold War, with essays from many leading scholars. The field of Cold War history has consistently been one of the most vibrant in the field of international studies. Recent scholarship has added to our understanding of familiar Cold War events, such as the Korean War, the Cuban Missile Crisis and superpower détente, and shed new light on the importance of ideology, race, modernization, and transnational movements. The Routledge Handbook of the Cold War draws on the wealth of new Cold War scholarship, bringing together essays on a diverse range of topics such as geopolitics, military power and technology and strategy. The chapters also address the importance of non-state actors, such as scientists, human rights activists and the Catholic Church, and examine the importance of development, foreign aid and overseas assistance.
See also,
Garthoff, Raymond, L. 2004. "Foreign Intelligence and the Historiography of the Cold War." Journal of Cold War Studies 6, no. 2 (Spring): 21–56. https://doi.org/10.1162/152039704773254759.
