Business & Management Guides
- Case Studies
- Company & Industry Information
- Finance & Investment
- Hospitality, Tourism Management
- International Business
- Leadership Studies
- Marketing & Strategy
- Organizational Studies
- Sport Management
Top Article & Research Databases
Use article databases to find articles, reviews, book chapters, etc.
ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)
Indexing, abstracts, and full-text of scholarly and trade journal articles in business, management, and trade. Also covers dissertations, SSRN working papers, market reports, industry reports, business cases, local and regional business information, and global and trade news. Includes full text of The Wall Street Journal and digital images of selected key business journals from the first issue to the present. ABI Help Guide
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access
Business Source Ultimate (EBSCO)
Business Source Ultimate provides full text for more than 7,200 scholarly business journals and other sources. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. BSU provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | Fulltext: 1922 - present. Abstracts and indexing: 1984 - present
Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete (ProQuest)
Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access
D&B Hoovers (formerly Hoover's Online)
D&B Hoovers provides company information through a global database of over 120 million company records and business analytics (including financials, contacts, news, reports, triggers, and industry information). It's a great place to begin when researching an unfamilar company. Alongside company information D&B Hoovers can help to build a list of companies to match a customized set of criteria.
Mergent Intellect offers subscribed access to detailed business data for over 200 million public and private U.S., Canadian and international companies. Alongside detailed company research, the "Advanced Search" feature of the Intellect interface provides the opportunity to find executive contact information, build contact/mailing lists and much more.
FP Advisor (formerly Infomart)
FP Advisor is a collection of 12 databases from the Financial Post (FP) that provide access to detailed information about the top publicly traded companies in Canada. The collection includes: Company Snapshots, Company Surveys, Corporate Analyzer, Investor Reports, Historical Reports, Industry Reports, Predecessor & Defunct, Mergers & Acquisitions, Dividends, New Issues, Fixed Income, and a Directory of Directors.
Subscribed 4-user access
Mergent Online provides access to financial data for over 25,000 public U.S. and international companies. Results include: company details/history, executives, ownership, key financials, equity pricing, reports, filings, news, competitors, plus a customized Report Builder. Company financial reports for up to 15 years can be downloaded via Excel spreadsheet software. Mergent also offers real-time access to company filings submitted to the SEC (U.S.) and SEDAR (Canada). Additional attributes include a Global Private Company database for over 20 million private companies, reports (industry or equity), economic indicators, and country profiles.
PitchBook is a private equity and venture capital database covering a wide range of companies, as well as startups. It can be used for competitor research to help identify companies that offer similar products or services. Researchers can also track entire private equity (PE) and venture capital (VC) lifecycles from fund initiation to company exits, private mergers and acquisitions (M&A) transactions, and the limited partners, fund managers, advisors, and other key players involved. Researchers can save custom searches and set up email alerts to come daily, weekly, or monthly.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access
Statista is a multidisciplinary database that aggregates information covering 80,000 topics. Access to data from over 18,000 sources covering 1.5 million statistics. All statistics can be directly downloaded in PNG, PDF, Excel, and PowerPoint formats. Data prepared according to academic citation standards, with a citation tool (APA, Chicago, Harvard, MLA, and Bluebook) and links to the original source for further research. Statista also covers industry reports, studies, forecasts, dossiers, digital market outlook , aesthetically pleasing infographics, and more.
IBISWorld - US/Canadian & Global Industry Reports
Our IBISWorld database contains a range of comprehensive industry reports in the following regions - United States, Canada and Global. Industry analysis includes key statistics, industry performance, up-to-date forecasts, supply chain information, and competitive landscape.
(Showing 10 of 68 resources | View All Results)
Top Reference Materials
Find dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and other materials
Wiley Encyclopedia of Management
This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access
Business plans handbook : a compilation of business plans developed by individuals throughout North America
"Actual business plans compiled by, and aimed at, entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses. Presents sample plans taken from businesses in the manufacturing, retail and service industries which serve as examples of how to approach, structure and compose business plans."
Purchased multi-user unlimited access | v. 24 2012-Current
Business Models Handbook : templates, theory and case studies
A reliable collection of business models, including detailed coverage of each model (e.g., 4Ps how to design your marketing mix, Blue Ocean Strategy, Brand Audit, Competitive Intelligence, Customer Value Proposition, Disruptive Innovation Model, deBono's six thinking hats, Gap Analysis, Kotler's five product levels, Market Sizing, New Product Pricing, Porter's five forces, SWOT & PEST analysis)
CPA Canada handbook. Accounting
This is the electronic version of the CPA Canada Handbook and accesses up-to-date accounting information by searching keywords or phrases. Table of contents: Accounting handbook ; Assurance handbook ; CPA Canada public sector accounting handbook ; Archived highlight summaries ; Archived revision releases ; Canadian Auditing and Assurance Practice Notes ; Public Sector Statements of Recommended Practice ; Management's Discussion and Analysis ;Guidance of the Criteria of Control Board ; Risk Oversight and Governance Collection ; Investigative & Forensic Accounting
International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS)
The complete set of International Financial Reporting Standards incorporating International Accounting Standards and Interpretations.
Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries
Provides information about the inception, emergence and current status of new and established industries and business segments that are pioneering new technologies, introducing break-through marketing strategies or implementing innovative means of serving new markets. Consists of detailed profiles of newer industries such as biometrics, risk management services, satellites, specialty tourism, and others.
A Dictionary of Finance and Banking
"This dictionary provides comprehensive coverage of financial matters that will make it an invaluable resource for anyone working in banking or finance. It contains entries on every aspect of the financial world: insurance, stocks and shares, commodities, takeovers and mergers, international trade, and government finance. It provides international coverage of the world's most important financial centres, including New York, London, Frankfurt, Tokyo, and Hong Kong. Prepared with the help of a team of experts from Lloyds Bank, this essential reference offers straightforward definitions of the latest financial jargon. The lucid entries and in-depth coverage of personal finance - including investments, pensions, and taxes - also make the dictionary ideal for investors, homeowners, students, and those generally interested in business and finance."
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access
Market share reporter (Gale)
Market Share Reporter (MSR) is a compilation of published market share data about companies, brands, products, commodities, services and facilities in U.S. and international markets. The 2016 and every 2nd year's subsequent edition online edition are available through Gale Virtual Reference Library. Data is compiled from periodical sources (newspapers, magazines, newsletters, government reports etc.) over the previous three to four years. Entries feature a descriptive title; data and market description; a list of producers/products; original sources are also provided. The main method used to store entries in MSR is by name of the report; reports can be found by keyword or by using the Advanced Search feature.
2016- [Every 2nd year's edition]
New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics is the key scholarly reference tool for economics. It offers access to over 3,000 articles written by leading figures in the field and is updated on a continual basis.
(Showing 9 of 148 resources | View All Results)