Law Guides

Written in clear, jargon-free language, this dictionary is ideal for anyone without a legal qualification who comes into contact with the law. It is a useful reference book for lawyers, students, and secretaries in the UK or any Commonwealth country where the legal system is founded on English law. Entries define and explain the major terms, concepts, processes, and organization of the law. Coverage includes European law, the Internet, world trade, divorce law, local government, property law, consumer and data protection, and criminal law.
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access

Halsbury's Laws of Canada is a comprehensive general encyclopaedia of Canadian statutory and judicial law and an essential starting point for understanding any given legal topic. Each title is written by a leading Canadian academic, practitioner, or jurist.

Searchable by offence, criminal code section, and date, Martin's Online Criminal Code includes all versions of Martin's Annual Criminal Code dating back to 1955. Most cases cited in Martin's are also provided in full text.

Halsbury's Laws is a comprehensive and authoritative encyclopedia of the law of England and Wales, arranged in an alphabetical scheme of over 160 subjects. Within each subject, reference is made to pertinent legislation and case law. Other components of the service include Halsbury's Is it in Force?, Halsbury's SI Citator, and Halsbury's Statutes Citator.

NOTE: At the LexisNexis Quicklaw sign-in screen, click on "Register Later".

Juris Classeur, the premiere encyclopedia of French and European Union law, is an authoritative collection of articles, or fascicles, by legal experts on discrete topics. Thousands of these commentaries are brought together under 51 broad categories to comprise each volume of the encyclopedia and are linked to full-text cases, statutes, and codes. La Semaine Juridique, a weekly review of legal news, and Depeches JurisClasseur, a daily collection of brief legal news items, are also available in Quicklaw.