When researching a new topic it is often necessary to get an overview, explanations of unfamiliar terms, or brief factual information.
UNB subscribes to a substantial collection of print and electronic reference tools (dictionaries, encyclopaedias, handbooks, guides, and standards) in the fields of Marketing and Strategy.
To find additional reference materials, check our Reference Materials database.
Key Resources
-
Dictionary of Marketing
A Dictionary of Marketing is an accessible and wide-ranging A-Z, providing over 2,600 entries on topics spanning terms for traditional marketing techniques (from strategy, positioning, segmentation, and branding, to all aspects of marketing planning, research, and analysis), as well as leading marketing theories and concepts. Both classic and modern marketing techniques are covered. Entries reflect modern changes in marketing practice, including the use of digital and multi media, the impact of the world wide web on advertising, and the increased influence of social media, search engine optimization, and global marketing.
-
Key concepts in marketing
Introduces and examines the key issues, methods, models and debates that define the field of marketing today.
-
Strategy and competition : the Porter collection
This collection highlights the most important ideas and concepts from Michael E. Porter, recognized worldwide as the leading thinker on strategy. Porter heads The Institute for Strategy and Competitiveness based at Harvard Business School and is the foremost authority on competitive strategy for business, as well as on the competitiveness and economic development of nations, states, and regions.
-
Wiley International Encyclopedia of Marketing
Marking a landmark work of reference for the field, the Wiley Encyclopedia of Marketing spans six subject volumes and is the first international, multi-volume encyclopedia of marketing.
With 360 entries from over 500 global experts, the Encyclopedia offers one of the premier business reference sources available worldwide. Entries are arranged alphabetically within each subject volume, and each volume carries an index.
-
Encyclopedia of major marketing strategies
[HIL-REF HF5837 .E53 2013 ]
Revised volume of the Encyclopedia of major marketing campaigns.
-
Marketing facts: statistics and trends for marketing in Canada
[HIL-REF HF5415.12 .C3 M375]
-
Dictionary of Marketing Terms
[HIL-REF HF5415 .D4874 1995]
Brief entries define some 2,500 marketing terms in this dictionary covering everyday professional terminology and the specialized vocabulary in corporate and academic use. This second edition reflects the explosion of the language over the past quarter century. Useful for students and executives. Annotation c. by Book News, Inc., Portland, Or. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
-
The Blackwell Handbook of Strategic Management
This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access -
Sage handbook of social marketing
[HIL-REF HF5414 .S244 2011 ]
"This benchmark Handbook brings together a systematic framework and state of the art thinking to provide complete coverage of the social marketing discipline." --Provided by publisher.
-
Fairchild dictionary of retailing
[HIL-REF HF5429 .O78 2009 ]
The Fairchild Dictionary of Retailing defines terms commonly used in all parts of the retail industry, from retail advertising to merchandising and displays. This comprehensive reference for students and faculty in all retailing and merchandising programs lists over 10,000 terms alphabetically with extensive cross-referencing. Global terms used in the retailing industry, including descriptions of retail market structures of countries around the world, are covered.
-
Handbook of Marketing Scales:multi-item measures for marketing and consumer behavior research
[HIL-REF HF5415.3 .B323 2011 ]
The Handbook of Marketing Scales, Third Edition, represents a clear and user-friendly collection of multi-item, self-report measures developed and frequently used in consumer behavior and marketing research. This Handbook also aims to help identify areas where measures are needed, thus encouraging further development of valid measures of consumer behavior and marketing constructs.
-
Market share reporter (Gale)
Market Share Reporter (MSR) is a compilation of published market share data about companies, brands, products, commodities, services and facilities in U.S. and international markets. The 2016 and every 2nd year's subsequent edition online edition are available through Gale Virtual Reference Library. Data is compiled from periodical sources (newspapers, magazines, newsletters, government reports etc.) over the previous three to four years. Entries feature a descriptive title; data and market description; a list of producers/products; original sources are also provided. The main method used to store entries in MSR is by name of the report; reports can be found by keyword or by using the Advanced Search feature.
2016- [Every 2nd year's edition]
Additional Resources
-
Business-to-Business Marketing 2018-2019 (United States)
RKMA Market Research Handbook
-
FP markets, Canadian Demographics
[HIL-REF HC111 .B9 ]
The two most recent editions are held in HIL-REF, and the rest are shelved in HIL-STACKS.
-
Media digest
[HIL-REF P92 .C3 M324 ]
Provides an annual listing of key facts about the Canadian media marketplace.
-
The Media Handbook : A Complete Guide to Advertising Media Selection, Planning, Research, and Buying
[HIL-REF HF5826.5 .K38 2017]
The Media Handbook provides an introduction to the complete media planning and buying process. Emphasizing basic media planning and buying calculations along with the practical realities of offering plan alternatives and evaluating the plan, this fourth edition reflects the critical changes in how media today are planned, bought, and sold. Author Helen Katz looks at the larger marketing, advertising, and media objectives, and follows with an exploration of major media categories, including those emerging, such as branded entertainment and viral marketing. She provides a comprehensive analysis of planning and buying, with a continued focus on how those tactical elements tie back to the strategic aims of the brand and client.The Media Handbook includes:examples to provide a better sense of how media planning and buying work in the real world;research studies to give readers additional references for more in-depth information;media terms defined when they are introduced, making readers more comfortable in subsequent discussions; and a selection of key resources offered as an appendix for individuals or companies wishing to find out more about a particular service or system.This popular text is perfect for advanced students in advertising, media planning/buying, communication, public relations, and marketing, and it also will serve as an informative reference volume for practitioners. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
-
CARD Online (CARDonline)
"CARDonline and The Media Information Network ... provides information services to advertising, sales, marketing and corporate communication professionals in print and online. CARD and CARDonline, our flagship services, are designed and managed to enhance the efficiency of professionals involved in buying and selling advertising. Advertising rates and related data are available on every significant medium in Canada and on selected International media."--About page.
-
Encyclopedia of sports management and marketing
[HIL-REF GV713 .E53 2011]
This four-volume set introduces, on the management side, principles and procedures of economics, budgeting and finance; leadership; governance; communication; business law and ethics; and human resources practices; all in the sports context.
-
Dictionary of Media and Communication
The Dictionary of Media and Communication is an authoritative and wide-ranging A-Z providing over 2,200 entries on terms used in media and communication, from concepts and theories to technical terms, across subject areas that include advertising, digital culture, journalism, new media, radio studies, and telecommunications. It also covers relevant terminology from related disciplines such as literary theory, semiotics, cultural studies, and philosophy. The entries are extensively cross-referenced, allowing the reader to link related concepts that span different discourses with ease. It is an indispensable guide for undergraduate students on degree courses in media or communication studies, and also for those taking related subjects such as film studies, visual culture, and cultural studies.
With highly relevant web links to key essays, images, examples, and websites which complement the A-Z entries, as well as ‘Biographical Notes‘ with web links to key people, this is a valuable resource for media professionals, postgraduates, academics, and researchers and an eminently practical and user-friendly reference for anyone involved in the worlds of media and communication. -
Wiley Encyclopedia of Management
This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access -
Qualitative Market Research: Principles and Practice
[HIL-REF HF5415.2 .Q25 2002 ]
Seven slim paperbound texts, boxed together, cover a range of topics connected with the practice of advertising in the UK (although most of the material is applicable in the US as well). An introduction overviews the field and its operations (in particular, the difference between qualitative market research and other forms of market research, and other forms of qualitative inquiry). Subsequent volumes focus on interviews, methods beyond interviewing, analysis and interpretation, brand development, advertisement development, and results delivery. Seven UK authors have contributed expertise based on their many years as market researchers and consultants; they share a lively interest for their work, in particular an interest in drawing together knowledge from both academic and commercial arenas. Each volume is indexed and includes an extensive bibliography. Annotation c. Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
-
Directory of business information resources
[HIL-REF HF54.52 .U5 D567 2015 ]
The Directory of Business Information Resources offers a complete picture of the information resources needed to participate effectively in a chosen industry.
-
International handbook of electronic commerce
[HIL-REF HF5548.32 .I58 2000 ]
-
Oxford Reference
Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published.Covers the humanities and social sciences.
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access -
Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online
Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."
-
American Marketing Association: Dictionary
Whether you're looking for an obscure phrase or your basic marketing definition, the AMA Dictionary has it all! Originating from the print version in 1995, we're always adding new terms to keep marketers up to date in the ever-evolving marketing profession.
-
Cabells (Journalytics & Predatory Reports)
UNB has access to Journalytics and Predatory Reports offered by Cabells International.
Journalytics covers more than 3,000 qualified academic journals spanning UNB's 4 accessible business related disciplines (Accounting, Economics & Finance, Management, and Marketing) to help researchers select the best match to publish their manuscripts. Each entry displays contact information, manuscript and submission guidelines, and actionable metrics to help researchers make informed decisions.
Predatory Reports is described as a listing of “deceptive” scholarly journals. Journal titles are added on an ongoing basis. The listing first became available in 2017 as a response to a growing number of predatory publishers. It offers journal information, evaluation metrics, and contains details of practices which threaten to undermine quality research.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access
