Finance & Investment Guide Ask Us

Keeping Current

The world of finance is constantly evolving.  A great way for students to stay in the loop with what's current is to keep building your skills by scanning Business headlines every morning. Below are links to a few free resources and library subscriptions that can help:

• BNN Bloomberg
  Free Business and financial news/analysis site via Bell Media. Students can also subscribe to the BNN Bloomberg Newsletter which can be delivered to your inbox.
   
• Globe Investor - Markets (Globe & Mail)
   
• Globe & Mail
  NOTE: Due to publisher restrictions, UNB's online access to the Globe & Mail is available using UNB's Virtual Private Network (VPN) via your myUNB Portal.
   
• Meltwater - Canadian Newspapers & Beyond
   
• Financial Post
  Free version of Canadian & global business news from the National Post, a division of Postmedia Network Inc. UNB Libraries offers online access to the Financial Post (part of the National Post) using our PressReader - Worldwide Newspapers database.
   
• Wall Street Journal
   
• Bloomberg BusinessWeek
   
• Barrons.com
  Free financial investment news via Dow Jones & Company. UNB Libraries also has an online subscription to Barron's. 
   
• Financial Times (UK)
  Our premium subscription enables students to access the latest international business, finance, economic and political news, analysis, data, and RSS feeds. Students can also view a scanned image of today’s Financial Times by selecting “Today’s Newspaper (ePaper)” from the Navigation menu on the left-hand side of the FT homepage.
  
  To ensure access to all the premium features of the FT website, faculty/students can sign up for an individual account using a valid UNB/STU email address.
   
• PressReader - Worldwide Newspapers
  Access thousands of newspapers, magazines, and other news sources from 100 countries in 60 different languages via our library subscription. News sources are searchable and current with up to a 90-day backfile.

Finding Data/Articles

When searching for journal/magazine/news articles about finance, our subscriptions to Business Source Ultimate and ABI Inform Complete databases are usually the best places to begin.

For Canadian articles, consider using Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) as it contains unique Canadian content that is not available in either Business Source Ultimate or ABI Inform Complete. 

For additional databases, check the Article Databases page of the library website.

Key Resources

See Additional Resources Hide Additional Resources

UNB Libraries subscribe to a wide variety of academic journals, magazines, and newspapers, in print and/or online formats. A few titles in Finance and Investment include:

Journals

• Journal of Finance
• Journal of Financial and Quantitative Analysis
• Journal of Financial Economics
• Review of Financial Studies
• Quantitative Finance
• Review of Quantitative Finance and Accounting
• Financial Analysts Journal
• Financial Management
• Journal of Corporate Finance
• Journal of Financial Markets
• Journal of Banking & Finance
• Decisions in Economics and Finance
• Journal of Financial Stability
• Mathematics & Financial Economics
• Journal of Monetary Economics
• Annual Review of Financial Economics
• Journal of Accounting and Economics
• Journal of Accounting Research
• International Journal of Finance & Economics
• Journal of Behavioral Finance
• Investment Executive
• Investor's Business Daily (IBD)
• Investment Week
• Investment Weekly News
• Futures
• Investment Lawyer
• Harvard Business Review
• Kiplinger's Personal Finance

Magazines

• Canadian Business (and archived backfiles)
• Bloomberg Businessweek
• The Economist
• Fortune
• Forbes
• MoneySense
• Atlantic Business
• Atlantic Report (Atlantic Provinces Economic Council)

Electronic Newspapers - Current

• Wall Street Journal
• Financial Post (via the National Post)
• Barron's
• Globe and Mail
• Financial Times (UK)
• Meltwater - Canadian Newspapers & Beyond
• PressReader - Worldwide Newspapers

Journal Packages

• Wiley Online Library - Finance & Investments
• Science Direct – Business, Management & Accounting
• Taylor & Francis Online – Economics, Finance, Business & Industry
• Emerald Journals

Document Delivery

If a journal article is not available at UNB, it can usually be obtained through our document delivery service.  See the document delivery page for the electronic request form.  Article delivery in print or electronic form takes between 3-7 days.

Bloomberg Terminals

What is Bloomberg?

Bloomberg is an independent text-based data service accessed using a specialized Bloomberg terminal. The service provides real-time and historical, financial, economic and market data covering numerous industry sectors worldwide.  Bloomberg also offers analytics, company financials, worldwide security market information for equities, corporate bonds, government securities, money market data, currencies, commodities, municipal bonds, macroeconomic data as well as current news.  The service can also generate customized charts.

Who uses Bloomberg?

UNB Student Investment Fund (SIF) students are required to use Bloomberg in their portfolio management course. MQIM students also require access to real-time financial data. 

Are there Bloomberg terminals on the Fredericton campus?

Yes.  The Faculty of Management (FoM) has subscribed access via several Bloomberg terminals for SIF and MQIM students; the terminals are housed in the FM's TSX room (3rd floor - Tilley Hall). The TSX Room simulates a stock exchange trading floor.

Activity in the TSX Room is supervised by the Centre for Financial Studies (CFS) which is located in the Faculty of Management.  CFS is responsible for ALL Bloomberg terminals AND access at UNB.   

Who can I contact regarding Bloomberg? 

Please direct any Bloomberg queries to:

• Don Wishart, Director, Centre for Financial Studies , Faculty of Management, Room 352 - Singer Hall, Tel: 506-447-3474  or Email: d.wishart@unb.ca

General queries can be directed to the Faculty of Management (Room 255 - Singer Hall): Tel: 506-453-4869 or Email: fba@unb.ca

UNB WorldCat is our catalogue for searching UNB Libraries' collections.  It is useful when you don't have a particular title in mind and are instead searching by topic or keyword(s) to see what is available.  Note that UNB WorldCat also includes links to selected article records by default.  After an initial search you can limit results to books, if desired.

Books and other materials appearing in your results and not held by UNB may be requested for loan from another institution.  Please refer to the document delivery page for electronic request forms and more details.

Finance titles (in print) can be found on the 2nd floor in Harriet Irving Library in these Call Number ranges:

• HG 1 - HG 9999 (Finance)
• HG 201 - HG 1496 (Money)
• HG 1501 - HG 3550 (Banking)
• HG 3810 - HG 4000 (Foreign Exchange. International Finance)
• HG 4001 - HG 4285 (Finance Management; Corporate Finance)
• HG 4501 - HG 6051 (Investment; Capital Formation)
• HG 4551 - HG 4598 (Stock Exchanges)
• HG 4701 - HG 4751 (Government Securities)
• HG 8011 - HG 9999 (Insurance)
• HJ 9 - HJ 9940 (Personal Finance)

Government Documents

Our Government Documents, Data, and Maps Department website also provides access to a variety of materials. This web site includes a list of Internet sites of federal, provincial and international governments which provide information sources and publications for downloading, to supplement the collection found in UNB WorldCat.

UNB Libraries is a depository library for the federal Depository Services Program (including Statistics Canada publications), the European Union, the Asian Development Bank and the United Nations. Contact the Government Documents Information desk for help.

Document Delivery

Books and other materials not available at UNB may be available for loan from another institution through our document delivery service.  See the document delivery page for electronic request forms and more details.  Delivery in print or electronic form usually takes between 3-7 days.

Markets

Canadian

• Toronto Stock Exchange(TSX) & TSX Venture Exchange
• Montreal Exchange
• Canadian Securities Exchange
• Natural Gas Exchange

United States

• S & P Dow Jones Indices
• New York Stock Exchange (NYSE)
• NASDAQ Stock Market - Stock Exchange News
• BigCharts:Stock Charts, Screeners, Interactive Charting & Research Tools

Global

• Bloomberg - World Financial Markets Overview
• Reuters - Global Market Data
• Nikkei Index - Tokyo
• Hang Seng Index - Hong Kong
• Shanghai Stock Exchange
• ASX - Australian Securities Exchange
• Borse Frankfurt (Frankfurt Stock Exchange)
• FTSE Russell Indexes - UK
• ICE - Intercontinental Exchange
  Contains current futures, options on interest rates, commodities, indexes and FX, as well as equities and equity options.
• Oil Price Charts - Oilprice.com

Free Internet Sites

While there is a wealth of information freely available on the internet, not all sites are created equal. Careful evaluation is a critical part of doing research on the Internet. Below are a few recommended sites:

Canada

• Yahoo Canada Finance
• SEDAR
  SEDAR (System for Electronic Document Analysis and Retrieval) is a filing system developed for Canadian Securities Administrators. SEDAR contains reports of Canadian public companies and investment fund documents.
• Globe Investor - Markets (Globe & Mail)
• Globe Investor - Mutual Funds & ETFs (Globe & Mail)
• Statistics Canada
• Bank of Canada
• Statistics - Bank of Canada
• Department of Finance Canada
• Canadian Bankers Association
• Canada Mortgage & Housing Corporation
• FundLibrary.com
  Free Canadian financial website containing mutual fund, stock, ETF data.
• Canadian Securities Administrators
• Investment Funds Institute of Canada (IFIC)
• Investment Industry Association of Canada (IIAC) Member Firms
• Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OFSI)
  OSFI supervises and regulates federally registered banks and insurers, trust and loan companies, and private pension plans.
• Financial & Consumer Services Commission (New Brunswick)
  New Brunswick's Financial and Consumer Services Commission (FCNB) is responsible for the administration and enforcement of provincial legislation that regulates the following sectors: securities, insurance, pensions, credit unions, trust and loan companies, co-operatives, and a wide range of other consumer legislation.
• Canadian Foundation for Advancement of Investor Rights (FAIR Canada)
  FAIR Canada is an independent organization that offers an objective and balanced voice for Canadian investors on a national basis.

United States

• CNN Money - Business,financial & personal finance news
• Google Finance
• Federal Reserve (Central Bank of the United States)
• EDGAR
  (Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis and Retrieval System) Contains reports of U.S. public companies from the U.S. Securities & Exchange Commission from 1993 to present.
• Researching U.S. Public Companies Using EDGAR: A Guide
• U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis
• Federal Reserve Economic Data - FRED
• U.S. Census Bureau - Economic Statistics
• Economic Indicators (monthly publication prepared by the Council of Economic Advisers for the U.S. Joint Economic Committee)
• National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)
• Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA)
  Regulator for all securities firms doing business in the United States.
• Thinknum - Financial Analysis
  Thinknum utilizes web data for financial analysis. Provides some useful free information. (https://www.thinknum.com/)
• Investopedia
  Free web finance dictionary/encyclopedia
• Wachowicz's Web World:Web Sites for Discerning Finance Students

Global

• Bloomberg - World Financial Markets Overview
• Bank of England
• European Central Bank
• Eurostat (European Commission)
• International Monetary Fund
• World Bank - Data
• Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
• UNdata - United Nations
• International Organization of Securities Commissions (IOSCO)
  The International Organization of Securities Commissions (IOSCO) is the international body that brings together the world's securities regulators and is recognized as the global standard setter for the securities sector.

APIs

An API (application programming interface) is an online tool to access information or to download raw data. Many databases and publishers make APIs available for users to extract data for scholarly purposes. This page lists some of the resources available that provide API access, either on a full-text basis or for limited retrieval of information.

Resources on this guide are divided into two categories: those that provide access to full-text, complete datasets, or other complete objects via the API, and those where you are able to access large sets of bibliographic data or other metadata for articles and other objects.

Programming skills are required to use many of these APIs.

Access to full-text, full datasets, or other complete objects

Access to bibliographic data or other metadata

Credit

This Research Guide was adapted from Tufts Libraries' Research Guides@Tufts > APIs for Scholarly Resources.