When researching a new topic it is often necessary to get an overview, explanations of unfamiliar terms, or brief factual information.
UNB subscribes to a substantial collection of print and electronic reference tools (dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, guides, and standards) in the field of Business.
To find additional reference materials, check our Reference Materials database.
Wiley Encyclopedia of Management
This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access
Business Models Handbook : templates, theory and case studies
A reliable collection of business models, including detailed coverage of each model (e.g., 4Ps how to design your marketing mix, Blue Ocean Strategy, Brand Audit, Competitive Intelligence, Customer Value Proposition, Disruptive Innovation Model, deBono's six thinking hats, Gap Analysis, Kotler's five product levels, Market Sizing, New Product Pricing, Porter's five forces, SWOT & PEST analysis)
Business plans handbook : a compilation of business plans developed by individuals throughout North America
"Actual business plans compiled by, and aimed at, entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses. Presents sample plans taken from businesses in the manufacturing, retail and service industries which serve as examples of how to approach, structure and compose business plans."
Purchased multi-user unlimited access | v. 24 2012-Current
Blue Book of Canadian Business Online (CBR : Canadian business resource)
The Canadian Business Resource a.k.a. the "Blue Book" is a Canadian company and business directory. The Blue Book eResource is updated several times per week. The Corporate and Executive Profiles are freely available on the Blue Book website, but the Company records are only available by subscription.Each company record includes:• contact information• officers' and directors' names• brief company description• financial data• NAICS codes• direct links to email and website addresses• direct links to press releases, stock analysis, and investment information.• results of database queries are exportable in csv format individually or in bulk.
Scott's Directories - Atlantic Business (Pinpointer version)
Scott’s Directories is Canada's leading B2B business database. Scott's features Canadian manufacturers, wholesalers, distributors, industrial and B2B services organizations, institutions and associations. The Directory enables you to quickly and easily identify high-value companies and contacts. Scott's is also a comprehensive source of prospective employers for job seekers. With over 175,000 detailed company profiles and over 330,000 executive contacts, Scott's is your best source for making meaningful connections with the right professionals for your business needs.
eResources record | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access
CPA Canada handbook. Accounting
This is the electronic version of the CPA Canada Handbook and accesses up-to-date accounting information by searching keywords or phrases. Table of contents: Accounting handbook ; Assurance handbook ; CPA Canada public sector accounting handbook ; Archived highlight summaries ; Archived revision releases ; Canadian Auditing and Assurance Practice Notes ; Public Sector Statements of Recommended Practice ; Management's Discussion and Analysis ;Guidance of the Criteria of Control Board ; Risk Oversight and Governance Collection ; Investigative & Forensic Accounting
International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS)
The complete set of International Financial Reporting Standards incorporating International Accounting Standards and Interpretations.
A Dictionary of Business and Management (6 ed.)
"This dictionary is a wide-ranging and informative guide to all aspects of modern business, which will prove indispensable to both students and professionals. There is broad coverage of marketing, taxation and accounting, investments, banking, and international finance. It includes up-to-date coverage on all aspects of management, including business strategy, organizational behaviour, human resources management, and operations management. The vocabulary of e-commerce and interactive marketing are key features of this edition."
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access
A Dictionary of Finance and Banking
"This dictionary provides comprehensive coverage of financial matters that will make it an invaluable resource for anyone working in banking or finance. It contains entries on every aspect of the financial world: insurance, stocks and shares, commodities, takeovers and mergers, international trade, and government finance. It provides international coverage of the world's most important financial centres, including New York, London, Frankfurt, Tokyo, and Hong Kong. Prepared with the help of a team of experts from Lloyds Bank, this essential reference offers straightforward definitions of the latest financial jargon. The lucid entries and in-depth coverage of personal finance - including investments, pensions, and taxes - also make the dictionary ideal for investors, homeowners, students, and those generally interested in business and finance."
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access
Market share reporter (Gale)
Market Share Reporter (MSR) is a compilation of published market share data about companies, brands, products, commodities, services and facilities in U.S. and international markets. The 2016 and every 2nd year's subsequent edition online edition are available through Gale Virtual Reference Library. Data is compiled from periodical sources (newspapers, magazines, newsletters, government reports etc.) over the previous three to four years. Entries feature a descriptive title; data and market description; a list of producers/products; original sources are also provided. The main method used to store entries in MSR is by name of the report; reports can be found by keyword or by using the Advanced Search feature.
2016- [Every 2nd year's edition]
FP markets, Canadian Demographics
[HIL-REF HC111 .B9 ]
The two most recent editions are held in HIL-REF, and the rest are shelved in HIL-STACKS.
FP survey, industrials
[HIL-REF HG5151 .F56 ]
The two most recent editions are shelved in HIL-REF; the rest are in HIL-STACKS.
Guide to Canadian manufacturers = Guide des fabricants canadiens
[HIL-REF HF3223 .G84]
Current volumes held in HIL-REF.
Canadian trade index
[HIL-REF HF3223 .C25]
New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics is the key scholarly reference tool for economics. It offers access to over 3,000 articles written by leading figures in the field and is updated on a continual basis.
Encyclopedia of Business
[HIL-REF HF1001 .E466 2000 vols. 1-2]
When your patrons need information on an expansive selection of issues, guide them to the Encyclopedia of Business. International in scope, yet with a distinctly North American focus, this new 2-vol. set is a first-stop source for researchers and professionals as they investigate major business concentrations and theories.
Standard & Poor's register of corporations, directors and executives
[HIL-REF HG4057 .A4 ]
The 2007 and 2008 editions are available in HIL-REF.
Who owns whom. North & South America
[HIL-REF HG4538 .W423 ]
The most recent edition is available in HIL-REF. The 1998/99 - 2007/08 editions are shelved in HIL-STACKS.
Directory of directors
[HIL-REF HG4090 .Z5 D46 ]
The latest three years are in HIL-REF. Older volumes are shelved in HIL-STACKS.
2016 almanac of business and industrial financial ratios
[HIL-REF HF5681 .R25 W55 2015 ]
Oxford handbook of management information systems : critical perspectives and new directions
[HIL-REF HD30.213 .O95 2011 ]
This handbook provides critical, interdisciplinary contributions from leading international academics on the theory and methodology, practical applications, and broader context of Management Information Systems, as well as offering potential avenues for future research.
Encyclopedia of sports management and marketing
[HIL-REF GV713 .E53 2011]
This four-volume set introduces, on the management side, principles and procedures of economics, budgeting and finance; leadership; governance; communication; business law and ethics; and human resources practices; all in the sports context.
AMA handbook of business writing : the ultimate guide to style, grammar, usage, punctuation, construction, and formatting
[HIL-REF HF5726 .A485 2010 ]
This guide takes the guesswork out of more than 50 commonly used business documents, including: reports, proposals, business plans, presentations, press releases, memos, email, newsletters,
The AMA handbook of business letters
More than 365 pre-typed, ready-to-use business letter for all occasions!
NAICS desk reference : The North American Industry Classification System desk reference
[HIL-REF HF1041.5 .N35 2000]
Developed by JIST Editors based on data from the U.S. Office of Management and Budget Ideal reference for professionals in law, banking, insurance, and other fields -- provides the classification information most organizations need in a compact, organized format that helps people pinpoint the information fast.
Dictionary of e-business : a definitive guide to technology and business terms
[HIL-REF HF5548.32 .B67 2000]
In a fast-moving technical environment like multimedia and the Internet only exactitude can guarantee success. An 'almost correct' specification is a wrong specification. Make total accuracy your IT signature with this invaluable guide. It offers detailed definitions of the bewildering array of terms and phrases relating to the Internet, plus short articles to explain more complex topics. Covering graphics, sound and data- you'll never fall victim to fuzzy thinking again. New and emerging areas are included such as electronic commerce, security, creating DVD discs, and briefs on new business applications and services. No need to risk disastrous misinterpretation when one can have total accuracy at one's fingertips. ? Over 2500 references and 35 illustrations ? Explains new and emerging technologies ? Bridges the gap between definition and explanation ? Provides useful tradename information ? In-depth entries illuminate specific topics Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Oxford business English dictionary : for learners of English
[HIL-REF HF1001 .O93 2005]
Includes CD-ROM (HF1001 .O93 2005 CD). Ask at the Research Help Desk.
Oxford Business French Dictionary: French-English, The
"The Oxford Business French Dictionary offers comprehensive coverage of core business vocabulary from a wide range of fields, including accountancy, banking, economics, human resource management, law, sales and marketing, the stock market, management, taxation, insurance, and information technology."
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access
Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published.Covers the humanities and social sciences.
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access
CARD Online (CARDonline)
"CARDonline and The Media Information Network ... provides information services to advertising, sales, marketing and corporate communication professionals in print and online. CARD and CARDonline, our flagship services, are designed and managed to enhance the efficiency of professionals involved in buying and selling advertising. Advertising rates and related data are available on every significant medium in Canada and on selected International media."--About page.
Directory of business information resources
[HIL-REF HF54.52 .U5 D567 2015 ]
The Directory of Business Information Resources offers a complete picture of the information resources needed to participate effectively in a chosen industry.
Vividata provides statistical data that tracks Canadian consumer demographics, media usage, lifestyle, attitudinal data and brand/product usage across 150+ categories. Data is derived from an annual national survey (Survey of the Canadian Consumer) of 40,000 Canadians (age 14+) surveyed across 50+ markets; data is released in quarterly updates.
Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online
Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."
Cabells (Journalytics & Predatory Reports)
UNB has access to Journalytics and Predatory Reports offered by Cabells International.
Journalytics covers more than 3,000 qualified academic journals spanning UNB's 4 accessible business related disciplines (Accounting, Economics & Finance, Management, and Marketing) to help researchers select the best match to publish their manuscripts. Each entry displays contact information, manuscript and submission guidelines, and actionable metrics to help researchers make informed decisions.
Predatory Reports is described as a listing of “deceptive” scholarly journals. Journal titles are added on an ongoing basis. The listing first became available in 2017 as a response to a growing number of predatory publishers. It offers journal information, evaluation metrics, and contains details of practices which threaten to undermine quality research.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access
Ulrichsweb : global serials directory
Bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive and authoritative information on serials published around the world.