When researching a new topic, it's often important to start by gaining an overview, understanding unfamiliar terms, obtaining brief factual information, and testing your own assumptions. The resources listed below offer background and context for studying contemporary Middle East politics.
Angrist, Michele Penner, ed. 2019. Politics & Society in the Contemporary Middle East. Lynne Rienner Publishers, Inc.
Beinin, Joel, and Frédéric Vairel. 2013. Social Movements, Mobilization, and Contestation in the Middle East and North Africa. Stanford University Press.
Hinnebusch, Raymond A. 2003. The International Politics of the Middle East. Manchester University Press.
Lust, Ellen M. 2023. The Middle East. CQ Press.
Niblock, Tim. 2001. Pariah States & Sanctions in the Middle East: Iraq, Libya, Sudan. Lynne Rienner Publishers.
Rahbek, Birgitte. 2005. Democratisation in the Middle East: Dilemmas and Perspectives. Aarhus University Press.
Zartman, Jonathan K., ed. 2020. Conflict in the Modern Middle East: An Encyclopedia of Civil War, Revolutions, and Regime Change. ABC-CLIO.
General Works:
-
Oxford bibliographies. Political Science
Political science is the study of the struggle by humans to gain and use power and authority for useful or destructive reasons. Political scientists analyze this struggle within and among nations using a variety of methodological tools and theoretical concepts and in a variety of sub-disciplines and specialties. The overlapping fields of practice that come together in the study of political science make it challenging to stay informed about every applicable area. Students and researchers alike can rely on Oxford Bibliographies in Political Science to offer a reliable, up-to-date, and authoritative guide to the best literature in the field. As Oxford Bibliographies in Political Science grows, it will reflect the impact on political science of major political transformations in the world and of methodological advances.
Collection record | Purchased multi-user unlimited access -
A Companion to the History of the Middle East
A Companion to the History of the Middle East offers a fresh account of the multifaceted and multi-layered history of this region. Comprising 26 newly-commissioned essays by leading international scholars, the Companion treats the Middle East as four differentiated political units - Iran, Turkey, Israel, and the Arab world. While focused primarily on the modern and contemporary periods, it also includes a number of chapters on classical and pre-modern themes. Topics are situated within a chronological framework and include the rise of Islam, the militarization of Islam under a wide variety of dynasties, the commercial and industrial revolutions, colonial rule, and the struggle for independence. A final section highlights issues that have preoccupied historians in the second half of the twentieth century, and are most likely to gain momentum well into the twenty-first. These range from oil and urban growth to the role of women and democratic human rights.
Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access -
International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences (2nd Ed.)
Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
UNB has online access to the 2001 edition as well as owning print volumes of the earlier edition. -
International encyclopedia of political science
see also [HIL-REF JA61 .I58 2011]With entries from leading international scholars from around the world, this eight-volume encyclopedia offers the widest possible coverage of key areas both regionally and globally. The International Encyclopedia of Political Science provides a definitive, comprehensive picture of all aspects of political life, recognizing the theoretical and cultural pluralism of our approaches and including findings from the far corners of the world. The eight volumes cover every field of politics, from political theory and methodology to political sociology, comparative politics, public policies, and international relations.
-
Political handbook of the world
[HIL-REF JF37 .P6 2008]
The following volumes are held in HIL-STACKS: 1995/96-2000/02, 2005/06-2007
The following volumes are located in HIL-STORA (ask at the Circulation Desk): 1975-1976, 1979-1982/83, 1986-1994/95
-
Routledge encyclopedia of international political economy
[HIL-REF HF1359 .R68 2001 vols. 1-3]
This encyclopedia offers a comprehensive and authoritative survey of the rapidly developing field of international political economy. Its entries provide a guide to the basic issues, concepts, and institutions used by international political economy in its various forms.
-
Keesing's record of world events. --
[HIL-REF D410 .K4 v.54 2008]
Textual holdings: v. 33 1987 - current.
-
Oxford encyclopedia of foreign policy analysis
[HIL-REF JZ1242 .O84 2018]
"The Oxford Encyclopedia of Foreign Policy Analysis examines the theories and factors that influence and determine foreign policy. In a wide-ranging set of over 100 articles, experts examine topics as diverse as climate change, organized crime, two-level games, and veto player approaches"-- Provided by publisher.
-
Handbook on Gender in World Politics
[HIL-REF HQ1075 .H354 2016]
"The Handbook on Gender in World Politics is an up-to-date, comprehensive, multi-disciplinary compendium of scholarship in gender studies. The text provides an indispensable reference guide for scholars and students interrogating gender issues in international and global contexts. Substantive areas covered include: statecraft, citizenship and the politics of belonging, international law and human rights, media and communications technologies, political economy, development, global governance and transnational visions of politics and solidarities"--Provided by publisher.
-
The Palgrave Macmillan dictionary of political thought
see also [HIL-REF JA65 .H64 2007]Covers alphabetically both the major concepts in political theory and the key writers in the field. This book is based on the premise that politics cannot be studied without theory, and for students, the more concrete and relevant the theory, the better. It presents definitions that relate political ideas to political realities.
