When researching a new topic it is often necessary to get an overview, explanations of unfamiliar terms, or brief factual information.
UNB subscribes to a substantial collection of print and electronic reference tools (dictionaries, encyclopaedias, handbooks, guides, and standards) in the field of International Development Studies.
To find additional reference materials, check our Reference Materials database.
Key Resources
-
OECD iLibrary - Books, Papers and Statistics
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD's analysis and data. OECD Books and Papers covers all OECD’s published (ISBN/ISSN) monographs, journals, statistical annuals and periodicals available online in 17 subject themes. The main texts are accessed as PDFs, whilst related tables are in XLS, PDF or HTML.OECD Statistics provides online access to all OECD’s published data, irrespective of format. It includes the dynamic interactive databases, as well as the statistical annuals and periodicals in PDF format, and their related tables in XLS, PDF and HTML.OECD iLibrary Content items (April 2020):• 15 620 ebook titles• 81 600 chapters• 242 220 tables and graphs• 2 305 articles• 6 360 multilingual summaries• 6 620 working papers• 7 billion data points across 44 databases.
IEA Statistical Databases are not included in this package.
-
UN iLibrary (United Nations)
The United Nations iLibrary is the comprehensive global search, discovery, and viewing source for digital content created by the United Nations. Themes include Agriculture Rural Development and Forestry, Children and Youth, Democracy and Governance, Disarmament, Drugs, Crime and Terrorism, Economic and Social Development, Environment and Climate Change, Human Rights and Refugees, Human Settlements and Urban Issues, International Law and Justice, International Trade and Finance, Migration, Natural Resources, Water and Energy, Peacekeeping and Security, Population and Demography, Public Health, Transportation and Public Safety, United Nations, and Women and Gender Issues.
-
Encyclopedia of international development
[HIL-REF HD82 .E547 2005]
"The Encyclopedia of International Development provides definitions and discussions of the key concepts, controversies, and actors associated with international development for a readership of development workers, teachers and students. With 600 entries ranging in length from shorter factual studies to more in-depth essays, a comprehensive system of cross references and a full index, it is the most definitive guide to international development yet published." "This encyclopedia will provide crucial information for universities, students and professional organizations involved with international development, or those interested in related topics such as international studies or other studies of social and economic change today."--BOOK JACKET. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
-
The international development dictionary
[HIL-REF HF1359 .F79 1991]
-
Encyclopedia of global studies
[HIL-REF JZ1318 .E626 2012 ]
The Encyclopedia of Global Studies is the reference work for the emerging field of global studies. It covers both transnational topics and intellectual approaches to the study of global themes, including: the globalization of economies and technologies; the diaspora of cultures and dispersion of peoples; the transnational aspects of social and political change; the global impact of environmental, technological and health changes; and the organizations and issues related to global civil society.
-
The Europa world year book
[HIL-REFDSK JN1 .E85 ]
The most current edition (2016) is available from the Research Help Desk in the Harriet Irving Library. HIL-REFDSK
Second latest edition is shelved in HIL-REF.
Older editions (30th ed. 1989 - third latest edition) are shelved in HIL-STACKS.
-
Encyclopedia of globalization
[HIL-REF JZ1318 .E63 2007]
"Globalization: much discussed but little understood. The term has catapulted from obscurity to the headlines in just a few years. Globalization, anti-globalization: what does it all mean; and what should we do about it? Everyone has a stake in globalization, but most people are unclear and uncertain about what, more precisely, their stake is. Although a great deal has been written about globalization, surprisingly little has aimed specifically to inform and educate students and general readers. The Encyclopedia of Globalization provides a thorough understanding of the theoretical underpinnings of globalization as well as the various historical and analytical interpretations of globalization. Consisting of over 400 entries, coverage includes key cultural, ecological, economic, geographical, historical, political, psychological and social aspects of globalization. Compiled by a cross-disciplinary editorial team of leading academics on the subject, the Encyclopedia presents the latest research in terms that are accessible to the general reader, student, scholar, or researcher. The Encyclopedia addresses the empirical, theoretical and policy aspects of globalization. In empirical terms, the entries examine the substantive conditions of globalization such as climate change, human rights, the Internet, religious revivalism, and the World Trade Organization. With regard to theory, the entries clarify concepts and approaches that can be used to understand globalization including comparative advantage, cultural imperialism, and sovereignty. Concerning policy, entries in the encyclopedia cover measures (both existing and proposed) that can be used to shape the course of globalization: for example, neoliberalism, sustainable development, and the Tobin tax. In practice, of course, the substantive, conceptual and political aspects are deeply interrelated, so that each entry includes something of all three. Entries in the Encyclopedia vary in length from 500 to 3500 words, depending on the scope of the topic and its relative prominence in studies and politics of globalization. All entries provide bibliographical references for further reading and research. From the advances in nanotechnology to the controversies surrounding humanitarian intervention, the Encyclopedia of Globalization is a key inter-disciplinary resource to all aspects of globalization.
-
The Cambridge encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean
[HIL-REF F1406 .C36 1992]
Discusses the region's past and present culture, society, history, economics and politics.
-
Dictionary of Third World terms
[HIL-REF HC59.7 .H274 1992]
Many terms concerned with Third World issues have uncertain, ambiguous or varying definitions. This book seeks to define terms as they are understood in the Third World and provides their historical context. The entries range from concise definitions to extended essays.
-
Dictionary of development : Third World economy, environment, society
[HIL-REF HC59.7 .D513 1990]
-
Global links : a guide to key people and institutions worldwide
[HIL-REF JF20 .G58 1998]
Developed to serve as a vital link in the global chain of information, this convenient directory contains the most comprehensive list of names, addresses, and telephone numbers of government, judicial, and legislative leaders worldwide. Contact information is provided for nearly 10,000 key people in 191 countries. Web sites are also included in a separate index for quick reference. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Additional Resources
-
Global development : a reference handbook
[HIL-REF HC59.7 .S283 1995]
Includes a comprehensive overview of ideas and issues in global development, biographical sketches of people working in their own countries and internationally, a list of governmental and private development organizations, facts and figures organized by topic, along with a detailed chronology mapping the milestones of global development since WWII. Annotation copyright by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
-
New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics is the key scholarly reference tool for economics. It offers access to over 3,000 articles written by leading figures in the field and is updated on a continual basis.
-
International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences (2nd Ed.)
Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
UNB has online access to the 2001 edition as well as owning print volumes of the earlier edition. -
Human rights : a compilation of international instruments
United Nations Centre for Human Rights.
-
Encyclopedia of stateless nations : ethnic and national groups around the world
[HIL-REF D860 .M563 2016]
"This volume represents the culmination of over a decade of research, planning, organization, and implementation as an updated and expanded sequel to the Encyclopedia of Stateless Nations: Ethnic and National Groups around the World, which was published in 2002. ... This encyclopedia was prepared to provide readers with an easy-to-use guide to the ethnic and national groups seeking recognition, autonomy, or independence in our complicated contemporary world. The encyclopedia is presented as a quick reference to the confusing issues of national identity, religious and ethnic relations, regional conflicts, and immigration that are important factors in all levels of national and international politics."--Preface, page xi.
-
The new core international human rights treaties
see also [HIL-GOV TU17 ST HR HIL N532ci]This publication reproduces the new core universal human rights treaties in pocket-size. By issuing the latest core instruments in this format, the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights wishes to make them more accessible, in particular to government officials, civil society, human rights defenders, legal practitioners, scholars, individual citizens and others with an interest in human rights norms and standards
-
Handbook of International Trade
This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access -
Handbook of International Trade: Economic and Legal Analyses of Trade Policy and Institutions, Volume II
This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access -
Undata
The UNdata database (formerly the United Nations Common Database (UNCDB)) provides access to selected statistical sources from a wide range of UN organizations including the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO), the International Labour Organization (ILO), UNICEF, UNESCO, and the World Health Organization (WHO). In addition, the UNCDB features databases from other international organizations such as the International Monetary Fund (IMF), the World Bank, the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) and the Inter-Parliamentary Union.
-
Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online
Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."
-
Kanopy (moderated access)
On June 1, 2019, UNB Libraries’ transitioned to a mediated access model for Kanopy online streaming, shifting from automatic purchase of titles (receiving four plays or more) to mediated purchases requiring a prior patron request.
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that provides access to more than 26,000 films each year. Kanopy works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
View a complete list of Kanopy films currently available to you.
Moderated multi-user unlimited access per leased title -
Films on Demand
UNB Libraries subscribes to the Master Academic Collection, along with access to FMG Archival Films & Newsreels Collection and the Entertainment Collection. Includes 42,000+ full-length videos and over 323,000 video segments licensed for use in Canada, covering a broad range of subjects including business, social sciences, education, health and medicine, humanities, sciences, and guidance, and including archival films and newsreels.UNB subscribed CollectionsThe Master Academic Collection (over 35,000 titles)The FM Archival Films & Newsreels (5,000+ titles)Entertainment Collection (500+ titles)
