When researching a new topic it is often necessary to get an overview, explanations of unfamiliar terms, or brief factual information. The print and electronic resources listed below include selected reference materials (dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, guides, and standards) for the field of Human Rights.
Encyclopedia of human rights
[HIL-REF JC571 .E67 1996]
Published with the cooperation of the United Nations Centre for Human Rights, this standard reference collects information on every important development in the field of human rights that occurred between 1945, when the UN Charter entered into force, and June 30, 1990 (a few later events are covered, such as the UN Security Council action immediately following the Iraqi invasion of Kuwait). The materials, which are presented objectively and with a minimum of editorial comment, include the complete texts of some 200 international and regional treaties; reports on general and specialized subjects, such as health care, the environment, the rights of children, women, minorities, indigenous peoples; special conventions and declarations on such subjects as apartheid and terrorism; an overview of the rights situation in more than 150 countries, and information on about 130 non-governmental and intergovernmental organizations. Annotation copyrighted by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Routledge Companion to Media and Human Rights
[HIL-REF P96 .H85 R57 2017]
The Companion is the first collection to bring together two distinct ways of thinking about human rights and media, including scholarship that examines media as a human right alongside that which looks at media coverage of human rights issues. This international collection of 49 newly written pieces thus provides a unique overview of current research in the field, while also providing historical context to help students and scholars appreciate how such developments depart from past practices.
The volume examines the universal principals of freedom of expression, legal instruments, the right to know, media as a human right, and the role of media organisations and journalistic work. It is organised thematically in five parts:
- Communication, Expression and Human Rights
- Media Performance and Human Rights: Political Processes
- Media Performance and Human Rights: News and Journalism
- Digital Activism, Witnessing and Human Rights
- Media Representation of Human Rights: Cultural, Social and Political.
Individual essays cover an array of topics, including mass-surveillance, LGBT advocacy, press law, freedom of information and children’s rights in the digital age. With contributions from both leading scholars and emerging scholars, the Companion offers an interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary approach to media and human rights allowing for international comparisons and varying perspectives.
The Routledge Companion to Media and Human Rights provides a comprehensive introduction to the current field useful for both students and researchers, and defines the agenda for future research.
Handbook of restorative justice : a global perspective
[HIL-REF HV8688 .H36 2006]
Handbook of Restorative Justice: A Global Perspective is a collection of original, cutting-edge essays that offer an insightful and critical assessment of the theory, principles, and practices of restorative justice around the globe. This much-awaited book is a response to the cry of students, scholars, and practitioners of restorative justice for a comprehensive resource about a practice that is radically transforming the way the human community responds to loss, trauma, and harm. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Charter of Rights in Litigation: Direction from the Supreme Court of Canada
The Internet component of the print loose-leaf service Charter of Rights in Litigation: Direction from the Supreme Court of Canada is a collection of case digests prepared by Matthew Taylor and Mahmud Jamal. The digests contain links to full-text decisions. Users can search both the digests and the full-text decisions using a variety of search terms. Although intended to complement Taylor and Jamal's commentary on Charter cases contained in the loose-leaf component, these case digests can be used as an independent resource.
Historical dictionary of human rights and humanitarian organizations
[HIL-REF JC571 .G655 1997]
Most of the entries describe past and present organizations and list treaties, founding members, related organizations, and other pertinent information. Other entries pertain to terminology, treaties, and individuals. Acronyms and abbreviations are listed and texts of important international documents appended. Also included are a chronology of the 20th century, a historical introduction, and an extensive bibliography, but no index. Well cross-referenced. Annotation copyrighted by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc
The human rights encyclopedia
[HIL-REF JC571 .L522 2001 vols. 1-3]
This illustrated A-Z reference includes 600 signed articles, many by leading experts in the field, and was compiled with special emphasis on the impact of the 1948 United Nations Declaration of Human Rights. The set provides a country-by-country analysis of each nation's approach to human rights. It also includes detailed examinations of such crucial topics as torture, slavery, asylum, genocide, hostages, indigenous peoples, freedom of the press, and the right to education. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Encyclopedia of Human Rights Issues Since 1945
see also [HIL-REF JC571 .L2747 1999]
This outstanding, comprehensive, and up-to-date encyclopedia on human rights issues since 1945 features more than 400 entries on incidents and violations, instruments and initiatives, countries and human rights activists. Its global scope is ideal for high school and college student research and class debate and for use with Model UN clubs. More than fifty years after the adoption of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights in 1948, much has been accomplished on a global scale, particularly by the United Nations, to protect the rights of all people, but many human rights violations continue to be perpetrated. Langley, an internationally recognized expert on human rights, has provided the most current information on both the progress of human rights activities and the continuing incidents of human rights violations around the globe. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
A dictionary of human rights
[HIL-REF K3239.3 .R67 1997]
Providing explanations of the terminology, issues, organizations, and laws, this reference work develops the key aspects of human rights in over 200 clear and concise A-Z entries. * Explains terms connected such as Asylum, Equal Opportunities, Freedom of Speech, Representation, and Civil Liberties* Covers organizations concerned with human rights such as Amnesty International, The European Court of Human Rights, and The American Civil Liberties Union* Outlines the significance of eminent thinkers such as Locke, Cardozo, and Nozick* Places key terms in their legal and constitutional context, with examples and explanations of their implications* Legal terms such as Injunction, Probable Cause, Clear and Present Danger, and Stop and Search are explained clearly and succinctly* Includes an appendix containing texts and extracts of leading documents, such as "The Declaration of the Rights of Man and the Citizen" and "The Universal Declaration of Human Rights," Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Human rights in Atlantic Canada : 1990 regional conference report
[HIL-REF JC599 .C3 R43 1990]
Regional Conference on Human Rights in Atlantic Canada (1990 : Fredericton, N.B.)
Legal identity for inclusive development
[HIL-GOV TA41 L496ii]
Legislative history of the Convention on the Rights of the Child
[HIL-GOV TU17 HR PUB 07/1 vols. 1-2]
The adoption of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights sixty years ago ushered in an era of prolific standard-setting in the field of international human rights law. As of 2007, universal human rights norms have been articulated in nine international human rights treaties, including the Convention on the Rights of the Child and its Optional Protocols. This study documents how the Convention came into being, providing a comprehensive record of its legislative history. It aims to serve as a research tool for children's rights advocates.
Human rights : a compilation of international instruments
United Nations Centre for Human Rights.
The core international human rights treaties
[HIL-GOV TU17 ST HR HIL C797ih]
This volume reproduces the "core" universal human rights treaties. These are: the Universal Declaration of Human Rights; International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights; International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights; International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination; Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women; Convention on the Rights of the Child; Convention against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment; and International Convention on the Protection of the Rights of All Migrant Workers and Members of Their Families. Also included are the major Optional Protocols for the various treaties. Only the basic texts of the treaties are presented and those looking for signatories, reservations, and other ancillary information should look elsewhere. Annotation #169;2007 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
The new core international human rights treaties
see also [HIL-GOV TU17 ST HR HIL N532ci]
This publication reproduces the new core universal human rights treaties in pocket-size. By issuing the latest core instruments in this format, the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights wishes to make them more accessible, in particular to government officials, civil society, human rights defenders, legal practitioners, scholars, individual citizens and others with an interest in human rights norms and standards
Neglected Diseases: A Human Rights Analysis
[HIL-GOV TW33 Sp741to no.6]
Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online
Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."
WestlawNext Canada's LabourSource provides access to arbitration, labour board, and court decisions in Canada; labour and employment legislation from all jurisdictions in Canada; and the latest commentary from Canada's labour law experts, including Donald Brown and David Beatty's Canadian Labour Arbitration, George Adams' Canadian Labour Law, and Warren Winkler and Elaine Willis' Willis & Winkler on Leading Labour Cases.
Please note that UNB does not subscribe to all components of LabourSource; UNB subscribes to the Classic Edition package.
World at risk : a global issues sourcebook
[HIL-REF JZ1242 .W67 2002]
Mostly US scholars offer introductory analysis and reference material on 30 key issues facing the world in such fields as economics, the environment, human development, law, politics, and security. The articles are formatted uniformly to facilitate comparing the different issues and finding links between them. Each moves from general analysis to detailed assessment at regional and national levels. Among the issues are AIDS, deforestation, ethnic and regional conflict, global warming, income inequality, peacemaking and peacebuilding, terrorism, and women. Annotation c. Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
World encyclopedia of peace
[HIL-REF JX1944 .W67 1986 vols. 1-4]
Globalization: The Key Concepts
[HIL-REF GN27 .E69 2007]
"Globalization: The Key Concepts presents an accessible guide to the way we live now. The causes and the effects of globalization are hotly disputed and the book aims to present the range of arguments in a clear and balanced way. However, arguing that variation is as characteristic of globalization as standardization, the book stresses the necessity for a bottom-up, comparative analysis. Distinguishing between the cultural, political, economic and ecological aspects of globalization, the book highlights the implications of globalization for people's everyday lives. Throughout, the discussion is illustrated with wide-ranging case material. Chapter summaries and a guide to further reading underline the book's concern to clarify this most complex and influential of ideas."--BOOK JACKET. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
CIA World Factbook
Prepared by the Central Intelligence Agency for use by the US Government. The World Factbook provides concise country profiles which include overviews of geography, population, government, and economy.
HeinOnline is a comprehensive database of U.S. and international law journals, treatises, yearbooks, reports, cases, treaties, and other legal information resources. Organized into collections called “libraries,” all documents are image-based, full-text searchable PDFs. Most of HeinOnline’s libraries are searchable by citation.
International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences (2nd Ed.)
Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
UNB has online access to the 2001 edition as well as owning print volumes of the earlier edition.
The resources previously available through Justis and JustCite are now available through JustisOne. JustisOne provides access to all UK statutes dating back to 1235. The full text of legislation, including repealed legislation, is provided as originally enacted with references to amending legislation. Legislation is formatted to resemble the original printed documents, including side notes. UK statutory instruments back to 1671 are also included. UNB's subscription includes access to the full-text of reported and unreported civil and criminal judgments from England and Wales (coverage varies). JustisOne incorporates features from JustCite, a citator service that cross-references case law and legislation from a number of jurisdictions, including Canada.
A growing collection of legal and governmental documents, including statutes, treatises, case law, administrative decisions, and reports of government agencies, boards and departments from the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, and other countries. There is some recent material, but the emphasis is on historical documents.
Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published.Covers the humanities and social sciences.
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007 (Adam Matthew Digital)
This digital collection documents key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries. Topics covered include the African Coast, the Middle Passage, the varieties of slave experience, religion, revolts, abolition, and legislation. The collection also includes case studies from America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Cuba.
The UNdata database (formerly the United Nations Common Database (UNCDB)) provides access to selected statistical sources from a wide range of UN organizations including the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO), the International Labour Organization (ILO), UNICEF, UNESCO, and the World Health Organization (WHO). In addition, the UNCDB features databases from other international organizations such as the International Monetary Fund (IMF), the World Bank, the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) and the Inter-Parliamentary Union.
United Nations treaty collection / Collection des traités des Nations Unies
Under Article 102 of the Charter of the United Nations, "Every treaty and every international agreement entered into by any Member of the United Nations after the present Charter comes into force shall as soon as possible be registered with the Secretariat and published by it".