Physics Guide Ask Us

Additional Resources

• Encyclopedia of chemical physics and physical chemistry [multiple locations SCI-REF QD451. E63 2001 vols. 1-3]

  Covers the mechanics of atoms and molecules and their interactions, the macroscopic and statistical description of systems at equilibrium, and the basic ways of treating reacting systems. This work provides instrumentation and fundamental theory employed in the major spectroscopic techniques and the experimental means for characterizing materials.

• Handbook of molecular physics and quantum chemistry [SCI-REF QD461 .H22 2003]

  Published in three volumes, this comprehensive reference work brings together in a single source for the first time, a detailed presentation of the most important theoretical concepts and methods for the study of molecules and molecular systems. The logical format of the Handbook allows the reader to progress from the foundations of the field to the most important and exciting areas of current research. Edited and written by an outstanding international team, and containing over 100 articles written by more than 50 contributors, it will be invaluable for both the expert researcher and the graduate student or postdoctoral worker active in any of the broad range of fields where these concepts and methods are important. Comprises three themed volumes: Fundamentals Molecular Electronic Structure Molecules in the Physico-Chemical Environment: Spectroscopy, Dynamics and Bulk Properties Presents detailed articles covering the key topics, presented in a didactic manner Focuses both on theory and the relation of experiment to theory Volume 1, Fundamentals presents the foundations of molecular physics and quantum chemistry. It consists of 7 parts arranged as follows:- Part 1 Introduction Part 2 Elements of Quantum Mechanics Part 3 Orbital Models for Atomic, Molecular and Crystal Structure Part 4 Symmetry Groups and Molecular Structure Part 5 Second Quantization and Many-Body Methods Part 6 Approximate Separation of Electronic and Nuclear Motion Part 7 Quantum Electrodynamics of Atoms and Molecules The central problem of molecular physics and quantum chemistry is the description of atomic and molecular electronic structure. The development of appropriate models for the description of the effects of electron correlation and of relativity are key components of the analysis. Volume 2, Molecular Electronic Structure, addresses these topics, and consists of 7 parts arranged as follows: Part 1 Approximation methods Part 2 Orbital Models and Generalized Product Functions Part 3 Electron correlation Part 4 Relativistic molecular electronic structure Part 5 Electronic structure of large molecules Part 6 Computational quantum chemistry Part 7 Visualization and interpretation of molecular electronic structure In reality no molecular system exists in isolation. Molecules interact with other atoms and molecules, and with their environment. Volume 3, Molecules in the Physico-Chemical Environment - Spectroscopy, Dynamics and Bulk Properties, consists of 7 parts arranged as follows:- Part 1 Response theory and propagator methods Part 2 Interactions between molecules Part 3 Molecules in different environments Part 4 Molecular Electronic spectra Part 5 Atomic Spectroscopy and Molecular Vibration-Rotation Spectroscopy Part 6 Molecular dynamics and dynamical processes Part 7 Bulk properties Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

• Encyclopedia of physics [SCI-REF QC5 .E545 1991]

  Completely revised to reflect the many developments in the field, the third edition of this reference features contributions by the most respected figures in the field. Among the topics new to this edition are atomic trapping and cooling, biophotonics, econophysics, the formation of stars and planets, quantum communication, space science and technology, and traffic flow. Each of the more than 500 entries are signed and most include a list of cross references. In addition, each chapter concludes with a list of bibliography, often divided by subject. The entries begin with a brief introduction and background to the topic, followed by discussion of its properties and methods of study, making this an excellent resource for advanced college students as well as specialists who wish to be up to date on areas of research outside their own. Annotation #169;2006 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

• International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology [SCI-STOR Q199 .N32 vols. 1-7]
• The Oxford guide to the history of physics and astronomy [SCI-STACKS QC7 .O94 2005]

  Encompassing more than 200 alphabetically arranged entries, The Oxford Guide to the History of Physics and Astronomy traces the evolution of these bodies of knowledge as well as planetary science from the Renaissance to the beginning of the twenty-first century. For students, teachers, scientists, and readers of popular science books, the Guide deciphers the techniques and philosophies of physics and astronomy as well as the historical periods from which they emerged. Inside are Galileo's falling bodies, Newton's world system, pulsars and quasars, and proper quanta of other topics as illuminating as Light, as absorbing as Black Holes, and as expansive as the Theory of Everything. Biographies of leading contributors to natural knowledge, arranged where appropriate in pairs as in Plutarch's Lives, connect the personal with the general development of scientific ideas and the wider course of discovery. Whatever your topic in the history of modern astronomy, physics, or the planetary sciences, this convenient handbook is the single best place to begin or refresh your study. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

• Springer Handbook of Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics [SCI-REF QC173 .S668 2006]

  CD-ROM available in SCI-CDROM.