Top Article & Research Databases
Use article databases to find articles, reviews, book chapters, etc.
CINAHL with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature - EBSCO)
CINAHL with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 500 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1981, CINAHL with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1981-Current
Medline (1950 to Present)
"MEDLINE® is the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM®) premier bibliographic database providing information from the following fields: Medicine, Nursing, Dentistry, Veterinary medicine, Allied health, and Pre-clinical sciences. As well, MEDLINE is the primary source of global information from international literature on biomedicine, including the following topics as they relate to biomedicine and health care: Biology, Environmental science, Marine biology, Plant and animal science, Biophysics, and Chemistry."
PubMed is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's (NLM®) database of biomedical citations and abstracts. It includes MEDLINE, which covers over 4,800 journals published in the United States and more than 70 other countries primarily from 1966 to the present.
EMBASE is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1947-Current
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database
ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Source is a collection of core nursing and related publications, this database, designed to meet the needs of researchers at health-care facilities as well as students enrolled in nursing programs at academic institutions. All the source publications are available in the ASCII full-text format. Nearly all of them also offer articles in the full-image and Text+Graphics formats.
NOTE: In certain instances ProQuest has decided to omit particular 'articles' from full-text access due to copyright restrictions or because the item has not met their criteria for being an 'article' (ie. too short, a letter, not attributed to an author, etc.).
PsycINFO (American Psychological Association; APA - EBSCO)
PsycINFO is an abstracting and indexing database of more than 2000 journals (approximately 3.3 million records) devoted to peer-reviewed literature (journals, books and dissertations) in the behavioural sciences and mental health.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1887-Current
The Cochrane library
The Cochrane Library contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. This database includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, the Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews, the The Cochrane Methodology Register, the Health Technology Assessment Database, and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
Access to the Cochrane Library in New Brunswick is through a province-wide license made possible by a partnership between UNB and the eight Regional Hospital Authority libraries.
INFORMIT Indigenous Collection
With a broad range of international Indigenous research resources brought together, the Informit Indigenous Collection offers a variety of content on both historical and topical issues within Indigenous studies. Readily available, the multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary framework encompasses anthropology, community development, cultural studies, economics, education, health, history, human geography, law and land rights, literature, politics and policymaking, (post)colonial studies, psychology, race studies, sociology and visual and performing arts.The Informit Indigenous Collection gives access to emergent and ground breaking research within the global community offering scope for critical international engagement and debate. With material from Australia, Canada, Indonesia, Malaysia, New Zealand, North America and The Pacific which normally is not easily located in standard recourses, IIC is a platform for Indigenous worldviews.
Native health database
This database contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents about the health and health care of Indigenous peoples located in North America.
(Showing 9 of 26 resources | View All Results)
Top Reference Materials
Find dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and other materials
UpToDate is a website and app-based tool that provides quick access to information about diagnosis, clinical practice, and point of care information. UpToDate draws reliable information from many clinical sources and presents it in an easy to read format that supports learning and practice in medical fields.
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
"The 18th Edition of The Merck Manual is packed with essential information on diagnosing and treating medical disorders to help health care professionals and medical students deliver the best care."--Highlights page for print version.Online version is very similar to the print version of The Merck manual of diagnosis and therapy, 18th ed., except that it includes multimedia extras and has periodic updates.
CPS Full Access
CPS Full Access is an easily searchable tool that includes the electronic versions of the Canadian Pharmaceutical Association’s annual Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties and the content from their Therapeutic Choices. These resources provide a thorough and centralized overview of many drugs, drug therapy and clinical tools.
Bates' visual guide to physical examination with OSCE Clinical Skills
Bates' visual guide to physical examination with OSCE Clinical Skills is a collection of instructional streaming videos that facilitate learning of physical assessment procedures by students in healthcare fields. The eighteen 25-minute modules in the Bates’ collection are composed of series’ of shorter videos, and range in coverage from a general physical examination to the more targeted procedures for examining specific organs and systems. UNB also has access to 15 OSCE Clinical Skills videos.
Bates' physical examination videos -- Head-to-toe assessment: adult -- Head-to-toe assessment: infant -- Head-to-toe assessment: child -- Head-to-toe assessment: older adult -- General survey and vital signs -- Skin -- Head, eyes, and ears -- Nose, mouth, and neck -- Thorax and lungs -- Cardiovascular system -- Peripheral vascular system -- Breasts and axillae -- Abdomen -- Male genitalia, rectum, anus, and prostate -- Female genitalia, anus and rectum -- Musculoskeletal system -- Nervous system: cranial nerves and motor system -- Nervous system: sensory system and reflexes.
OSCE Clinical Skills videos -- OSCE 1: Chest pain -- OSCE 2: Abdominal pain -- OSCE 3: Sore throat -- OSCE 4: Knee pain -- OSCE 5: Cough -- OSCE 6: Vomit -- OSCE 7: Amenorrhea -- OSCE 8: Falls -- OSCE 9: Back pain -- OSCE 10: Shortness of breath.
eResources record | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access
Cochrane clinical answers
Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs) provide a readable, digestible, clinically focused entry point to rigorous research from Cochrane systematic reviews. They are designed to be actionable and to inform decision making at the point of care. Each Cochrane Clinical Answer contains a clinical question, a short answer, and an opportunity to ‘drill down’ to the evidence from relevant Cochrane reviews.
(Showing 5 of 16 resources | View All Results)