Reference Materials for Nursing

"Written by nursing and medical specialists, the dictionary provides comprehensive and authoritative coverage of the ever-expanding vocabulary of the nursing professions. In addition to specifically nursing terms, there are many entries in the fields of medicine, surgery, anatomy, physiology, psychiatry, nutrition, and pharmacology (including new drugs recently introduced into clinical practice). Accident and emergency, trauma, public health medicine, and theory and practice of nursing are all covered."
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access

Bates' visual guide to physical examination with OSCE Clinical Skills is a collection of instructional streaming videos that facilitate learning of physical assessment procedures by students in healthcare fields. The eighteen 25-minute modules in the Bates’ collection are composed of series’ of shorter videos, and range in coverage from a general physical examination to the more targeted procedures for examining specific organs and systems. UNB also has access to 15 OSCE Clinical Skills videos.

Bates' physical examination videos -- Head-to-toe assessment: adult -- Head-to-toe assessment: infant -- Head-to-toe assessment: child -- Head-to-toe assessment: older adult -- General survey and vital signs -- Skin -- Head, eyes, and ears -- Nose, mouth, and neck -- Thorax and lungs -- Cardiovascular system -- Peripheral vascular system -- Breasts and axillae -- Abdomen -- Male genitalia, rectum, anus, and prostate -- Female genitalia, anus and rectum -- Musculoskeletal system -- Nervous system: cranial nerves and motor system -- Nervous system: sensory system and reflexes.

OSCE Clinical Skills videos -- OSCE 1: Chest pain -- OSCE 2: Abdominal pain -- OSCE 3: Sore throat -- OSCE 4: Knee pain -- OSCE 5: Cough -- OSCE 6: Vomit -- OSCE 7: Amenorrhea -- OSCE 8: Falls -- OSCE 9: Back pain -- OSCE 10: Shortness of breath.

eResources record | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access

Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America (BIPNA) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of Indigenous culture, history, and life in North America. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, education, the gaming industry, religion, folklore, economic development, acculturation, mythology, missions, tribal governments, and ethnohistory. BIPNA contains more than 350,000 citations for newspapers, magazines, academic journals, books, reviews, and trade publications from the United States and Canada with expanded content from Great Britain and Australia. Dates of coverage for content range from the sixteenth century to the present.

Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1989 - present

Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs) provide a readable, digestible, clinically focused entry point to rigorous research from Cochrane systematic reviews. They are designed to be actionable and to inform decision making at the point of care. Each Cochrane Clinical Answer contains a clinical question, a short answer, and an opportunity to ‘drill down’ to the evidence from relevant Cochrane reviews.
2014-Current

CPS Full Access is an easily searchable tool that includes the electronic versions of the Canadian Pharmaceutical Association’s annual Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties and the content from their Therapeutic Choices. These resources provide a thorough and centralized overview of many drugs, drug therapy and clinical tools.

Books@OVID consists of the latest editions of the following Nursing reference textbooks: Diseases, Handbook of Medical-Surgical Nursing, Handbook of Pathophysiology, Interpretation of Diagnostic Tests, Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice, Lippincott's Nursing Drug Guide, Nurses' Guide to Clinical Procedures, and Nursing Care Plans and Documentation. Also included are a set of titles issued by the Joanna Briggs Institute. All the titles are published by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.

"According to the National Center for Health Statistics, mental health disorders led to more than 40 million doctor visits and 2 million emergency room visits in 2002. The Encyclopedia of Mental Health, Third Edition is a revised and updated A-to-Z reference covering all aspects of general mental health topics. This guide sorts through a maze of professional jargon to provide definitions of theories, syndromes, symptoms, treatments, and contemporary issues, in language that everyone can understand, bringing readers the most up-to-date information on this subject. Presenting more than 2,000 new and updated entries, this volume is a resource for anyone seeking more information on mental health."--BOOK JACKET. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

"The Encyclopedia of Nursing Research, now thoroughly updated in a second edition, presents key terms and concepts in nursing research with over 30% of the entries new to this edition. Written by the world's leading authorities in nursing research, this comprehensive reference is a "one-stop" resource for everything you need to know about nursing research and its utilization." "Extensive cross references help readers find information easily. Nursing researchers and graduate students in nursing are the primary audience for this volume. As with the first edition, nurses in all phases of education, from basic to doctoral, from formal university and college-based programs to continuing education offerings, within all health systems, will find this an important introduction to current nursing research topics."--BOOK JACKET. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Books@OVID consists of the latest editions of the following Nursing reference textbooks: Diseases, Handbook of Medical-Surgical Nursing, Handbook of Pathophysiology, Interpretation of Diagnostic Tests, Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice, Lippincott's Nursing Drug Guide, Nurses' Guide to Clinical Procedures, and Nursing Care Plans and Documentation. Also included are a set of titles issued by the Joanna Briggs Institute. All the titles are published by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.

Part of the Books@OVID collection. Books@OVID consists of the latest editions of eight Nursing reference textbooks: Diseases, Handbook of Medical-Surgical Nursing, Handbook of Pathophysiology, Interpretation of Diagnostic Tests, Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice, Lippincott's Nursing Drug Guide, Nurses's Guide to Clinical Procedures, and Nursing Care Plans and Documentation. All the titles are published by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.

Books@OVID consists of the latest editions of the following Nursing reference textbooks: Diseases, Handbook of Medical-Surgical Nursing, Handbook of Pathophysiology, Interpretation of Diagnostic Tests, Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice, Lippincott's Nursing Drug Guide, Nurses' Guide to Clinical Procedures, and Nursing Care Plans and Documentation. Also included are a set of titles issued by the Joanna Briggs Institute. All the titles are published by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.

Books@OVID consists of the latest editions of the following Nursing reference textbooks: Diseases, Handbook of Medical-Surgical Nursing, Handbook of Pathophysiology, Interpretation of Diagnostic Tests, Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice, Lippincott's Nursing Drug Guide, Nurses' Guide to Clinical Procedures, and Nursing Care Plans and Documentation. Also included are a set of titles issued by the Joanna Briggs Institute. All the titles are published by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.

"The 18th Edition of The Merck Manual is packed with essential information on diagnosing and treating medical disorders to help health care professionals and medical students deliver the best care."--Highlights page for print version.Online version is very similar to the print version of The Merck manual of diagnosis and therapy, 18th ed., except that it includes multimedia extras and has periodic updates.

Books@OVID consists of the latest editions of the following Nursing reference textbooks: Diseases, Handbook of Medical-Surgical Nursing, Handbook of Pathophysiology, Interpretation of Diagnostic Tests, Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice, Lippincott's Nursing Drug Guide, Nurses' Guide to Clinical Procedures, and Nursing Care Plans and Documentation. Also included are a set of titles issued by the Joanna Briggs Institute. All the titles are published by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.

Statista is a multidisciplinary database that aggregates information covering 80,000 topics. Access to data from over 18,000 sources covering 1.5 million statistics. All statistics can be directly downloaded in PNG, PDF, Excel, and PowerPoint formats. Data prepared according to academic citation standards, with a citation tool (APA, Chicago, Harvard, MLA, and Bluebook) and links to the original source for further research. Statista also covers industry reports, studies, forecasts, dossiers, digital market outlook , aesthetically pleasing infographics, and more.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access

UpToDate is a website and app-based tool that provides quick access to information about diagnosis, clinical practice, and point of care information. UpToDate draws reliable information from many clinical sources and presents it in an easy to read format that supports learning and practice in medical fields.

Books@OVID consists of the latest editions of the following Nursing reference textbooks: Diseases, Handbook of Medical-Surgical Nursing, Handbook of Pathophysiology, Interpretation of Diagnostic Tests, Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice, Lippincott's Nursing Drug Guide, Nurses' Guide to Clinical Procedures, and Nursing Care Plans and Documentation. Also included are a set of titles issued by the Joanna Briggs Institute. All the titles are published by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.