For your self-directed study you'll need to consult different types of sources to help complete your reflection. Scholarly resources would be books, journal articles, statistics, reports, and other documents. Some sources may provide background knowledge for you on a topic, and some may help support a point or argument you're making.
Use this tab to find relevant books and journal articles, with tips and suggestions on how to successfully search for sources by Indigenous researchers and about Indigenous people.
Search for Indigenous topics
It's important when searching for information about Indigenous people to also ensure you're looking for Indigenous authors and voices. Searching for research on Indigenous health topics may require using a range of search terms because settlers and Indigenous peoples use a variety of terminology and language to describe specific groups of Indigenous peoples, geographies, and histories over time. This may involve using outdated colonial language and terms that are harmful; you'll see this particularly with controlled vocabulary used in library catalogues and databases. These resources provide helpful details and history on terminology:
It also requires an awareness of language and terminology used worldwide to describe Indigenous peoples; often there's overlap in broad terms like Indigenous and Aboriginal in different parts of the world, so it may be necessary to try terms more commonly used in a given geographic region, or pay close attention for clues in titles/abstracts to ensure you're finding relevant and appropriate information.
Here are some example search terms:
Search for Books
UNB Libraries has many books (print and e-books) which could be useful to consult for assignments and general knowledge.
Browse this list for specific books and reports in UNB Libraries' collections related to Indigenous health topics.
You can also search the library's catalogue using keywords, specific authors, or titles. Once you have found the item you are looking for, use the call number listed in the search results (if it is a physical item) to locate it on our library shelves. Click here for information on how to read call numbers. Alternately, you can visit the Library Service Desk for assistance in locating items in the HWK Commons. Items can be borrowed from the Fredericton campus, and e-books are accessible anywhere with your UNB login information.
Choose databases and journals to find relevant information
UNB Libraries provides access to many Indigenous-specific databases and resources, and also broad subject-specific databases for locating scholarly articles for assignments or course work. Depending on your research topic, it may be necessary to search multiple databases, and branch out from health-specific ones if your topic is interdisciplinary. You may also need to consult the Statistics, Reports & Websites tab to expand your research to include grey literature sources.
Here is a list of Indigenous-specific databases which may include health-related research:
Key Resources
-
Native health database
This database contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents about the health and health care of Indigenous peoples located in North America.
Open Access
-
Native American Ethnobotany : a database of foods, drugs, dyes and fibers of Native American peoples, derived from plants
A database of foods, drugs, dyes and fibers derived from plants, representing traditional use by Indigenous peoples located in North America.
-
Arctic health publications database
This information portal contains published and unpublished articles, reports, data, and links to organizations pertinent to the health of Arctic and northern peoples, as well as out-of-print publications and information from special collections at the University of Alaska.
Open Access
-
Anti-colonial research library
The Anti-Colonial Research Library provides a collection of open access articles, books, websites and videos on Indigenous and anti-colonial research methodologies.
Open Access
-
IPortal : indigenous studies portal research tool
This database includes full-text resources such as articles, e-books, theses, government publications, videos, oral histories, and digitized archival documents and photographs. The content is primarily focused on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.
Open Access
-
Open Polar - The Global Open Access Portal for Research Data and Publications on the Arctic and Antarctic
This database provides access to open publications and research data on the polar regions. Open Polar is a service developed by UiT The Arctic University of Norway and the Norwegian Polar Institute.
Open Access
-
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America (EBSCO)
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America (BIPNA) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of Indigenous culture, history, and life in North America. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, education, the gaming industry, religion, folklore, economic development, acculturation, mythology, missions, tribal governments, and ethnohistory. BIPNA contains more than 350,000 citations for newspapers, magazines, academic journals, books, reviews, and trade publications from the United States and Canada with expanded content from Great Britain and Australia. Dates of coverage for content range from the sixteenth century to the present.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1989 - present
-
INFORMIT Indigenous Collection
With a broad range of international Indigenous research resources brought together, the Informit Indigenous Collection offers a variety of content on both historical and topical issues within Indigenous studies. Readily available, the multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary framework encompasses anthropology, community development, cultural studies, economics, education, health, history, human geography, law and land rights, literature, politics and policymaking, (post)colonial studies, psychology, race studies, sociology and visual and performing arts.The Informit Indigenous Collection gives access to emergent and ground breaking research within the global community offering scope for critical international engagement and debate. With material from Australia, Canada, Indonesia, Malaysia, New Zealand, North America and The Pacific which normally is not easily located in standard recourses, IIC is a platform for Indigenous worldviews.
This is a list of additional subject databases you may find useful:
Key Resources
-
PubMed
PubMed is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's (NLM®) database of biomedical citations and abstracts. It includes MEDLINE, which covers over 4,800 journals published in the United States and more than 70 other countries primarily from 1966 to the present.
Open Access
-
EMBASE
EMBASE is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1947-Current
-
CINAHL with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature - EBSCO)
CINAHL with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 500 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1981, CINAHL with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1981-Current
-
PsycINFO (American Psychological Association; APA - EBSCO)
PsycINFO is an abstracting and indexing database of more than 2000 journals (approximately 3.3 million records) devoted to peer-reviewed literature (journals, books and dissertations) in the behavioural sciences and mental health.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1887-Current
-
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database
ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Source is a collection of core nursing and related publications, this database, designed to meet the needs of researchers at health-care facilities as well as students enrolled in nursing programs at academic institutions. All the source publications are available in the ASCII full-text format. Nearly all of them also offer articles in the full-image and Text+Graphics formats.
NOTE: In certain instances ProQuest has decided to omit particular 'articles' from full-text access due to copyright restrictions or because the item has not met their criteria for being an 'article' (ie. too short, a letter, not attributed to an author, etc.).
-
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
Sociological Abstracts "covers the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behaviorial sciences."
-
Social Work Abstracts (EBSCO)
"Social Work Abstracts offers extensive coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1977. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), the database provides indexing and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems. Researchers seeking scholarly and professional perspectives on subjects such as therapy, education, human services, addictions, child and family welfare, mental health, civil and legal rights, and more will find Social Work Abstracts to be an indispensable resource."
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1977-Current
-
Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete (ProQuest)
Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access
-
America: History and Life (EBSCO)
"America: History & Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present ... The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews."--Database information page.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1964-Current
-
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO)
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest-quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 890 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 850 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1908-Current
See Additional Resources
Hide Additional Resources
Additional Resources
-
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of studies."
Permitted Use | eResources record | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | Full text: 1990 - present. I
-
Scopus
Scopus, a multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.
-
ProQuest Politics Collection
This collection allows users to easily conduct in-depth political science research, discovering more of the most relevant full-text and A&I records. It offers consolidated access for the bibliographic records contained in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service), and International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) and combines these with the full-text articles in ProQuest Political Science.
The collection also contains full-text dissertations, thousands of working papers, country reports, and government documents, offering an international perspective from leading and emerging academics, policy makers, and think tanks.
-
Anthropology Plus (EBSCO)
Anthropology Plus is an index of bibliographic materials combining Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute, from the UK. It provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present of all core periodicals in the field in addition to lesser-known journals.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | Late 19th Century-Current
-
ERIC (EBSCO)
ERIC is a "bibliographic database that contains education-related documents and journal articles." The EBSCO interface also provides some full text linking.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1966-Current
-
Women's Studies International (EBSCO)
Covers the core disciplines in Women's/Gender Studies, including history, sociology, political science, public policy, international relations, humanities, business and education. ALso relevant to family violence research,nursing and other disciplines. Contains Women's Studies Abstracts, Women's Studies Bibliography Database and Women's Studies Librarian.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1972-Current
-
Violence & Abuse Abstracts (EBSCO)
Violence & Abuse Abstracts publishes 1,200 abstracts annually plus and extended bibliography of recent literature on all types of interpersonal violence, including sexual, physical and psychological child abuse, domestic violence, rape, sexual assault and harassment, hate crimes, workplace violence, gang violence, elder abuse and neglect. Each abstract is categorized into one of four distinct sections: medical, legal, psychological and social.
-
Abstracts in Social Gerontology (EBSCO)
"Abstracts in Social Gerontology includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to social gerontology, including the psychology of aging, elder abuse, society and the elderly, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline."--About the Database page.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access
-
Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest)
Social Services Abstracts "provide bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development."
-
Google scholar
Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.
-
Business Source Ultimate (EBSCO)
Business Source Ultimate provides full text for more than 7,200 scholarly business journals and other sources. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. BSU provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | Fulltext: 1922 - present. Abstracts and indexing: 1984 - present
Linking Google Scholar with UNB Libraries' collection
