Leadership Studies Guides

The APA Handbook of Industrial and Organizational Psychology, a three volume set, offers an in-depth examination of the types of behavioral and structural issues that I/O psychologists study every day, from both a theoretical and applied perspective. It explores a natural progression, from how problems are diagnosed to how research is conducted to generate answers to those problems to how interventions are implemented and, finally, to how they are evaluated.

"Presents the most recent theories, research, terms, concepts, ideas, and histories on educational leadership and school administration as taught in preparation programs and practiced in schools and colleges today." - from the publisher

This encyclopedia is a scholarly, entertaining, and highly readable reference work. Editor O'Brien (Seattle Univ.) provides readers with a "gender lens" on society, while emphasizing both individual and global aspects of social life. Entries, written by gender scholars across the US and abroad, are organized in 14 categories: "Arts, Popular Culture, and Sports," "Associations and Organizations," "Biographies," "Body Image, Health and Illness," "Crime and Criminal Justice," "Economics, Environment, and Ecology," "Gender Identities and Roles," "International Development and Human Rights," "Politics, Public Policy, and Social Movements," "Race and Ethnicity," "Relationships, Marriage, and the Family," "Religion, Mythology, and Spirituality," "Science, Research, Education, and Technology," and "Sexuality and Reproduction." Individual entries are as diverse as "Superheroes," "Misogyny," "Buffy the Vampire Slayer," "Sperm Donors," "Feminist Bioethics," "Hip Hop," and "Chastity," and are presented with up-to-date analysis and discussion.

In their preface to this three-volume set, the three editors (all affiliated with the Jepson School of Leadership Studies, U. of Richmond) tell of eagerly jumping on the opportunity to create a reference collection that approaches the subject of leadership with a deep and broad view--eschewing the plethora of popular press treatments and seeking out relevant work beyond the expected social science analyses. Limiting the scope, selections are from Western traditions exclusively; they are reprinted (most, but not all, in facsimile) from books and journals and arranged in three volumes. The first focuses on traditional classics (Plato, Aristotle, Rousseau, Kant, Madison, Nietzsche...) in sections on moral purpose, ideal leadership, the nature of legitimate authority, the status of followers, and challenges to authority. The second volume contains modern classics, covering themes such as early approaches; trait, behavior, and contingency theories; charismatic leadership; power and cognitive approaches; organization culture; and gender. The third and heftiest volume is on new perspectives, with selections on various aspects of conceptualizing leadership, power and authority, ethics and values, social change, inclusion, and international leadership. Each volume is introduced. There is no subject index. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

The Jossey-Bass Handbook of Nonprofit Leadership and Management offers a comprehensive and in-depth description of the most effective leadership and management practices that can be applied throughout a nonprofit organization. This second edition of the best-selling handbook brings together the leading experts in the nonprofit field to discuss the current knowledge and trends of effective practice in a phases of nonprofit organization leadership and management. This thoroughly revised edition is based on the most up-to-date research, theory, and experience. It offers practical advice on every aspect of managing nonprofit organizations, including board development, strategic planning, lobbying, marketing, government contracting, volunteer programs, fund-raising, financial accounting, compensation and benefits programs, and risk management. In addition, this new edition examines emerging topics of interest such as strategic alliances and finding and keeping the right employees. Book jacket. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Comprehensive coverage of the design and use of qualitative methods in leadership research. 

This milestone Handbook brings together an impressive collection of international contributions on micro and macro research in organizational behavior. The SAGE Handbook of Organizational Behavior, Volume One provides students and scholars with an insightful and wide-reaching survey of the current state of the field and is an indispensible road map to the subject area. Volume Two focuses on macro-organizational behaviour, revealing ways in which the person and group affect the organization. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.