Article & Research Databases for Leadership Studies

Clegg (U. of Technology, Australia) and Bailey (George Washington U., US) define organization studies as "the examination of how individuals construct organizational structures, processes, and practices, and how these, in turn, shape social relations and create institutions that ultimately influence people." As such they have structured their four-volume encyclopedia such that it accounts for both the field's foundations in such disciplines as behavioral psychology and political science as well as more recent contributions from ergonomics, industrial sociology, industrial economics, the theory of bureaucracy, operations research, systems theory, feminism, poststructuralism, and elsewhere. They have also sought to provide more room for international perspectives than is perhaps common. Approximately 500 alphabetical, cross-referenced entries are included and can be broadly characterized as addressing approaches to management theory; approaches to organization theory; culture and symbolism; human resource management; innovation and creativity; international approaches; issues in organizational structures; issues in organization practices; knowledge and learning; leadership theory; organizational behavior; organizational cognition, change, and communication; organizational economics; organizational power, politics, and conflict; organizational relations; philosophy of organizations; research practice and methodology; social issues; teams; and technologies, although there is overlap between these broad topics. Entries typically include bibliographic guides to further reading. Annotation ©2007 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Thousands of newspapers, magazines, and other news sources from 100 countries in 60 different languages. News sources are searchable and current with up to a 60-day backfile at most -- access varies per news source.

July 2019 NOTE: Please visit PressReader directly to select the newspaper or magazine you wish to read. Title level access is not yet available through the catalogue or the eResources search.

Due to publisher restrictions online access to the Globe & Mail newspaper is only available while on-campus.

This milestone Handbook brings together an impressive collection of international contributions on micro and macro research in organizational behavior. The SAGE Handbook of Organizational Behavior, Volume One provides students and scholars with an insightful and wide-reaching survey of the current state of the field and is an indispensible road map to the subject area. Volume Two focuses on macro-organizational behaviour, revealing ways in which the person and group affect the organization. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.