UNB WorldCat is our catalogue for searching UNB Libraries' collections. It is even useful when you do not have a particular title in mind and are instead searching by topic or keyword(s) to see what is available. Note that UNB WorldCat also includes links to selected article records by default. After an initial search you can limit results to books, if desired.
Information on Curbside pickup service for books and other physical materials on Fredericton and Saint John campuses:
How to locate, access, and view eBooks in the UNB Libraries collection; includes downloading and installing the Adobe Digital Editions eBook reader:
When searching our catalogue and databases, you will discover that there are a variety of terms used to describe First Nations topics, e.g.
|| U.S. TERMS
| First Nations
|| Native Americans
You may also find other terms used such as Aboriginal Peoples, Indigenous Peoples, Native Peoples, First Nations, or Indians of North America (the Library of Congress Subject Heading used in our catalogue).
To include all possibilities, try using OR when searching for synonyms in the catalogue:
aboriginal OR indigenous OR native OR "first nations"
The * symbol is a truncation element, meaning that adding it to the stem of a word will retrieve all possible word variations. Phrase searching in UNB WorldCat requires quotation marks around phrases e.g., "first nations".
To add concepts to your search; simply use AND.
To discover materials pertinent to specific First Nations peoples or communities, try a keyword search using the specific name e.g., Kingsclear, "Eel Ground," Tobique, Elsipogtog, Metepenagiag (formerly known as "Red Bank"), Esgenoopetitj (formerly known as "Burnt Church"). Older material will most often be identified in the catalogue by the names in common use at the time of publication or library acquisition.
Likewise when searching the UNB WorldCat catalogue, please note variations in subject headings related to the time of publication and acquisition - e.g., Micmac may be the subject heading used rather than Mi'kmaq; Malecite rather than Maliseet or Wolastoqey; Abenaki rather than Wabanaki.
To browse the shelves for books in Native Studies, try the following Call Number ranges:
||Indians of North America - 2nd floor - Harriet Irving Library (HIL)
||Canadian History - 2nd floor HIL
||Anthropology - 2nd floor HIL
Bibliographies list publications that have been written about a particular subject, including books, journals, government publications, etc. Annotated bibliographies provide concise summaries of what has been published in a given area. Here are a few examples:
- Mi'kmaq Bibliography: A Guide to Secondary Sources
HIL-REF E99 .M6 A44 2000
- Guide to Micmac-Maliseet Holdings in Archives & Special Collections, Harriet Irving Library
HIL-REF E99 .M6 C59 1996
- Native Canadian Anthropology and History: A Selected Bibliography
HIL-REF E78 .C2 K85 1994
Additional bibliographies can be found using UNB WorldCat.