Religious Studies Guide Ask Us

Juergensmeyer and his fellow essayists have produced a volume whose purpose is to examine religious communities within a framework of global diversity. After Juergensmeyer's introductory essay considering religious communities as local but also transnational and in diasporas, the focus shifts to six cultural regions--Indic, Buddhist/Confucian, Jewish, Christian, Islamic, African--and local religious societies. Contributors treat these areas with essays that concisely analyze the religions historically and socially; provide information about the organization, size, leaders, and political concerns of the various communities; show how religions provide cultural identity for adherents; and discuss attitudes toward modernity. A final section is devoted to the ways that thinking about religion globally is crucial in an age of globalization (and anti-globalization). The contributors are established scholars who offer information and interpretations that shed light on the role of religions in current events and political dilemmas. This sourcebook will quickly become a standard reference work for scholars and general readers alike. Summing Up: Recommended. Upper-level undergraduates and above; general readers. General Readers; Upper-division Undergraduates; Graduate Students; Researchers/Faculty; Professionals/Practitioners. Reviewed by L. J. Alderink. From: Syndetics Solutions, Inc. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

An extraordinary survey, in four volumes, of the religious belief and practice in all 276 of the world's nations and territories.

With editing and writing by an international group of leading scholars in religion, comparative religion, history, anthropology, and other topics, the essays and entries in this three-volume reference are of high quality and are also accessible to the undergraduate student and general reader. Volume 1 contains 13 essays on the world's major religions, with discussion of their history, practice, and their largest offshoots. Volumes 2 and 3 contain 193 entries on individual countries, arranged alphabetically. Each country entry includes a general historical and geographical introduction followed by systematic discussion of the major religion or religions. Issues connected to religious tolerance are discussed in each entry as are those religions practiced by less than one quarter of the population. The entries conclude with a bibliography. A glossary and an overview of practices and populations are included in the first volume. Annotation #169;2006 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

How do the latest medical developments affect belief in faith's healing powers? Can artificial intelligence compare with human consciousness? Are genetic engineers interfering with nature's work? This reference deals with these questions and others, examining the issues and the history associated with the complex relationship between science and religion in more than 400 scholarly articles. Distributed by Syndetic

A multi-purpose reference work which should become an indispensable companion for anybody who comes into touch with Hinduism. Includes a dictionary of Sanskrit and vernacular terms; a glossary of terms and concepts; and a survey of the historical development of Hinduism.

From biographical discussion of Muhammad `Abduh (1849-1905), the Egyptian reformer and pioneer of Islamic modernism and nationalism, to the historical development of Zionism, the 281 alphabetical articles in this two-volume encyclopedia are presented by editor Wuthnow (sociology of religion and cultural sociology, Princeton U.) with the intent of showing interconnections between politics and religion and how they "have combined to shape public discourse, affect social attitudes, spark and sustain collective action, and influence policy, especially during the past two centuries." The entries, which range in length from a few hundred to eight thousand words, examine broad themes such as millennialism and pluralism, as well as specific religions, individuals, geographical regions, institutions, and events. Approximately half of the entries have been revised in this second edition, and 25 are either brand new or completely revised. In addition to the alphabetical entries a number of documentary sources are presented, including Martin Luther's Theses, Thomas Jefferson's thought on religious freedom, Federalist Paper no. 10 (on guarding against "factions"), the Balfour Declaration, the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, and the 1998 Irish Peace Accord. Also, reference materials are presented on religious affiliation in countries and regions of the world, constitutions of the world, and politics and religion on the Internet. Annotation #169;2007 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

A comprehensive reference on American religion and religious life, past and present. It covers many forms of religion such as Christianity, Hinduism, Judaism, Islam, Buddhism, African-American religion, alternative religious movements and sects, trends such as Scientology and the Jesus Movement, and Native American religions. Some 700 alphabetical entries address important people, denominations, organizations, controversial issues (e.g., abortion, evolution, homosexuality), events and themes, and movements. All entries include bibliographic citations and cross-references. With 120 bandw illustrations as well as synoptic and general indexes. Annotation copyright by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

The Oxford Handbook of Jewish Studies reflects the current state of scholarship in the field as analyzed by an international team of experts in the different and varied areas represented within contemporary Jewish Studies. Unlike recent attempts to encapsulate the current state of Jewish Studies, the Oxford Handbook is more than a mere compendium of agreed facts; rather, it is an exhaustive survey of current interests and directions in the field. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

This volume guides beginning students of rabbinic literature through the range of historical-interpretive and culture-critical issues that contemporary scholars use when studying rabbinic texts. The editors, themselves well-known interpreters of rabbinic literature, have gathered an international collection of scholars to support students' initial steps in confronting the enormous and complex rabbinic corpus. Unlike other introductions to rabbinic writings, the present volume includes approaches shaped by anthropology, gender studies, oral-traditional studies, classics, and folklore studies. Book jacket. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

The non-Muslim world's perceptions of Islam have often tended to be dominated by unrepresentative radical extremist movements. At the same time, many who have had a formal training in Islamic studies have tended to concentrate on the traditional. This book covers the full range of Islamic thought, and also provides coverage of contemporary trends.

Such an ambitious undertaking requires clear editorial direction, and this two-volume work was shaped with the aim of better integrating Buddhist studies into the broader areas of research on religion and culture in the West. To this end, contributions address themes such as conversion, evil, hermeneutics, pilgrimage, ritual, sacred space, and worship, as well as Buddhist perspectives on topics in contemporary humanities such as the body, colonialism, gender, modernity, nationalism, among others. Rather than discussing the particularities of the various Buddhist traditions, the entries are in-depth survey articles; they include references to the many traditions, but have a broad focus. Maps, a timeline of Buddhist history, and a synoptic outline of entries support the content. Editor Buswell is affiliated with the U. of California, Los Angeles; he heads an international roster of contributors. Annotation #160;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

"The HarperCollins Bible Dictionary, Revised Edition," is the most complete, up-to-date, and accessible guide for the study of the "Bible" available today. With more than 3,700 lively, informative and easy-to-use entries, this essential reference book provides all the information you need to fully understand the "Bible." Whether you're a member of the clergy or a student of Scripture, you'll find all the important names, places and subjects that make "Bible" study come to life. From Aaron to Zurishaddai, here are all the people, events and ideas of biblical times whether its the ages of the patriarchs, judges, kings and prophets or the world of the New Testament and the early church. Other significant topics include the Dead Sea Scrolls, the Nag Hammadi Library, the archaeology of the biblical world and the history of the English "Bible," as well as new sections on African-Americans and the "Bible," feminist interpretations of Scripture and a completely updated pronunciation guide. More than a quarter of the articles in this book are new or totally revised from the first edition of the "Bible Dictionary." Each of the 193 contributors to "The HarperCollins Bible Dictionary"; Protestant, Catholic and Jewish affiliates of the Society of Biblical Literature, is a leading authority in his or her field. Each entry presents the nonsectarian, consensus view of those most knowledgeable in the area. Filled with explanations of biblical beliefs and language and insights into the culture and customs of the people who lived in biblical times, "The HarperCollins Bible Dictionary" will help anyone interested in Scripture more fully appreciate the meaning and message of the "Bible." Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

'The New Dictionary of Theology' has been followed by 'The New Dictionary of Sacramental Worship, ' edited by Peter Fink, S.J., published by the Liturgical Press: Michael Glazier Books. 'The New Dictionary of Catholic Spirituality' is intended to be a companion volume to both of these, with a parallel aim and purpose, namely, a collaborative attempt in English to take stock of the remarkable developments in Church and world since the council, but with specific focus on the reform and renewal of Catholic spirituality that the council set in motion. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

This three-volume encyclopedia is designed to define the academic study of American Indian religious traditions and to provide a reference that is sensitive to the political and ethical concerns of Native communities. Unlike much previous scholarship, this work attempts to present Native spiritual traditions as the practitioners themselves understand them; contributors are both Native and non-Native. While the complex subject matter is presented in more depth than is typical of dictionary-type references, the entries provide only brief introductions to the subject material. Atypical features include the use of first person narratives, the citation of individual Native elders as authoritative reference sources, and the deliberate omission of subjects that are considered private by Native communities. Entries are listed alphabetically, and the index is located in the third volume. The set includes some maps and black #38; white photographic images. Annotation #169;2005 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

"This dictionary features stories of revered deities, sacred places, key events and epics, with many recurring themes and traditions. Entries address the key mythologies of the regions we now call India, China, Tibet, Central Asia, Southeast Asia, and Japan, and broad overviews of specific cultures and their mythic traditions round out the coverage."
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access

Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.

UNB has online access to the 2001 edition as well as owning print volumes of the earlier edition.

Smithsonian Global Sound provides over 35,000 tracks of music, natural sounds and spoken words, delivered via streaming audio. It includes performances of traditional musics from around the world, poetry readings, environmental sounds, and recordings by legendary folk, jazz and blues performers. Liner notes for many recordings are also available.

An authoritative online encyclopedia of philosophy. SEP is a dynamic reference work with in-depth articles written (and kept up-to-date) by experts in the field. All entries are peer-reviewed by a distinguished editorial board.

"Abridged from the acclaimed Oxford Dictionary of World Religions, this Concise version is written by an expert team of 80 international and multi-faith contributors. It contains entries on all the major and many minor religions, including Christianity, Judaism, Buddhism, Hinduism, Islam, Jainism, Shinto, Sikhism, and Taoism. Over 500 entries cover movements, sects, and cults, from Cargo Cults and the New Age movement to Rastafarians and Soka Gakkai. Over 1,000 entries explore the sacred writings of religions worldwide, and short biographies of founders, leaders, gurus, philosophers, mystics, and heretics are given. There are details of sacred sites, customs, religious practices, dogmas, beliefs, traditions, festivals and fasts, and artefacts such as altars, rosaries, icons, and torah ornaments. There are also entries on worldwide religious teachings on abortion, animals, birth control, war, homosexuality, and suicide."
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access

"This dictionary features broad-ranging entries on the history and doctrines of the major Buddhist schools, information on the spread of Buddhism in Asia and the West, and coverage of issues of contemporary concern such as human rights, abortion, euthanasia, ‘engaged Buddhism’, and the role of women in Buddhist teachings."
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access

A comprehensive and up-to-date descriptive and analytical reference on women and religion in North America.

Spanning 5th Century Greece to today, this volume describes the relationship of science and religion throughout history. From ancient cosmology to modern physics, every major intellectual movement and discipline is covered.

This International Handbook presents the research and professional practice of scholars who are daily engaged in the consideration of these dimensions in education. The result is a collection of essays which reflects the discipline, in all of its internationality, as it is today. Embedded within the chapters is also an agenda for the future, where the religious, moral and spiritual dimensions in education are proposed as an exciting and challenging way forward for educators at all levels in society.

"A succinct and contemporary view of the beliefs, practices, and history of Roman Catholics"

"This essential guide offers 325 articles that describe the people and places that appear in the New Testament and Old Testament of the Bible. From prophets, apostles, and groups (such as Hebrews and Angels) to kingdoms and countries, cities and mountains where Biblical events took place."
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access

"The unique feature of this dictionary is that it is organized by handshape rather than by alphabetical order. An American Sign Language learner can look up an unfamiliar sign by looking for the handshape rather than by looking up the word in an alphabetical English glossary. At the same time, an English speaker can look up a sign for a specific word by looking at the Index of English Glossaries located at the end of the dictionary. The introduction includes a history of sign language in the United States. Detailed instructions explain the organization of the handshape sections and the ordering of signs. The illustrations are clear and are described in terms of configuration, location, movement, orientation, and nonmanual markers".--"Outstanding Reference Sources: the 1999 Selection of New Titles", American Libraries, May 1999. Comp. by the Reference Sources Committee, RUSA, ALA. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

In 78 newly commissioned essays, this outstanding volume provides a comprehensive and authoritative guide to contemporary philosophy of religion. Written by many of today's leading figures in the field, the volume surveys philosophical thought about religion in Western history, and important currents in twentieth-century philosophy of religion. Theism is treated systematically in discussions of religius language, the concept of God, arguments for and against theistic belief, and its relations to other aspects of culture, such as science and values. A final section on new directions in philosophy of religion explores feminism, religious pluralism, and comparative philosophy of religion. Taken together, the volume is an unparalleled work of reference, and will stand for many years to come as the standard reference resource for students and specialists alike.

The UNdata database (formerly the United Nations Common Database (UNCDB)) provides access to selected statistical sources from a wide range of UN organizations including the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO), the International Labour Organization (ILO), UNICEF, UNESCO, and the World Health Organization (WHO). In addition, the UNCDB features databases from other international organizations such as the International Monetary Fund (IMF), the World Bank, the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) and the Inter-Parliamentary Union.

This outstanding three-volume set seeks to answer basic questions about modern warfare, conflict, violence, and peace, but also covers current topics such as police brutality, aggression in sports, television violence, and animal aggression. The greatest value of this multivolume work is its interdisciplinary coverage. The set is broken down into 15 subject areas covering approximately 200 different issues. Each article is about 9,000 words, including a definition of the subject, illustrations, glossaries, and bibliographies. It is an excellent source written by scholars from around the world.

Please note: CBCA Reference is now searchable as part of the larger CBCA Complete collection. Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
NOTE: In certain instances ProQuest has decided to omit particular 'articles' from full-text access due to copyright restrictions or because the item has not met their criteria for being an 'article' (ie. too short, a letter, not attributed to an author, etc.).
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access

Scopus, a multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.

"eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level."--eHRAF World Cultures Home Page. Formerly known as: eHRAF Collection of Ethnography.

"Periodicals Archive Online is a major online periodical archive that makes the backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the full text of a growing number of digitized periodicals that have been indexed in its sister database, Periodicals Index Online."--About page.

JSTOR provides access to back issues of a variety of scholarly journals. UNB Libraries currently subscribes to the Arts & Sciences (I through X) collections, along with the Life Sciences and Ireland collections.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access

The PAIS International database contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. Also included in PAIS are the PAIS Archive and ProQuest Deep Indexing: Public Administration and Policy databases.

Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide, produced by NISC, indexes published literature (journals, monographs, proceedings of conferences and symposia, government reports, grey literature, books, theses, and dissertations) on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. Major topic areas include studies of individual species, habitat types, hunting, economics, wildlife behavior, management techniques, diseases, ecotourism, and zoology.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1935 and earlier to present

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides "citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy."

Covers the core disciplines in Women's/Gender Studies, including history, sociology, political science, public policy, international relations, humanities, business and education. ALso relevant to family violence research,nursing and other disciplines. Contains Women's Studies Abstracts, Women's Studies Bibliography Database and Women's Studies Librarian.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1972-Current