POLS*3325 Guide Ask Us

Use the databases below to search for articles on your research topic. If a database does not provide an electronic copy of an article you want, click on the Check for fulltext link beside the article record to see if another database provides a copy. 

If an article you want is not available at UNB either online or in print, fill out a Document Delivery request form and the library will try to get a copy for you as quickly as possible (usually between 2-7 days).

• ProQuest Politics Collection
  This collection allows users to easily conduct in-depth political science research, discovering more of the most relevant full-text and A&I records. It offers consolidated access for the bibliographic records contained in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service), and International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) and combines these with the full-text articles in ProQuest Political Science.
  
  The collection also contains full-text dissertations, thousands of working papers, country reports, and government documents, offering an international perspective from leading and emerging academics, policy makers, and think tanks.
• Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest)
  Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides "citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy."
• Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) International and Archive (ProQuest)
  The PAIS International database contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. Also included in PAIS are the PAIS Archive and ProQuest Deep Indexing: Public Administration and Policy databases.
• Women's Studies International (EBSCO)
  Covers the core disciplines in Women's/Gender Studies, including history, sociology, political science, public policy, international relations, humanities, business and education. ALso relevant to family violence research,nursing and other disciplines. Contains Women's Studies Abstracts, Women's Studies Bibliography Database and Women's Studies Librarian.
  Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1972-Current
• Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
  Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of studies."
  Permitted Use | eResources record | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | Full text: 1990 - present. I

• Concise Oxford Dictionary of Politics, The (3 ed.)
  "Written by a team of leading political scientists, sociologists, philosophers, and political economists, this is the most authoritative and up-to-date dictionary of politics available. Ranging from John Adams and the Young Hegelians to Additional Member System and zero-sum game, this comprehensive and entertaining work offers international coverage of major political institutions, thinkers, and concepts. All significant political thinkers and designers of political institutions in the West are included, and special attention is give to Muslim and Chinese political thought. There are many entries on new and thriving branches of the subject, such as international political economy, voting theory, and feminism. The dictionary also gives clear and precise definitions of technical terms such as Condorcet winner, Droop quota, and ultra vires. "
  Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access
• Encyclopedia of women and gender : sex similarities and differences and the impact of society on gender
  see also [HIL-REF HQ1115 .E43 2001 vols. 1-2]

  Intended as a wide-ranging, yet in-depth resource for those seeking overviews of issues connected with women, this two-volume reference comprises about 100 alphabetically arranged articles; its emphasis on psychological aspects is not entirely clear from the title. The article topics were selected to represent scholarly issues--in the many disciplines that deal with gender issues--as well as areas of public interest and concern; thus, the following sampling of topics only partially reflects the scope: abortion and its health effects, child care, the feminist movement, hate crimes, imprisonment in the United States, reproductive technologies, sport and athletics, test bias, and women in non-traditional work fields. The articles are accessible enough to be useful to students, yet meaty enough for more sophisticated readers who want a starting point for further research; each article begins with an outline and a glossary and ends with a reading list. Although the articles are cross-referenced, and the indexing is thorough, a thematic grouping of the article topics would have helped give shape to the contents. Editor Worrell is professor emerita (psychology, U. of Kentucky); the contributors are affiliated with institutions all over the US. Annotation c. Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

• Routledge international encyclopedia of women : global women's issues and knowledge
  see also [HIL-REF HQ1115 .R69 2000 vols. 1-4]

  In over 900 alphabetically-organized entries, contributed by some of the world's most important Women's Studies scholars, this set covers all of the major areas: from Arts and Literature and Health and Sexuality to Spirituality and Religion.

• A Dictionary of Contemporary World History (6 ed.)
  "This dictionary provides in-depth coverage of the major historical figures and events from 1900 to the present day. Extensive surveys of every country are included with detailed analytical entries covering political and military leaders, political parties, international organizations, and acts of war."
  Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access
• A Dictionary of Political Biography (2nd ed.)
  "This dictionary covers all the major figures in world politics of the twentieth century. Authoritative and wide-ranging, it describes and assesses the lives of more than 1000 men and women who have shaped political events across the world."
  Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access
• Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online
  Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."
• Oxford Reference
  Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published.Covers the humanities and social sciences.
  Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access
• United Nations treaty collection / Collection des traités des Nations Unies
  Under Article 102 of the Charter of the United Nations, "Every treaty and every international agreement entered into by any Member of the United Nations after the present Charter comes into force shall as soon as possible be registered with the Secretariat and published by it".
• Undata
  The UNdata database (formerly the United Nations Common Database (UNCDB)) provides access to selected statistical sources from a wide range of UN organizations including the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO), the International Labour Organization (ILO), UNICEF, UNESCO, and the World Health Organization (WHO). In addition, the UNCDB features databases from other international organizations such as the International Monetary Fund (IMF), the World Bank, the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) and the Inter-Parliamentary Union.
• Ulrichsweb : global serials directory
  Bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive and authoritative information on serials published around the world.