The electronic resources listed below include selected e-reference tools (dictionaries, encyclopaedias, handbooks, guides, and standards) for the field of engineering.
A full text collection from McGraw-Hill providing access to hundreds of engineering book titles, covering 12 major areas of engineering, and more than 200 topics.
eBook Collection title list:
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access
- CRCnetBASE - incorporated into Taylor and Francis Group eBooks
The IEEE Guide to Writing in the Engineering and Technical Fields
This book introduces students and practicing engineers to all the components of writing in the workplace. It teaches readers how considerations of audience and purpose govern the structure of their documents within particular work settings. The IEEE Guide to Writing in the Engineering and Technical Fields is broken up into two sections: "Writing in Engineering Organizations" and "What Can You Do With Writing?" The first section helps readers approach their writing in a logical and persuasive way as well as analyze their purpose for writing. The second section demonstrates how to distinguish rhetorical situations and the generic forms to inform, train, persuade, and collaborate.
CSA Standards and Codes Online (Canadian Standards Association)
The Canadian Standards Association is a not-for-profit standards development, membership-based association, in business, industry, government and consumers. CSA is the largest standards development organization (SDO) in Canada and is accredited in Canada and the U.S. to develop standards in a wide range of subject areas.
UNB Libraries’ subscribes to the Complete CSA Collection package which includes over 3,000 current and historical (including IT and Telecommunications standards) and standard related documents such as handbooks, guidelines and commentaries.
ASTM compass : your portal for standards, testing, learning, & more
ASTM Compass - International Standards & Digital Library includes all 13,000 active ASTM standards (equivalent to the printed 82 volumes), the historical standards back to 1998, as well as the withdrawn and redlined version comparisons. In addition, it includes full-text access to Manuals, Monographs, Data Series, STPs (Special Technical Publications) and almost a dozen Journals dating back to the 1930s.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access
McGraw-Hill dictionary of engineering
Derived from the content of the respected McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, Sixth Edition, each title provides thousands of definitions of words and phrases encountered in a specific discipline.
The Computer Engineering Handbook
After nearly six years as the field's leading reference, the second edition of this award-winning handbook reemerges with completely updated content and a brand new format. The Computer Engineering Handbook, Second Edition is now offered as a set of two carefully focused books that together encompass all aspects of the field. In addition to complete updates throughout the book to reflect the latest issues in low-power design, embedded processors, and new standards, this edition includes a new section on computer memory and storage as well as several new chapters on such topics as semiconductor memory circuits, stream and wireless processors, and nonvolatile memory technologies and applications.
Standard handbook for civil engineers
A revision of the classic reference covering all important principles and techniques needed by practicing civil engineers.
Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers
This fully revised, industry-standard resource offers practical details on every aspect of electric power engineering. The book contains in-depth discussions from more than 100 internationally recognized experts. Generation, transmission, distribution, operation, system protection, and switchgear are thoroughly explained. Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, Seventeenth Edition, features brand-new sections on measurement and instrumentation; interconnected power grids; smart grids and microgrids; wind, solar, and photovoltaic power generation; electric machines and transformers; power system analysis, operations, stability, and protection; and the electricity market.
Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook
The gold standard for chemical engineering information—from the fundamentals to the state of the art. This industry-standard resource, first published in 1934, has equipped generations of engineers and chemists with vital information, data, and insights. Thoroughly revised to reflect the latest technological advances and processes, Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook, Ninth Edition, is indispensable for unsurpassed coverage of every aspect of chemical engineering.
Electrical Engineer’s Portable Handbook
Aimed at electrical engineers and technicians working in building power systems, the relentlessly practical Handbook succeeded as an in the field working tool. This new edition is necessitated by the new 2002 version of the National Electrical Code (NEC). This code changes render much of the existing material obsolete, so over half the chapters require heavy rewrites to stay current.
CRC Handbook of Mechanical Engineering
This second edition of The CRC Handbook of Mechanical Engineering covers every important aspect of the subject in one single volume. It provides a reference for the practicing engineer in industry, government, and academia, with relevant background and up-to-date information on the most important topics of modern mechanical engineering. These topics include modern manufacturing and design, robotics, computer engineering, environmental engineering, economics and project management, patent law, bioengineering, and communication and information systems. The final chapter and appendix provide information regarding physical properties and mathematical and computational methods.
Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers
The 100th anniversary edition of the cornerstone text of mechanical engineering—fully revised to focus on the core subjects critical to the discipline.
This 100th anniversary edition has been extensively updated to deliver current, authoritative coverage of the topics most critical to today's mechanical engineer. Featuring contributions from more than 160 global experts, Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Twelfth Edition, offers instant access to a wealth of practical information on every essential aspect of mechanical engineering. It provides clear, concise answers to thousands of mechanical engineering questions. You get accurate data and calculations along with easy-to-understand explanations of current principles, standards, and practices and important codes. All-new sections cover micro- and nano-engineering, robotic vision, alternative energy production, biological materials, biomechanics, composite materials, engineering ethics, and much more.
Open Access e-Resources: Statistics, Data, Data Sets
- Physical Reference Data, Physical Measurement Laboratory, NIST
- Table of Physical and Chemical Constants, Kaye & Laby
- National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics, National Science Foundation
- NIST/SEMATECH e-Handbook of Statistical Methods
- DOE Data Explorer for Energy and Science Data, US Department of Energy
- NIOSH Data and Statistics Gateway, National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH), CDC, US
- Data and Products, Earthquake Hazards Program, USGS
- Earthquake Data and Information, NOAA