Film Studies Guide Ask Us

Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of studies."
Permitted Use | eResources record | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | Full text: 1990 - present. I

"CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association), and Mass media articles index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University) along with numerous other journals..."--About the database.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1915-Current

Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.

"Searchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. It also offers full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. Includes citations for dissertations and theses from around the world, ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts; master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Designated as an official offsite repository for the U.S. Library of Congress, PQDT Global offers comprehensive historic and ongoing coverage for North American works and significant and growing international coverage from a multiyear program of expanding partnerships with international universities and national associations."

All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.

It is also possible to search within an interface exclusive to Dissertations & Theses @ University of New Brunswick.

For UNB theses submitted after 2012, please consult UNB’s institutional repository, UNB Scholar, or the library catalogue, UNBWorldCat.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1743-Current

MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literature, folklore, film, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included. Dating back to 1925, the database contains more than 2.7 million citations, over 6,000 journals and series, 1,200 book publishers and over 372,000 subject names and terms and adds over 66,000 records annually (May 2018).

Coverage is international and includes titles and full-text links from online publishers including JSTOR, Project MUSE, Wiley-Blackwell and Taylor & Francis.

The MLA Directory of Periodicals contains all information available on the journals and series on the bibliography's Master List of Periodicals.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1925-Current

JSTOR provides access to back issues of a variety of scholarly journals. UNB Libraries currently subscribes to the Arts & Sciences (I through X) collections, along with the Life Sciences and Ireland collections.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access

"SAGE Publications is an independent international publisher of journals, books, and electronic media. Since its inception in 1965, SAGE Publications has been a leader in publishing high-caliber titles for academic researchers in the social sciences."

"Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others." UNB subscribes to almost 400 eJournals, and provides access to select Open Access eBooks.

The Directory of Open Access Journals provides access to over 1300 open access journals in an attempt "to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content."
Access controls to fulltext varies by title and some may require personal registration.

Open Access

Please note: CBCA Reference is now searchable as part of the larger CBCA Complete collection. Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
NOTE: In certain instances ProQuest has decided to omit particular 'articles' from full-text access due to copyright restrictions or because the item has not met their criteria for being an 'article' (ie. too short, a letter, not attributed to an author, etc.).
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access

Those lucky few amongst us who can get a break from wrestling with the Hairy Xbnsiks of Arestus IV will find over 1,400 entries in the primary literature section of this new edition, listed by author. They will also find an annotated bibliography of criticism and other secondary literature of over 300 pages, including entries for history, online resources, author studies, teaching resources, and examples of SF in popular media. Contributors examine SF from 1516 to 2004 and list awards, series, and other SF-related information for librarians and other non-specialist researchers. Editor Barron includes a very nice set of indices; that listing SF themes is particularly helpful for budding authors seeking to write or research such issues as absurdism, aliens, linguistics, women, or perhaps better ways to deal with Hairy Xbnsiks of Arestus IV without all that wrestling. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Working from the premise that visual media define history for many Americans, essays by scholars of film history, American studies, and communications explore how major eras, institutions, peoples, wars, leaders, social groups, and myths of our national culture have been portrayed on film. Many of the essays compare and contrast the interpretations of filmmakers with those of professional historians; they consider questions such as the impact of contemporary issues on the film under discussion, how the films deviate from their sources, and how the important films on a subject convey meaning and theme. A handsome and hefty volume illustrated with b #38;w stills. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

This Dictionary lays out the major theoretical approaches deployed in the study of the moving image as well as defining key theoretical terms. Contextual entries range from 500 to 3,000 words.

  

Film noir, its directors, actors, histories, and themes, are presented for the student, scholar, and film fan.

Uncover The hidden reels of cinema that Hollywood won't acknowledge, The media won't examine, and few moviegoers have even heard about: The bizarre world of underground movies. Unlike most ``independent'' films, undergrounds roll far from traditional filmmaking circles. With micro-budgets that couldn't cover a day's catering on typical Hollywood films, these productions challenge audiences with bold content and audacious visuals that make cineplex fare taste like stale popcorn. Never Coming to a Theater Near You covers over 1,000 movies. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Aimed at general readers, this text considers the relationship between Hollywood and history from the invention of moving pictures to the present. Niemi (American studies, St. Michael's College, Vermont) examines more than 350 movies that are based on actual events and analyzes how the film treatment of topics such as baseball, the Civil War, and punk rock have changed over time to reflect prevalent cultural attitudes. Coverage includes both docudramas and documentaries. Annotation #169;2006 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

In 26 extended articles, Downing (mass communications and media arts, U. of Illinois, Carbondale), his co-editors and international cast of contributors provide critical analyses and describe their research in a variety of aspects of mass media, including its technology, uses, theories, and cultural issues. Their topics include the human side of mass media, such as its ethics, globalization, approaches, and variants, such as alternate media. They describe audiences, users and effects, including the psychology of media use and a history of media studies. They show how economy, politics and public opinion shape even the freest of media. They also describe how narrative, sound, advertising, and the ways of getting the show on the road matter, how Hollywood and Bollywood have changed and create change, and the effects of sex and violence. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

This reference contains some 700 entries identifying Canadians who have made a contribution to the world of cinema and important, award- winning Canadian films. A chronology of Canadian film and television and a list of winners of Canadian film awards are included. c. Book News Inc.

Comprising 90 smart, useful essays written by accomplished film historians and critics, this sprawling, richly illustrated collection covers myriad subjects.