When researching a new topic it is often necessary to get an overview, explanations of unfamiliar terms, or brief factual information. The print and electronic resources listed below include selected reference materials (dictionaries, encyclopaedias, handbooks, guides, and standards) for the field of Film. To find additional reference materials, check Quest (the library catalogue) or our Reference Materials database.
Key Resources
-
Anatomy of wonder : a critical guide to science fiction
[HIL-REF PN3433.8 .A52 2004]
Those lucky few amongst us who can get a break from wrestling with the Hairy Xbnsiks of Arestus IV will find over 1,400 entries in the primary literature section of this new edition, listed by author. They will also find an annotated bibliography of criticism and other secondary literature of over 300 pages, including entries for history, online resources, author studies, teaching resources, and examples of SF in popular media. Contributors examine SF from 1516 to 2004 and list awards, series, and other SF-related information for librarians and other non-specialist researchers. Editor Barron includes a very nice set of indices; that listing SF themes is particularly helpful for budding authors seeking to write or research such issues as absurdism, aliens, linguistics, women, or perhaps better ways to deal with Hairy Xbnsiks of Arestus IV without all that wrestling. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
-
A century of Canadian cinema : Gerald Pratley's feature film guide, 1900 to the present
[HIL-REF PN1993.5 .C3 P687 2003]
-
Columbia Companion to American History on Film, The
see also [HIL-REF PN1995.9 .U64 C65 2003]Working from the premise that visual media define history for many Americans, essays by scholars of film history, American studies, and communications explore how major eras, institutions, peoples, wars, leaders, social groups, and myths of our national culture have been portrayed on film. Many of the essays compare and contrast the interpretations of filmmakers with those of professional historians; they consider questions such as the impact of contemporary issues on the film under discussion, how the films deviate from their sources, and how the important films on a subject convey meaning and theme. A handsome and hefty volume illustrated with b #38;w stills. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
-
Cinema Studies: The Key Concepts
Covering a range of key genres, movements, theories and production terms, this third edition includes a bibliography, and topical entries such as: female masquerade, silent cinema, exploitation cinema, art direction, national cinema, and political cinema.
-
Critical dictionary of film and television theory
see also [HIL-REF PN1993.45 .C75 2001]This Dictionary lays out the major theoretical approaches deployed in the study of the moving image as well as defining key theoretical terms. Contextual entries range from 500 to 3,000 words.
-
Dictionnaire du Cinema Quebecois, Le
[HIL-REF PN1993.45 .D42 2006 ]
-
Encyclopedia of film noir
[HIL-REF PN1995.9 .F54 M39 2007]
Film noir, its directors, actors, histories, and themes, are presented for the student, scholar, and film fan.
-
The Encyclopedia of Underground Movies: Films from the Fringes of Cinema,
[HIL-REF PN1995.9 .E96 H35 2004]
Uncover The hidden reels of cinema that Hollywood won't acknowledge, The media won't examine, and few moviegoers have even heard about: The bizarre world of underground movies. Unlike most ``independent'' films, undergrounds roll far from traditional filmmaking circles. With micro-budgets that couldn't cover a day's catering on typical Hollywood films, these productions challenge audiences with bold content and audacious visuals that make cineplex fare taste like stale popcorn. Never Coming to a Theater Near You covers over 1,000 movies. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
-
The Film Companion: A Comprehensive Guide to more than 650 Canadian Films and Filmmakers
[HIL-REF PN1993.5 .C2 M62]
-
History in the Media: Film and Television
[HIL-REF PN1995.9 .H5 N54 2006]
Aimed at general readers, this text considers the relationship between Hollywood and history from the invention of moving pictures to the present. Niemi (American studies, St. Michael's College, Vermont) examines more than 350 movies that are based on actual events and analyzes how the film treatment of topics such as baseball, the Civil War, and punk rock have changed over time to reflect prevalent cultural attitudes. Coverage includes both docudramas and documentaries. Annotation #169;2006 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
-
The SAGE Handbook of Media Studies
[HIL-REF P90 .S18 2004]
In 26 extended articles, Downing (mass communications and media arts, U. of Illinois, Carbondale), his co-editors and international cast of contributors provide critical analyses and describe their research in a variety of aspects of mass media, including its technology, uses, theories, and cultural issues. Their topics include the human side of mass media, such as its ethics, globalization, approaches, and variants, such as alternate media. They describe audiences, users and effects, including the psychology of media use and a history of media studies. They show how economy, politics and public opinion shape even the freest of media. They also describe how narrative, sound, advertising, and the ways of getting the show on the road matter, how Hollywood and Bollywood have changed and create change, and the effects of sex and violence. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
-
Take One's Essential Guide to Canadian Film
[HIL-REF PN1993.5 .C2 T29 2001]
This reference contains some 700 entries identifying Canadians who have made a contribution to the world of cinema and important, award- winning Canadian films. A chronology of Canadian film and television and a list of winners of Canadian film awards are included. c. Book News Inc.
Additional Resources
-
Films on Demand
UNB Libraries subscribes to the Master Academic Collection, along with access to FMG Archival Films & Newsreels Collection and the Entertainment Collection. Includes 42,000+ full-length videos and over 323,000 video segments licensed for use in Canada, covering a broad range of subjects including business, social sciences, education, health and medicine, humanities, sciences, and guidance, and including archival films and newsreels.UNB subscribed CollectionsThe Master Academic Collection (over 35,000 titles)The FM Archival Films & Newsreels (5,000+ titles)Entertainment Collection (500+ titles)
-
Theatre in video
Contains performances of the world's leading plays and film documentaries on the subject of theater in streaming video. Some plays presented in multiple productions exemplifying various interpretations of the text, and technical and cultural differences among the presentations. Stage work of directors and actors are cross-searchable and available for side-by-side comparison. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances, provide illustration of the development of texts and the productions.
eBook Collection title lists:
