Children's Literature Guide Ask Us

Additional Resources

• A Critical Handbook of Children's Literature [HIL-REF PN1009 .A1 L84 2007]

  Contains chapters which describe and define the key elements that comprise children's literature such as plot, theme, and character.

• Children's books, awards & prizes : includes prizes and awards for young adult books [HIL-REF PN1009 .A1 C418 1996]

  Covers 213 awards and prizes in four sections: United States awards selected by adults; United States awards selected by young readers; Australian, Canadian, New Zealand, and United Kingdom awards; and selected international and multinational awards. Entries contain the author, illustrator, title, and publisher of recipients from the time the award or prize was initiated through 1996. Classified lists of the awards appear at the front of the book and are followed with lists by award type. Annotation copyrighted by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

• Children's literature, a guide to the criticism [HIL-REF PN1009 .A1 H46]

  Covering works as diverse as a historical survey of the alphabet book and an analysis of the young adult novels of Judy Blume, this annotated bibliography draws together significant articles, books, and disseratations of children's literature criticism. Compiled from a wide variety of popular and scholarly sources, Children's Literature provides a thorough and easy-to-use resource to this burgeoning field of study. Children's Literature categorizes and assesses the critical response to fiction, drama, poetry, and some nonfiction written for children between the ages of one and sixteen.
  

• Children's literature [HIL-REF PR 990 .H85 2001]

  An historical examination of the last two centuries of children's literature in English is followed by sections on 38 writers (from Louisa May Alcott and Lewis Carroll to J.K. Rowling); 32 major works or series; and 13 topics (including fantasy, colonialism, and literacy). The historical section is historicist--Hunt (English, Cardiff U.) is concerned with children's literature against the backdrop of its own time, as well as the times of subsequent audiences. Yet, Hunt remarks, children's literature often has a long shelf life which "can be seen as the result of deliberate acts of commercial conservatism." Entries on writers are critico- literary, not biographical; and entries on works are short, addressing some combination of critical history, literary history, and Hunt's own commentary. The many and short treatments make this a reference to consult on the way to more in-depth study. A many-faceted chronology is a valuable feature. Annotation copyrighted by Book News Inc., Portland, OR Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

• International companion encyclopedia of children's literature [HIL-REF PN1008.5 .I57 1996]

  Eighty-six essays from around the world discuss various aspects of children's literature. Divided into five parts, they examine theory and critical approaches (definition, history, ideology, linguistics, styles); types and genres (from fairy tales and religious texts to science fiction and children's magazines); the context of children's literature (design, publishing, reviewing, censorship, prizes, translations, alternative media, libraries); applications (literacy, teaching, librarianship, bibliotherapy, publishing); and the development of children's literature in countries other than the US. Annotation copyright by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

• Something about the author. Autobiography series [HIL-REF PN497 .S66 vols. 1-6]
• The Cambridge guide to children's books in English [HIL-REF PR990 .C36 2001]

  Alphabetised reference work on children's books from King Alfred to J. K. Rowling.

• Oxford Companion to Children's Literature, The (2 ed.)
  The last thirty years have witnessed one of the most fertile periods in the history of children's books: the flowering of imaginative illustration and writing, the Harry Potter phenomenon, the rise of young adult and crossover fiction, and books that tackle extraordinarily difficult subjects. The Oxford Companion to Children's Literature provides an indispensable and fascinating reference guide to the world of children's literature. Its 3,500 entries cover every genre from fairy tales to chapbooks; school stories to science fiction; comics to children's hymns. Originally published in 1983, the Companion has been comprehensively revised and updated by Daniel Hahn. Over 900 new entries bring the book right up to date. A whole generation of new authors and illustrators are showcased, with books like Dogger, The Hunger Games, and Twilight making their first appearance. There are articles on developments such as manga, fan fiction, and non-print publishing, and there is additional information on prizes and prizewinners. This accessible A to Z is the first place to look for information about the authors, illustrators, printers, publishers, educationalists, and others who have influenced the development of children's literature, as well as the stories and characters at their centre. Written both to entertain and to instruct, the highly acclaimed Oxford Companion to Children's Literature is a reference work that no one interested in the world of children's books should be without.
  Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access
• Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature, The
  Children's literature first became a distinct body of writing and publishing in the eighteenth century. Until the seventeenth century, children were usually considered as smaller versions of adults. As the notion of "childhood" as a distinct part of life emerged, a distinct body of literature emerged as well, designed both to entertain and edify this new class of readers. But for much of its history, books written for children were not seen as worthy of scholarly attention. Recently this has changed with everyone from literary critics, to psychologists, to anthropologists, to historians studying this incredibly rich outpouring. The Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature is the first multi-volume set to document and interpret the books read by children in the English-speaking world. It includes brief biographies of every major author and illustrator, and features essays on all genres of children's literature, individual works, and prominent trends and themes, as well as general essays on the traditions of children's literature in many country in the world.
  Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access