International Development Studies Guides
Top Article & Research Databases
Use article databases to find articles, reviews, book chapters, etc.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest)
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides "citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy."
Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) International and Archive (ProQuest)
The PAIS International database contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. Also included in PAIS are the PAIS Archive and ProQuest Deep Indexing: Public Administration and Policy databases.
Produced by the American Economic Association, EconLit is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts more than 700 international economic journals back to 1969. The database contains over one million records and is considered the foremost source for journal articles, books, dissertations. book reviews, and working papers in the field of Economics.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1969-Current
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
Sociological Abstracts "covers the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behaviorial sciences."
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
OECD iLibrary - Books, Papers and Statistics
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD's analysis and data. OECD Books and Papers covers all OECD’s published (ISBN/ISSN) monographs, journals, statistical annuals and periodicals available online in 17 subject themes. The main texts are accessed as PDFs, whilst related tables are in XLS, PDF or HTML.OECD Statistics provides online access to all OECD’s published data, irrespective of format. It includes the dynamic interactive databases, as well as the statistical annuals and periodicals in PDF format, and their related tables in XLS, PDF and HTML.OECD iLibrary Content items (April 2020):• 15 620 ebook titles• 81 600 chapters• 242 220 tables and graphs• 2 305 articles• 6 360 multilingual summaries• 6 620 working papers• 7 billion data points across 44 databases.
IEA Statistical Databases are not included in this package.
UN iLibrary (United Nations)
The United Nations iLibrary is the comprehensive global search, discovery, and viewing source for digital content created by the United Nations. Themes include Agriculture Rural Development and Forestry, Children and Youth, Democracy and Governance, Disarmament, Drugs, Crime and Terrorism, Economic and Social Development, Environment and Climate Change, Human Rights and Refugees, Human Settlements and Urban Issues, International Law and Justice, International Trade and Finance, Migration, Natural Resources, Water and Energy, Peacekeeping and Security, Population and Demography, Public Health, Transportation and Public Safety, United Nations, and Women and Gender Issues.
Annual Reviews publishes "authoritative, analytic reviews in 29 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences."
(Showing 8 of 16 resources | View All Results)
Top Reference Materials
Find dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and other materials
Encyclopedia of international development
[HIL-REF HD82 .E547 2005]
"The Encyclopedia of International Development provides definitions and discussions of the key concepts, controversies, and actors associated with international development for a readership of development workers, teachers and students. With 600 entries ranging in length from shorter factual studies to more in-depth essays, a comprehensive system of cross references and a full index, it is the most definitive guide to international development yet published." "This encyclopedia will provide crucial information for universities, students and professional organizations involved with international development, or those interested in related topics such as international studies or other studies of social and economic change today."--BOOK JACKET. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
The international development dictionary
[HIL-REF HF1359 .F79 1991]
The Europa world year book
[HIL-REFDSK JN1 .E85 ]
The most current edition (2016) is available from the Research Help Desk in the Harriet Irving Library. HIL-REFDSK
Second latest edition is shelved in HIL-REF.
Older editions (30th ed. 1989 - third latest edition) are shelved in HIL-STACKS.
The Cambridge encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean
[HIL-REF F1406 .C36 1992]
Discusses the region's past and present culture, society, history, economics and politics.
Dictionary of Third World terms
[HIL-REF HC59.7 .H274 1992]
Many terms concerned with Third World issues have uncertain, ambiguous or varying definitions. This book seeks to define terms as they are understood in the Third World and provides their historical context. The entries range from concise definitions to extended essays.
Dictionary of development : Third World economy, environment, society
[HIL-REF HC59.7 .D513 1990]
Global links : a guide to key people and institutions worldwide
[HIL-REF JF20 .G58 1998]
Developed to serve as a vital link in the global chain of information, this convenient directory contains the most comprehensive list of names, addresses, and telephone numbers of government, judicial, and legislative leaders worldwide. Contact information is provided for nearly 10,000 key people in 191 countries. Web sites are also included in a separate index for quick reference. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Global development : a reference handbook
[HIL-REF HC59.7 .S283 1995]
Includes a comprehensive overview of ideas and issues in global development, biographical sketches of people working in their own countries and internationally, a list of governmental and private development organizations, facts and figures organized by topic, along with a detailed chronology mapping the milestones of global development since WWII. Annotation copyright by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics is the key scholarly reference tool for economics. It offers access to over 3,000 articles written by leading figures in the field and is updated on a continual basis.
(Showing 10 of 21 resources | View All Results)