Reference Materials for International Development Studies

Many terms concerned with Third World issues have uncertain, ambiguous or varying definitions. This book seeks to define terms as they are understood in the Third World and provides their historical context. The entries range from concise definitions to extended essays.

The Encyclopedia of Global Studies is the reference work for the emerging field of global studies. It covers both transnational topics and intellectual approaches to the study of global themes, including: the globalization of economies and technologies; the diaspora of cultures and dispersion of peoples; the transnational aspects of social and political change; the global impact of environmental, technological and health changes; and the organizations and issues related to global civil society.

"Globalization: much discussed but little understood. The term has catapulted from obscurity to the headlines in just a few years. Globalization, anti-globalization: what does it all mean; and what should we do about it? Everyone has a stake in globalization, but most people are unclear and uncertain about what, more precisely, their stake is. Although a great deal has been written about globalization, surprisingly little has aimed specifically to inform and educate students and general readers. The Encyclopedia of Globalization provides a thorough understanding of the theoretical underpinnings of globalization as well as the various historical and analytical interpretations of globalization. Consisting of over 400 entries, coverage includes key cultural, ecological, economic, geographical, historical, political, psychological and social aspects of globalization. Compiled by a cross-disciplinary editorial team of leading academics on the subject, the Encyclopedia presents the latest research in terms that are accessible to the general reader, student, scholar, or researcher. The Encyclopedia addresses the empirical, theoretical and policy aspects of globalization. In empirical terms, the entries examine the substantive conditions of globalization such as climate change, human rights, the Internet, religious revivalism, and the World Trade Organization. With regard to theory, the entries clarify concepts and approaches that can be used to understand globalization including comparative advantage, cultural imperialism, and sovereignty. Concerning policy, entries in the encyclopedia cover measures (both existing and proposed) that can be used to shape the course of globalization: for example, neoliberalism, sustainable development, and the Tobin tax. In practice, of course, the substantive, conceptual and political aspects are deeply interrelated, so that each entry includes something of all three. Entries in the Encyclopedia vary in length from 500 to 3500 words, depending on the scope of the topic and its relative prominence in studies and politics of globalization. All entries provide bibliographical references for further reading and research. From the advances in nanotechnology to the controversies surrounding humanitarian intervention, the Encyclopedia of Globalization is a key inter-disciplinary resource to all aspects of globalization.

"The Encyclopedia of International Development provides definitions and discussions of the key concepts, controversies, and actors associated with international development for a readership of development workers, teachers and students. With 600 entries ranging in length from shorter factual studies to more in-depth essays, a comprehensive system of cross references and a full index, it is the most definitive guide to international development yet published." "This encyclopedia will provide crucial information for universities, students and professional organizations involved with international development, or those interested in related topics such as international studies or other studies of social and economic change today."--BOOK JACKET. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

"This volume represents the culmination of over a decade of research, planning, organization, and implementation as an updated and expanded sequel to the Encyclopedia of Stateless Nations: Ethnic and National Groups around the World, which was published in 2002. ... This encyclopedia was prepared to provide readers with an easy-to-use guide to the ethnic and national groups seeking recognition, autonomy, or independence in our complicated contemporary world. The encyclopedia is presented as a quick reference to the confusing issues of national identity, religious and ethnic relations, regional conflicts, and immigration that are important factors in all levels of national and international politics."--Preface, page xi.

Includes a comprehensive overview of ideas and issues in global development, biographical sketches of people working in their own countries and internationally, a list of governmental and private development organizations, facts and figures organized by topic, along with a detailed chronology mapping the milestones of global development since WWII. Annotation copyright by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Developed to serve as a vital link in the global chain of information, this convenient directory contains the most comprehensive list of names, addresses, and telephone numbers of government, judicial, and legislative leaders worldwide. Contact information is provided for nearly 10,000 key people in 191 countries. Web sites are also included in a separate index for quick reference. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access

This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access

All the world's current constitutions in their original languages and English translations are gathered into this single database, which also includes full-text historical legal and political treatises and scholarly articles. Bibliographies of and links to a multitude of secondary resources are also provided. Researchers can use the advanced search screen to perform cross-jurisdictional searches, but users focusing on one particular country might want to use the "browse by country" option and then search within that jurisdiction.

 United Nations Centre for Human Rights.

Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.

UNB has online access to the 2001 edition as well as owning print volumes of the earlier edition.

The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics is the key scholarly reference tool for economics. It offers access to over 3,000 articles written by leading figures in the field and is updated on a continual basis.

Statista is a multidisciplinary database that aggregates information covering 80,000 topics. Access to data from over 18,000 sources covering 1.5 million statistics. All statistics can be directly downloaded in PNG, PDF, Excel, and PowerPoint formats. Data prepared according to academic citation standards, with a citation tool (APA, Chicago, Harvard, MLA, and Bluebook) and links to the original source for further research. Statista also covers industry reports, studies, forecasts, dossiers, digital market outlook , aesthetically pleasing infographics, and more.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access

Discusses the region's past and present culture, society, history, economics and politics.

The most current edition (2016) is available from the Research Help Desk in the Harriet Irving Library. HIL-REFDSK

Second latest edition is shelved in HIL-REF.

Older editions (30th ed. 1989 - third latest edition) are shelved in HIL-STACKS.

This publication reproduces the new core universal human rights treaties in pocket-size. By issuing the latest core instruments in this format, the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights wishes to make them more accessible, in particular to government officials, civil society, human rights defenders, legal practitioners, scholars, individual citizens and others with an interest in human rights norms and standards

The UNdata database (formerly the United Nations Common Database (UNCDB)) provides access to selected statistical sources from a wide range of UN organizations including the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO), the International Labour Organization (ILO), UNICEF, UNESCO, and the World Health Organization (WHO). In addition, the UNCDB features databases from other international organizations such as the International Monetary Fund (IMF), the World Bank, the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) and the Inter-Parliamentary Union.

Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."