Assignment
Research Paper (25%)
Length: 8-10 pages double-spaced Times New Roman 12 point font. You must provide a title page and page numbers. In this paper you will be required to choose one call to action from the Truth and Reconciliation Commission’s Calls to Action or one article from the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples. You will then write an essay discussing what measures need to be carried out in order to meet the requirements of the call to action or article. Your answer should be backed by research, using no less than eight (8) scholarly sources. Due Wednesday, April 10th.
Internet Resources
Delivering on Truth and Reconciliation Commission Calls to Action - Government of Canada's progress in responding to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission 94 Calls to Action.
Indigenous Watchdog - Tracks what progress has been made for each of the TRC Calls to Action.
Implementing the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples Act - from Government of Canada
Statistics on Indigenous Peoples - provided by Statistics Canada.
UNB Libraries Research Databases
-
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America (EBSCO)
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America (BIPNA) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of Indigenous culture, history, and life in North America. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, education, the gaming industry, religion, folklore, economic development, acculturation, mythology, missions, tribal governments, and ethnohistory. BIPNA contains more than 350,000 citations for newspapers, magazines, academic journals, books, reviews, and trade publications from the United States and Canada with expanded content from Great Britain and Australia. Dates of coverage for content range from the sixteenth century to the present.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1989 - present -
IPortal : indigenous studies portal research tool
This database includes full-text resources such as articles, e-books, theses, government publications, videos, oral histories, and digitized archival documents and photographs. The content is primarily focused on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.
Open Access -
Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete (ProQuest)
Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access -
Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly (CPI.Q)
Indexes over 400 Canadian periodicals (English and French) with full-text and reports from 165 periodicals.
-
Google scholar
Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.
-
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of studies."
Permitted Use | eResources record | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | Full text: 1990 - present. I -
ProQuest Politics Collection
This collection allows users to easily conduct in-depth political science research, discovering more of the most relevant full-text and A&I records. It offers consolidated access for the bibliographic records contained in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service), and International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) and combines these with the full-text articles in ProQuest Political Science.
The collection also contains full-text dissertations, thousands of working papers, country reports, and government documents, offering an international perspective from leading and emerging academics, policy makers, and think tanks.
UNB Libraries Catalogue
