When researching a new topic it is often necessary to get an overview, explanations of unfamiliar terms, or brief factual information. The print and electronic resources listed below include selected reference materials (dictionaries, encyclopaedias, handbooks, guides, and standards) for the field of Globalization. To find additional reference materials, check UNB WorldCat (the library catalogue) or our Reference Materials database.
Key Resources
-
Globalization: Encyclopedia of Trade, Labor, and Politics
[HIL-REF HF1359 .G5854 2006 vols. 1-2]
International trade is as old as nations. During the last five decades, however, advances in technology and transportation have changed the scope and method of international trade. Disputes rage about the effects of these changes; advocates for different positions offer argument, but little factual or theoretical analysis.
Globalization offers all the information readers need to sort out the arguments. Written with the highest degree of scholarship, intended for college students or working professionals, the encyclopedia provides both introductory material to broad economic, legal, political, and environmental theory, and in-depth analysis of how theory interacts with practice in the framework of global trade. A trader in New York can, in a matter of seconds, execute a billion-dollar currency transaction in Hong Kong. What does this transaction mean to New Yorkers, to residents of Hong Kong, and to the rest of the world? This book gives readers the tools to answer those questions.
-
Encyclopedia of global studies
[HIL-REF JZ1318 .E626 2012 ]
The Encyclopedia of Global Studies is the reference work for the emerging field of global studies. It covers both transnational topics and intellectual approaches to the study of global themes, including: the globalization of economies and technologies; the diaspora of cultures and dispersion of peoples; the transnational aspects of social and political change; the global impact of environmental, technological and health changes; and the organizations and issues related to global civil society.
-
Encyclopedia of globalization
[HIL-REF JZ1318 .E63 2007]
"Globalization: much discussed but little understood. The term has catapulted from obscurity to the headlines in just a few years. Globalization, anti-globalization: what does it all mean; and what should we do about it? Everyone has a stake in globalization, but most people are unclear and uncertain about what, more precisely, their stake is. Although a great deal has been written about globalization, surprisingly little has aimed specifically to inform and educate students and general readers. The Encyclopedia of Globalization provides a thorough understanding of the theoretical underpinnings of globalization as well as the various historical and analytical interpretations of globalization. Consisting of over 400 entries, coverage includes key cultural, ecological, economic, geographical, historical, political, psychological and social aspects of globalization. Compiled by a cross-disciplinary editorial team of leading academics on the subject, the Encyclopedia presents the latest research in terms that are accessible to the general reader, student, scholar, or researcher. The Encyclopedia addresses the empirical, theoretical and policy aspects of globalization. In empirical terms, the entries examine the substantive conditions of globalization such as climate change, human rights, the Internet, religious revivalism, and the World Trade Organization. With regard to theory, the entries clarify concepts and approaches that can be used to understand globalization including comparative advantage, cultural imperialism, and sovereignty. Concerning policy, entries in the encyclopedia cover measures (both existing and proposed) that can be used to shape the course of globalization: for example, neoliberalism, sustainable development, and the Tobin tax. In practice, of course, the substantive, conceptual and political aspects are deeply interrelated, so that each entry includes something of all three. Entries in the Encyclopedia vary in length from 500 to 3500 words, depending on the scope of the topic and its relative prominence in studies and politics of globalization. All entries provide bibliographical references for further reading and research. From the advances in nanotechnology to the controversies surrounding humanitarian intervention, the Encyclopedia of Globalization is a key inter-disciplinary resource to all aspects of globalization.
-
Handbook of Global Health Policy
This is an essential state-of-the-art guide to global health and its associated policies. It covers an extensive range of issues including the governance, financing, and architecture of global health; the influence of evidence and politics on health policy; human and national security; trans-border threats; and human rights and partnerships. In doing so, it maps out key debates and policy structures involved in global health policy, and isolates and examines new policy initiatives.
-
Globalization: The Key Concepts
[HIL-REF GN27 .E69 2007]
"Globalization: The Key Concepts presents an accessible guide to the way we live now. The causes and the effects of globalization are hotly disputed and the book aims to present the range of arguments in a clear and balanced way. However, arguing that variation is as characteristic of globalization as standardization, the book stresses the necessity for a bottom-up, comparative analysis. Distinguishing between the cultural, political, economic and ecological aspects of globalization, the book highlights the implications of globalization for people's everyday lives. Throughout, the discussion is illustrated with wide-ranging case material. Chapter summaries and a guide to further reading underline the book's concern to clarify this most complex and influential of ideas."--BOOK JACKET. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
-
The Blackwell Companion to Globalization
This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access -
International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences (2nd Ed.)
Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
UNB has online access to the 2001 edition as well as owning print volumes of the earlier edition.
Additional Resources
-
International encyclopedia of political science
see also [HIL-REF JA61 .I58 2011]With entries from leading international scholars from around the world, this eight-volume encyclopedia offers the widest possible coverage of key areas both regionally and globally. The International Encyclopedia of Political Science provides a definitive, comprehensive picture of all aspects of political life, recognizing the theoretical and cultural pluralism of our approaches and including findings from the far corners of the world. The eight volumes cover every field of politics, from political theory and methodology to political sociology, comparative politics, public policies, and international relations.
-
Encyclopedia of the developing world
[HIL-REF HC59.7 .E52 2006 ]
A comprehensive work on the historical and current status of developing countries.
-
Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online
Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."
-
Youth activism : an international encyclopedia
[HIL-REF HQ799.2 .P6 Y65 2006 vols. 1-2]
How such citizens develop from children into adults is crucial information for educators, psychologists, young people, parents, politicians and many others. This two-volume set brings an understanding to the disparate activist youth groups internationally, as well as the interdisciplinary research that explores this phenomenon.
-
Oxford Handbook of Public Policy, The
see also [HIL-REF H97 .O88 2006]Oxford Handbooks of Political Science are the essential guide to the state of political science today. With engaging contributions from 55 major international scholars, the Oxford Handbook of Public Policy provides the key point of reference for anyone working in public policy and beyond.
-
Governments of the world : a global guide to citizens' rights and responsibilities
see also [HIL-REF JA61 .G645 2006 vols. 1-4]Presents an illustrated four-volume encyclopedia on governmental institutions, historical figures, and political systems around the world, and contains over three hundred alphabetically-arranged articles, nearly four hundred maps, and photographs on major people, themes, and events. -
Political handbook of the world
[HIL-REF JF37 .P6 2008]
The following volumes are held in HIL-STACKS: 1995/96-2000/02, 2005/06-2007
The following volumes are located in HIL-STORA (ask at the Circulation Desk): 1975-1976, 1979-1982/83, 1986-1994/95
-
The Statesman's year-book
[HIL-REFDSK HA46 .S83 2016]
Current year shelved in HIL-REFDSK.
2011 - 2015 are shelved in HIL-REF.
1995/96 - 2010 are shelved in HIL-STACKS.
The following years are located in HIL-STORA (ask at the Circulation Desk):
1873, 1875, 1882, 1884-1885, 1890-1893, 1896, 1898, 1907, 1909-1944, 1946-1994/95
-
The Europa world year book
[HIL-REFDSK JN1 .E85 ]
The most current edition (2016) is available from the Research Help Desk in the Harriet Irving Library. HIL-REFDSK
Second latest edition is shelved in HIL-REF.
Older editions (30th ed. 1989 - third latest edition) are shelved in HIL-STACKS.
-
Oxford Guide to Treaties
[HIL-REF KZ1301 .O94 2012]
From trade relations to greenhouse gasses, from shipwrecks to cybercrime, treaties structure the rights and obligations of states, international organizations, and individuals. For centuries, treaties have regulated relations among nation states. Today, they are the dominant source of international law. Being adept with treaties and international agreements is an indispensable skill for anyone engaged in international relations, including international lawyers, diplomats, international organization officials, and representatives of non-governmental organizations.
-
Undata
The UNdata database (formerly the United Nations Common Database (UNCDB)) provides access to selected statistical sources from a wide range of UN organizations including the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO), the International Labour Organization (ILO), UNICEF, UNESCO, and the World Health Organization (WHO). In addition, the UNCDB features databases from other international organizations such as the International Monetary Fund (IMF), the World Bank, the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) and the Inter-Parliamentary Union.
-
United Nations treaty collection / Collection des traités des Nations Unies
Under Article 102 of the Charter of the United Nations, "Every treaty and every international agreement entered into by any Member of the United Nations after the present Charter comes into force shall as soon as possible be registered with the Secretariat and published by it".
-
International relations, international security, and comparative politics : a guide to reference and information sources
[HIL-REF JZ1305 .K34 2008]
An annotated bibliography of print and electronic resources central to the field of world politics.
-
The international encyclopedia of revolution and protest: 1500 to the present
[HIL-REF JC491 .I58 2009 vols. 1-8]
This definitive 8-volume reference is a comprehensive print resource covering the history of protest and revolution over the past 500 years - throughout the modern era of mass movements.
-
Routledge international encyclopedia of women : global women's issues and knowledge
see also [HIL-REF HQ1115 .R69 2000 vols. 1-4]In over 900 alphabetically-organized entries, contributed by some of the world's most important Women's Studies scholars, this set covers all of the major areas: from Arts and Literature and Health and Sexuality to Spirituality and Religion.
-
World at risk : a global issues sourcebook
[HIL-REF JZ1242 .W67 2002]
Mostly US scholars offer introductory analysis and reference material on 30 key issues facing the world in such fields as economics, the environment, human development, law, politics, and security. The articles are formatted uniformly to facilitate comparing the different issues and finding links between them. Each moves from general analysis to detailed assessment at regional and national levels. Among the issues are AIDS, deforestation, ethnic and regional conflict, global warming, income inequality, peacemaking and peacebuilding, terrorism, and women. Annotation c. Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
-
Dictionary of international trade: handbook of the global trade community
An eBook accessible through UNB Libraries' ebrary platform.
