Skip to main content

History, Genocide Guide Ask Us

Guide Sections

Getting Started with Reference Sources

 When researching a new topic it is often necessary to get an overview, explanations of unfamiliar terms, or brief factual information. The print and electronic resources listed below include selected reference materials (dictionaries, encyclopaedias, handbooks, guides, and standards) for the field of History. To find additional reference materials, check UNB WorldCat (the library catalogue) or our Reference Materials database. 

Key Resources

  • Encyclopedia of genocide and crimes against humanity
    This encyclopedia contains approximately 350 articles that explain the issues behind crimes against humanity as they relate to individual countries and the world at large. It traces the history of events that qualify as genocide and crimes against humanity, profiles perpetrators and heroes, and explains international laws and legal proceedings aimed at ending genocide and crimes against humanity. Electronic version of the three-volume Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity edited by Dinah Shelton and first published in print by Macmillan Reference in 2005.
    Purchased multi-user unlimited access
  • Dictionary of genocide [HIL-REF HV6322.7 .T68 2008 ]

    Presents two volumes on human genocide in alphabetical sequence focusing on named individuals and groups such as "Babi Yar," Rwanda, the Holocaust in Europe, and in the killing fields of Cambodia. Discusses genocidal rape such as in Darfur, Africa. and attempts by the United Nations to solve the problem which has not been effective.

  • Encyclopedia of genocide [HIL-REF HV6322.7 .E53 1999 ]

    Alphabetical entries define names, places, and events associated with genocide, and major sections deal with the Armenian genocide, the Holocaust, and the process, detection, denial, and prevention of genocide.

Additional Resources

  • Columbia Guide to the Holocaust [HIL-REF D804.3 .N54 2000 ]

    Offers a general history of the Holocaust and addresses many of the core issues and debates surrounding it. Part 1. Historical overview -- Part 2. Problems and interpretations. Defining the Holocaust -- Roots of the Holocaust -- How the "Final Solution" came about -- The perpetrators and their motivations -- The victims' reactions to persecution -- The behavior of bystanders -- The question of rescue -- The lasting effect of the Holocaust -- Part 3. Chronology -- Part 4. Encyclopedia -- Part 5. Resources.

  • Holocaust Encyclopedia [HIL-REF D804.25 .H66 2001 ]

    Alphabetically arranged entries in 'Laqueur's encyclopedia provides fresh and lengthy articles on such topics as antisemitism, historiography, Jewish women, memorials, and resistance, just to brush the surface.

  • Remembering for the future : the Holocaust in an age of genocide [HIL-REF D804.18 .R46 2001 ]

    Focused on 'The Holocaust in an Age of Genocide', Remembering for the Future brings together the work of nearly 200 scholars from more than 30 countries and features cutting-edge scholarship across a range of disciplines, amounting to the most extensive and powerful reassessment of the Holocaust ever undertaken.

  • The Holocaust and its religious impact : a critical assessment and annotated bibliography [HIL-REF D804.3 .F583 2004 ]

    This annotated bibliography provides a comprehensive survey of writings about the Holocaust. Includes materials on anti-semitism, the moral and religious response to the Nazi persecution and genocide of the Jews, and post-World War II responses to the Holocaust.  

  • The Armenian Genocide : the essential reference guide [HIL-REF DS195.5 .A7393 2015 ]

    "The Armenian Genocide has often been considered a template for subsequent genocides and is one of the first genocides of the 20th century. As such, it holds crucial historical significance, and it is critically important that today's students understand this case study of inhumanity. This book provides a much-needed, long-overdue reference volume on the Armenian Genocide. It begins with seven introductory analytical essays that provide a broad overview of the Armenian Genocide and then presents individual entries, a historical timeline, and a selection of documents. This essential reference work covers all aspects of the Armenian Genocide, including the causes, phases, and consequences. It explores political and historical perspectives as well as the cultural aspects. The carefully selected collection of perspective essays will inspire critical thinking and provide readers with insight into some of the most controversial and significant issues of the Armenian Genocide. Similarly, the primary source documents are prefaced by thoughtful introductions that will provide the necessary context to help students understand the significance of the material"

  • Historical dictionary of Rwanda [HIL-REF DT450.115 .T89 2007 ]

    "Blessed with natural beauty and rich vegetation, Rwanda is often called the "land of a thousand hills." A proud people, the Banyarwanda (Rwandans) possess a centric view of the world, believing that Imana (God) favors Rwanda, as conveyed through the saying "Imana yirirwa ahandi igataha i Rwanda" (God spends the day someplace else but goes back home to Rwanda to sleep) and the fact that Rwanda means "the universe." However, this idyllic view of Rwanda sharply contrasts with the sad history of ethnic strife that has unfolded in the country since the 1950s: the 1959 Hutu revolution followed by years of anti-Tutsi pogroms, undemocratic regimes, the civil war of 1990-1994, and, more significantly, the April-July 1994 genocide against the Tutsi and Hutu who opposed the killings."

  • Rwandan genocide : the essential reference guide [HIL-REF DT450.435 .R83 2018]
    • Civil War (Rwanda : 1994)
    • Tutsi (African people) Crimes against.
    • Tutsi (African people) Crimes against Rwanda History 20th century.
    • Genocide Rwanda History 20th century Encyclopedias.
    • SOCIAL SCIENCE Discrimination & Race Relations.
    • Ethnic relations.
    • Genocide.
    • Rwanda History Civil War, 1994 Encyclopedias.
    • Rwanda Ethnic relations History 20th century Encyclopedias.

 

Last modified on March 5, 2024 10:14