How do I find articles for my assignment?
1. Search the databases or individual journals below using keywords related to your topic to find relevant articles:
Keep in mind you need to find an article from an anthropology journal - there may be other types of journals within the databases, so double check where it's published!
Anthropology Plus (EBSCO)
Anthropology Plus is an index of bibliographic materials combining Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute, from the UK. It provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present of all core periodicals in the field in addition to lesser-known journals.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | Late 19th Century-Current
AnthroSource is an online portal to full text anthropological resources. AnthroSource includes a searchable database containing American Anthropological Association (AAA) publications, more than 250,000 articles from AAA journals, newsletters, bulletins and monographs and cross-disciplinary resources for all things anthropological.
JSTOR Current Collection
In addition to being an archive, JSTOR offers current access to a range of titles from various publishers. UNB has access to current and archival content for almost 50 of these journals.
Journals (note - the links below take you to the catalogue record for the journal, then click on the red "Access Online" button to get into the journal. From there you can click on the different issues to browse through the articles or use the search box to search within the journal):
2. Scan through the results, reading the title/abstracts to find potentially relevant articles. Redo your search with different keywords if you're not finding what you want.
3. Find a few articles that look promising and skim read the introduction/conclusion of the full-text to decide if they're useful for your assignment.
If a PDF or link to the full-text isn't readily available, click on the link to see if we have it in our collection.
Infographic: How to read scientific papers (Natalia Rodriguez, Elsevier)
How to read a scholarly journal article. (Lockman, T. YouTube, 5:10mins)