ENVM 1001 Guide Ask Us

As a first-year student, transitioning into university life involves adapting to new study methods and academic expectations. One of the critical resources you will need to leverage is the university library. This guide provides an essential roadmap to effectively utilizing the library’s vast resources and services, which are pivotal for your academic success.

First, a university library means more than just the space or books on the shelf. Libraries offer access to many specialized scientific resources that you won't find freely available on the internet. These resources are electronic; you cannot see them in the library, but you can access them for free anywhere as long as there is an internet connection. This includes access to scientific journals, research databases, and academic publications that are crucial for your studies and research projects. UNB libraries provide access to specialized software and tools that are essential for scientific research, such as statistical analysis software, data visualization tools, and more. Librarians can also assist you in using these tools effectively. To learn more details about your libraries and librarians at UNB, please watch the video librarians made for you.

Before beginning your research or assignment, be sure to read the "Getting Started Guide" and explore the content on "Library Help Videos". It introduces you to all the relevant resources available in the library and is essential for all your courses. 

Scholarly Publications:

Scholarly publications, often referred to as academic or peer-reviewed articles, are written by experts in a particular field. The intended audience is often researchers in the same field, academics, and students. These publications undergo a rigorous peer-review process, during which other experts evaluate the content for its accuracy, validity, and contribution to the field before publication.

Peer-Review Process:

The peer-review process is a cornerstone of scholarly communication. This process involves the evaluation of the manuscript by one or more experts in the same field (peers). They assess the scholarly work for its originality, methodological rigor, relevance, and contribution to the field’s knowledge base. Feedback is provided to authors for improvement, and the work is only published after receiving approval from these reviewers.

Structure of a Scholarly Article:

Scholarly articles typically follow a structured format:

• Abstract: A brief summary of the research question, methods, results, and conclusions.

• Introduction: An outline of the research problem and a review of the existing literature.

• Methodology: A detailed description of the research design, procedures, materials, and methods used to conduct the study.

• Results: Presentation of the data collected in an organized manner, often with tables, graphs, and statistical analysis.

• Discussion: Interpretation of the results, discussing how they fit into the context of existing research.

• Conclusion: Summary of findings and their implications, along with any limitations of the study.

• References: A list of all sources cited, allowing readers to locate the original research discussed in the article.

Non-Scholarly Publications:

Non-scholarly publications are generally aimed at a general audience and are not necessarily written by experts in the field they discuss. They do not undergo a peer-review process and are often used to inform, entertain, or persuade a wide readership.

Examples:

• News Articles: These provide up-to-date information on current events and are intended for the general public.

• Blogs: Often informal, these can express personal opinions, experiences, and commentary on various topics.

Purpose and Audience:

The primary purpose of non-scholarly publications is to inform, entertain, or persuade the general population. They are often more accessible and written in a less formal style than scholarly publications.

1. Primary Literature:

Primary literature represents the forefront of scientific knowledge. It is where new findings and data are first reported. These original materials often authored by researchers and published in peer-reviewed journals.

Research Articles:

What: Detailed descriptions of original research.

Components: Abstract, Introduction, Methods, Results, Conclusions and/or Discussion

Purpose: Share new scientific knowledge.

When: You need original and detailed findings on a particular topic.

Why: They offer first-hand, peer-reviewed information and are foundational to scientific knowledge.

Theses and Dissertations:

What: Research projects completed for academic degrees.

Purpose: Fulfill graduation requirements and contribute to knowledge.

When: Seeking detailed research on niche topics or exploring academic perspectives.

Why: They contribute fresh research and often explore topics not yet covered in mainstream publications.

Conference Proceedings:

What: Collections of papers or presentations shared at academic or professional conferences.

Purpose: Share research with peers, often before formal publication.

When: Searching for the latest research findings or niche topics.

Why: They capture cutting-edge research often before it appears in formal publications.

2. Secondary Literature

Review articles synthesize and summarize existing primary literature rather than presenting new findings.

Systematic Reviews:

What: The most rigorous and structured approach to reviewing existing research on a specific topic or question.

Purpose: To identify, evaluate, and summarize all available evidence related to that topic or question.

When: To determine known findings and practice recommendations, and to identify uncertainties and areas needing future research.

Why: They rigorously compile and analyze research, reducing bias and providing robust conclusions.

There are numerous types of reviews, and you'll become more familiar with them as you delve deeper into your studies.

Other types of secondary literature are books, monographs. Scholarly monographs are single-volume books that offer comprehensive research and in-depth exploration of a specific area of expertise.

3. Tertiary Sources:

Tertiary literature includes reference materials, textbooks, and various publications that aim to provide the distilled essence of knowledge. These sources typically lack a specific author because their primary mission is to compile and present existing ideas and information. One of the key functions of tertiary sources is to summarize or compile information. You can think of them as handy study guides. Tertiary literature often refers back to primary and secondary sources. Examples of tertiary literature include textbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and manuals.

4. Grey Literature

Grey literature refers to materials that are not published through traditional channels, such as academic journals or commercial publishers. This category includes a wide range of documents, such as government reports, policy statements, early versions of research articles (pre-prints), finalized research papers that haven't been published yet (post-prints), geological and geophysical surveys, conference materials, maps, newsletters, bulletins, and fact sheets.

Grey literature has a broad spectrum of creators, including government agencies, non-governmental organizations, industry professionals, private businesses, and others.

Grey literature provides rich and up-to-date research across various fields. Government and industrial agencies frequently generate grey literature and release it on the internet faster than other types of publications.

Why Not Just Google?

General Search Engine Limitations: Google lacks specialization in academic content, focusing on a broad array of topics rather than scholarly resources.

Scholarly Resources: Academic assignments often require the use of scholarly resources, which Google may not reliably provide.

Access Issues: Even when Google indexes scholarly articles, full access to the content is often restricted.

The Pitfalls of General Search Engines

Incomplete Coverage: Google's search results may not fully encompass the academic content needed for thorough research.

Regional Bias: Search results can vary by location, which can affect the reproducibility and reliability of research.

Quality Control: There are no robust verification mechanisms to ensure the accuracy of the information found through Google.

Where to Find Scholarly Publications: Bibliographic Databases

Specialized Collections: Bibliographic databases offer a specialized collection of bibliographic records.

Types of Publications: These databases include a range of publication types, such as articles, conference papers, theses, and more.

Research Efficiency: They facilitate the search for relevant academic and scholarly materials.

Bibliographic Database:

An academic database is a specialized online resource that stores and provides access to scholarly information and research materials. These databases are designed to help researchers, students, and academics find high-quality, peer-reviewed, and credible sources for their studies and work.

Examples of Databases: GeoRef, SCOPUS, and others. Databases are usually subject-specific; for example, GeoRef focuses on Geology and Environmental Science, while BIOSIS is geared toward Biology. There are also multidisciplinary databases, such as SCOPUS, where you can find information across various subjects, including Biology, Environmental Science, and Physics.

Advantages of Databases:

Precision: Accurate and relevant search results.

Quality Control: Includes peer-reviewed content.

Search Control: Advanced search features.

Scholarly Access: Access to academic publications.

UNB Links: Access to materials related to UNB

Limitations of Google Scholar include:

It is not a database.

It often lacks full access to content.

It does not offer comprehensive coverage.

It lacks of control on search results

It is most effective when searching for a specific article. Please watch this video to learn how to use Google Scholar

UNB WORLDCAT Catalogue

A collection of bibliographic records maintained by UNB Libraries.

Not a replacement for databases.

It is essential tool during your study at UNB, please watch this video to learn how to search in UNB WORLDCAT

When to Cite

Quoting: When using the exact words from a source, place them in quotation marks and provide a citation.

Paraphrasing: When rephrasing ideas or information from a source in your own words, still provide a citation.

Summarizing: If you condense or summarize information from a source, acknowledge the original source with a citation.

Data and Statistics: When including specific data, statistics, or research findings, cite the source to give credit.

Ideas or Theories: If you are discussing ideas, concepts, or theories that originated from someone else's work, provide a citation.

Images, Graphs, and Charts: Any visual or audio representation taken from a source should be properly cited.

References to Previous Studies: When referring to previous studies or research, include citations to acknowledge the existing literature.

Why Citation Matters

Avoiding Plagiarism: Citations are crucial for giving credit to the original authors and avoiding plagiarism, which is presenting someone else's work as your own.

Building Credibility: Citations strengthen your arguments by demonstrating that your ideas are supported by reputable sources, thereby enhancing the credibility of your work.

Acknowledging Prior Research: Citations recognize the contributions of previous researchers, placing your work within the context of existing knowledge.

Providing Evidence: Citations serve as evidence to support your claims, making your arguments more persuasive and robust.

Allowing Verification: Citations enable readers to trace your sources to verify the information, ensuring the reliability of your work.

Promoting Further Exploration: Citations allow readers to explore further by referring to the sources you used, fostering a deeper understanding of the subject.

Respecting Intellectual Property: Citing sources demonstrates respect for the intellectual property of others, acknowledging the time and effort invested in research and writing.

Citation Format

Citations will vary slightly depending on the citation format or style.

Common citation styles for scholarly articles include (but are not limited to):

APA: Developed by the American Psychological Association.

MLA: Modern Language Association.

Chicago: Developed by the University of Chicago.

You do not need to memorize the format for each citation style; instead, focus on understanding the important elements in each citation.

Important Elements In a Citation

Here are some examples of different citation styles for the same article. Regardless of the style, citations always start with the name of the author, except when the author is unknown; in that case, they start with the title. There are also variations in each format. For example, in APA style, there is indentation in the second line, which is not required for MLA and Chicago styles. Additionally, in MLA format, not all authors are listed in the citation, among other differences.

Using APA and MLA citation styles for the same articles as example, there are elements are important:

The name of the journal: where the article is published, in this case it is “European Radiology Experimental.”

The name of the article: “Reducing Contrast Agent Residuals in Hospital Wastewater: The GREENWATER Study Protocol.”

Do not confuse the name of the article with the name of the journal.

Year: The year refers to the publication year of the source being referenced. This indicates when the source was made available to the public. In our example, the publication year is 2023.

Volume Number: Typically refers to the number of years the journal has been in publication. For example, if a journal has been publishing since 2000, it would currently have 24 volumes.

Issue: Refers to how many times the periodical has been published during that year. Some journals are published twice a year, resulting in 2 issues per year. Journals published three times a year have 3 issues annually. In APA citation, the issue number is placed in parentheses; in this case, the issue number is 1.

If you want to learn more about volume and issue numbers, please watch this video.

Page Number: The page number indicates the specific page or range of pages in a source where the referenced information can be found. In our example, the page number is 27. Page numbers are often listed as a range, such as 372-389. The format for including page numbers in a citation depends on the citation style being used.

Citation Help

In stead of writing the citation by hand, you can get some help from UNB WORLDCAT. As shown in the following screen, you can choose the citation style or format you need once you click on the “cite button highlight in the screen.  

This function does the most heave lifting for you, but it’s not perfect. You need to double check the details.  

There are also free software available to help you with citation. At UNB, librarians can help you with Mendeley Reference Manager and Zotero.