Engineering students should actively utilize reference sources to ground their academic and project work in authoritative, accurate information. Textbooks, handbooks, and databases provide essential knowledge on engineering principles and methodologies, ensuring that students' designs and analyses comply with current standards and best practices. Additionally, engaging with peer-reviewed journals and standards fosters professional and ethical engineering practices, equipping students with the skills to solve problems effectively and innovate within their field. This exposure not only enhances academic success but also prepares them for professional responsibilities after graduation, making reference materials indispensable in engineering education. UNB Libraries provide subscriptions to a variety of essential electronic reference databases and resources. For more details, please see the list below:
Key Resources
-
AccessEngineering
A full text collection from McGraw-Hill providing access to hundreds of engineering book titles, covering 12 major areas of engineering, and more than 200 topics.
Collection record | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access -
CRCnetBASE - incorporated into Taylor and Francis Group eBooks
CRCnetBASE eBooks have been incorporated into Taylor and Francis Group eBooks -- please visit the record for access and further information. Individual titles can still be found in our eBook search or UNBWorldCat, with access redirecting to the new site.
-
ASTM compass : your portal for standards, testing, learning, & more
ASTM Compass - International Standards & Digital Library includes all 13,000 active ASTM standards (equivalent to the printed 82 volumes), the historical standards back to 1998, as well as the withdrawn and redlined version comparisons. In addition, it includes full-text access to Manuals, Monographs, Data Series, STPs (Special Technical Publications) and almost a dozen Journals dating back to the 1930s.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access -
CSA Standards and Codes Online (Canadian Standards Association)
The Canadian Standards Association is a not-for-profit standards development, membership-based association, in business, industry, government and consumers. CSA is the largest standards development organization (SDO) in Canada and is accredited in Canada and the U.S. to develop standards in a wide range of subject areas.
UNB Libraries’ subscribes to the Complete CSA Collection package which includes over 3,000 current and historical (including IT and Telecommunications standards) and standard related documents such as handbooks, guidelines and commentaries. -
The Electrical Engineering Handbook - Six Volume Set
In two editions spanning more than a decade, The Electrical Engineering Handbook stands as the definitive reference to the multidisciplinary field of electrical engineering. Our knowledge continues to grow, and so does the Handbook. For the third edition, it has grown into a set of six books carefully focused on specialized areas or fields of study. Each one represents a concise yet definitive collection of key concepts, models, and equations in its respective domain, thoughtfully gathered for convenient access. Combined, they constitute the most comprehensive, authoritative resource available. Circuits, Signals, and Speech and Image Processing presents all of the basic information related to electric circuits and components, analysis of circuits, the use of the Laplace transform, as well as signal, speech, and image processing using filters and algorithms. It also examines emerging areas such as text to speech synthesis, real-time processing, and embedded signal processing.
-
Handbook of Electrical Engineering Calculations
Written by experienced teachers and recognized experts in electrical engineering, Handbook of Electrical Engineering Calculations identifies and solves the seminal problems with numerical techniques for the principal branches of the field -- electric power, electromagnetic fields, signal analysis, communication systems, control systems, and computer engineering. It covers electric power engineering, electromagnetics, algorithms used in signal analysis, communication systems, algorithms used in control systems, and computer engineering. Illustrated with detailed equations, helpful drawings, and easy-to-understand tables, the book serves as a practical, on-the-job reference.
-
The Electronics Handbook
The Electronics Handbook, Second Edition provides a comprehensive reference to the key concepts, models, and equations necessary to analyze, design, and predict the behavior of complex electrical devices, circuits, instruments, and systems. With 23 sections that encompass the entire electronics field, from classical devices and circuits to emerging technologies and applications, The Electronics Handbook, Second Edition not only covers the engineering aspects, but also includes sections on reliability, safety, and engineering management.
-
The VLSI Handbook
For the new millenium, Wai-Kai Chen introduced a monumental reference for the design, analysis, and prediction of VLSI circuits: The VLSI Handbook. Still a valuable tool for dealing with the most dynamic field in engineering, this second edition includes 13 sections comprising nearly 100 chapters focused on the key concepts, models, and equations.
Written by a stellar international panel of expert contributors, this handbook is a reliable, comprehensive resource for real answers to practical problems. It emphasizes fundamental theory underlying professional applications and also reflects key areas of industrial and research focus.
-
VoIP Handbook Applications, Technologies, Reliability, and Security
The VoIP Handbook: Applications, Technologies, Reliability, and Security captures the state of the art in VoIP technology and serves as the comprehensive reference on this soon-to-be ubiquitous technology. It provides:
- A step-by-step methodology to evaluate VoIP performance prior to network implementation
- An invaluable overview of implementation challenges and several VoIP multipoint conference systems
- Unparalleled coverage of design and engineering issues such VoIP traffic, QoS requirements, and VoIP flow
As this promising technology’s popularity increases, new demands for improved quality, reduced cost, and seamless operation will continue to increase. Edited by preeminent wireless communications experts Ahson and Illyas, the VoIP Handbook guides you to successful deployment.
-
SIP Handbook Services, Technologies, and Security of Session Initiation Protocol
Widely adopted by service providers to enable IP telephony, instant messaging, and other data services, SIP is the signaling protocol of choice for advanced multimedia communications signaling. Compiled by noted engineering experts Syed Ahson and Mohammad Ilyas, SIP Handbook: Services, Technologies, and Security of Session Initiation Protocol presents a thorough technical review of all aspects of SIP. It captures the current state of IP Multimedia Subsystem technology and provides a unique source of comprehensive reference material on this subject.
-
RFID Handbook Applications, Technology, Security, and Privacy
The RFID Handbook provides an overview of RFID technology, its associated security and privacy risks, and recommended practices that will enable organizations to realize productivity improvements while also protecting sensitive information and the privacy of individuals.
Expert contributors present a host of applications including RFID enabled automated receiving, triage with RFID for massive incidents, RFID and NFC in relation to mobile phones, and RFID technologies for communication robots and a privacy preserving video surveillance system. The unprecedented coverage also includes detailed descriptions of adaptive splitting protocols as well as tree-based and probabilistic anti-collision protocols.
-
The Control Handbook Control System Applications
The Control Handbook, Second Edition organizes cutting-edge contributions from more than 200 leading experts. The second volume, Control System Applications, includes 35 entirely new applications organized by subject area. Covering the design and use of control systems, this volume includes applications for:
- Automobiles, including PEM fuel cells
- Aerospace
- Industrial control of machines and processes
- Biomedical uses, including robotic surgery and drug discovery and development
- Electronics and communication networks
Other applications are included in a section that reflects the multidisciplinary nature of control system work. These include applications for the construction of financial portfolios, earthquake response control for civil structures, quantum estimation and control, and the modeling and control of air conditioning and refrigeration systems.
-
Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers
This fully revised, industry-standard resource offers practical details on every aspect of electric power engineering. The book contains in-depth discussions from more than 100 internationally recognized experts. Generation, transmission, distribution, operation, system protection, and switchgear are thoroughly explained. Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, Seventeenth Edition, features brand-new sections on measurement and instrumentation; interconnected power grids; smart grids and microgrids; wind, solar, and photovoltaic power generation; electric machines and transformers; power system analysis, operations, stability, and protection; and the electricity market.
-
Electrical Engineer’s Portable Handbook
Aimed at electrical engineers and technicians working in building power systems, the relentlessly practical Handbook succeeded as an in the field working tool. This new edition is necessitated by the new 2002 version of the National Electrical Code (NEC). This code changes render much of the existing material obsolete, so over half the chapters require heavy rewrites to stay current.
-
Sensors Handbook
Completely updated with new sensor breakthroughs. The second edition of Sensors Handbook equips you with cutting-edge information on advancements in sensing technology and applications in various fields, including medical, geographical, environmental, industrial, semiconductor manufacturing, and mechanical engineering. This expert guide features new developmentsin nano MEM sensing, smart biosensing, CMOS sensor and silicon integration, chemical sensing for environmental applications, and more. With its comprehensive coverage, this revised classic now offers you a global picture of sensor technology and applications.
-
High Power Laser Handbook
Filled with full-color images, High-Power Laser Handbook offers comprehensive details on the latest advances in high-power laser development and applications. Performance parameters for each major class of lasers are described. The book covers high-power gas, chemical, and free-electron lasers and then discusses semiconductor diode lasers, along with the associated technologies of packaging, reliability, and beam shaping and delivery. Current research and development in solid-state lasers is described as well as scaling approaches for high CW powers, high pulse energies, and high peak powers. This authoritative work also addresses the emergence of fiber lasers and concludes by reviewing various methods for beam combining.
-
Electrical Equipment Handbook: Troubleshooting and Maintenance
Details diagnostic testing and inspection methods for all industrial equipment, Covers advanced fault detection techniques, critical components, and common failure modes, Includes predictive and preventive maintenance and reliability testing for industrial equipment.
-
Electronic Technology Handbook
Cutting edge electronics technology demystified. Anyone with a basic technical background can gain a fast understanding of electronics technology with the easy-to-read Electronics Technology Handbook. Electronic engineering newcomers will find this a one-step, non-mathematical resource for clear explanations of electronics technology essentials–from AC theory and generation to wireless communications and microprocessors. Encyclopedic coverage supported with hundreds of concept-clarifying illustrations shows you exactly how contemporary electronic devices and systems work and interact. You’ll quickly discover the principles at the heart of such widely used technologies as transistors; integrated circuits; television; ATM machines; cell phones; bar-code readers; sensors; robotics; satellites; electron microscopes; process control; radar; global positioning system; night vision systems; and much more.
-
Electro-Optics Handbook
All-inclusive opto electronics guide. A valuable "must-have" tool for electronic and optical engineers, this Handbook is the only single-volume, tell-it-all guide to the use of optical devices and light in electronics systems. Developed by a towering figure in the field, this manual familiarizes you with UV, VUV and X-Ray lasers; visible, solid-state, semiconductor and infrared gas lasers; FEL and ultrashort laser pulses; visible and infrared optical materials; infrared and imaging detectors; optical fibers and fiber optic sensors; holography; laser spectroscopy and photochemistry; high resolution lithography for optoelectronics; and much more. In this up-to-the-minute edition you’ll find new chapters on optical communications, electro-optic devices, and high intensity optical fields, in addition to extensively updated material throughout, and abundant charts, diagrams and data tables.
-
Antenna Engineering Handbook
This new edition of the "bible of antenna engineering" has been updated to provide start-to-finish coverage of the latest innovations in antenna design and application. You will find in-depth discussion of antennas used in modern communication systems, mobile and personal wireless technologies, satellites, radar deployments, flexible electronics, and other emerging technologies, including 5G, terahertz, and wearable electronics. Antenna Engineering Handbook, Fifth Edition, is bolstered by real-world examples, hundreds of illustrations, and an emphasis on the practical aspects of antennas.
Product and Supplier Directories
