Find definitions of unfamiliar terms and overviews of concepts in UNB Libraries' dictionaries, encyclopaedias, handbooks, guides, and standards for the field of Economics.
Watch this video to learn how to search for e-reference materials on the UNB Libraries’ home page, and locate subject-specific e-reference materials in UNB Libraries' research guides. A transcript of this video is available.
To find additional reference materials, check UNB WorldCat (the library catalogue) or our Reference Materials database.
Key Resources
-
New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics is the key scholarly reference tool for economics. It offers access to over 3,000 articles written by leading figures in the field and is updated on a continual basis.
-
21st century economics: a reference handbook
The two volumes encompass analysis of traditional economic theory and topics as well as those that economists have only more recently addressed.
-
A Dictionary of Economics
"A Dictionary of Economics provides clear, jargon-free definitions for thousands of economic terms, including up-to-date entries on topics such as e-commerce and the Euro. The dictionary covers all aspects of economic theory, from microeconomics to public finance and international trade with definitions of mathematical and statistical terms widely used in economics, as well as words from related areas such as business and finance."
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access -
Economic thinkers : a biographical encyclopedia
Who are the individuals whose novel ideas, writings, and philosophies have influenced economics throughout history-and in doing so, have helped change the world? This encyclopedia provides a readable study of economics by examining the great economists themselves.
-
Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History, The
International in scope and spanning all time periods of human history, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History includes 900 original articles by noted scholars from more than thirty-five countries. Articles range from 500-word entries on inventors, theoreticians, and industry leaders to overarching, 8,000-word essays on markets, industries, and labor.
-
Economic thought since Keynes : a history and dictionary of major economists
[HIL-REF HB87 .B4313 1995]
The paperback edition of "Economic Thought Since Keynes" outlines the evolution of economic thought since the publication of "The General Theory," putting into perspective the trends, issues and developments in economics over the last half century. Part I contains an historical account of the schools, debates and issues, as well as the authors who have played significant roles. Part II features a detailed biographical dictionary of 150 economists, including their major published works, an analysis of their contribution to economic thought and a guide to the secondary literature. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
-
An encyclopedia of Keynesian economics
[HIL-REF HB99.7 .E528 1997]
Over 100 international contributors provide in-depth coverage of the ideas and impact of Britain's John Maynard Keynes (1883-1946), one of the most influential modern economists. His most noteworthy book, The General Theory of Employment, Interest, and Money --generated partly to explain the Great Depression--provoked Nobel Prize-winning debates on his advocacy of government fiscal policies to increase employment and stimulate business activity. The three sections center on: biographies of economists who contributed to such debates; analysis of his absolute income hypothesis regarding the psychology governing consumption; and essays on the rise and apparent decline of Keynesian economics. Annotation copyright by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
-
The Canadian dictionary of business and economics
[HIL-REF HC11.2 .C72 1993]
-
Handbook of macroeconomics
[HIL-REF HB172.5 .H356 1999]
This text aims to provide a survey of the state of knowledge in macroeconomics, a broad area that includes the theories and facts of economic growth and economic fluctuations, as well as the consequences of monetary and fiscal policies for general economic condition.
-
Handbook of globalisation
With original contributions from the leading commentators in the field and an overarching introduction from the editor, this handbook redefines the concept of globalization with a systematic and thorough examination of the debate.
-
Handbook on the Economics of the Internet
As the single most important general purpose technology of recent times, the Internet is transforming the organization, competitive structure and business models of the private, the public and non-profit sectors. In 27 original chapters, leading authors discuss theoretical and applied frameworks for the study of the economics of the Internet and its unique economics as a global information and communications infrastructure. They also examine the effects of the Internet on economic transactions (including social production, advertising, innovation, and intellectual property rights), the economics and management of Internet-based industries (including search, news, entertainment, culture, and virtual worlds), and the effects of the Internet on the economy at large.
-
Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online
Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."
Additional Resources
-
Handbook of health economics
[HIL-REF RA410 .H35 2000]
Includes bibliographical references and indexes.
-
The New Palgrave dictionary of economics and the law
[HIL-REF K487 .E3 N49 1998]
A great deal of economics is in fact about law - the functioning of markets, property rights and their enforcement, financial obligations and so on. Yet these legal aspects and problems are almost never addressed in the academic study of economics. At the same time a great deal of law, an increasing proportion of litigation for example, is about economics, and yet the drafting and administration of laws often ignore economic principle.The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics and the Law is uniquely placed by the quality, breadth and depth of its coverage to address this need for building bridges. Drawn from the ranks of academics and professional lawyers and economists in eight countries, the 340 contributors include the leading exponents of their specialities. Among them are Nobel laureates in economics and eminent legal scholars.The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics and the Law will become a benchmark for reference of the highest quality. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
-
Handbook of income distribution
[HIL-REF HB523 .H25 2000]
Includes bibliographical references and indexes.
-
A Companion to Economic Forecasting
This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access -
A Companion to the History of Economic Thought
This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access -
A Companion to Economic Geography
This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access -
A Companion to Urban Economics
This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access -
Handbook of Applied Econometrics Volume 1: Macroeconomics
This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access -
Handbook of Applied Econometrics Volume 2: Microeconomics
This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access -
Oxford handbook of quantitative methods, Volume 1: Foundations
The Oxford Handbook of Quantitative Methods is the complete tool box to deliver the most valid and generalizable answers to today's complex research questions. It is a one-stop source for learning and reviewing current best-practices in quantitative methods as practiced in the social, behavioral, and educational sciences. Comprising two volumes, this handbook covers a wealth of topics related to quantitative research methods.
-
Oxford handbook of quantitative methods, Volume 2: Statistical analysis
The Oxford Handbook of Quantitative Methods is the complete tool box to deliver the most valid and generalizable answers to today's complex research questions. It is a one-stop source for learning and reviewing current best-practices in quantitative methods as practiced in the social, behavioral, and educational sciences. Comprising two volumes, this handbook covers a wealth of topics related to quantitative research methods.
-
International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences (2nd Ed.)
Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
UNB has online access to the 2001 edition as well as owning print volumes of the earlier edition. -
The Europa world year book
[HIL-REFDSK JN1 .E85 ]
The most current edition (2016) is available from the Research Help Desk in the Harriet Irving Library. HIL-REFDSK
Second latest edition is shelved in HIL-REF.
Older editions (30th ed. 1989 - third latest edition) are shelved in HIL-STACKS.
-
CIA World Factbook
Prepared by the Central Intelligence Agency for use by the US Government. The World Factbook provides concise country profiles which include overviews of geography, population, government, and economy.
-
Oxford Reference
Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published.Covers the humanities and social sciences.
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access
