Use the databases below to search for articles on your research topic. If a database does not provide a copy of an article you want, click the Check for fulltext link beside the article record to see if another database provides a copy.
If you want an article that is not available at UNB, either online or in print, fill out a Document Delivery request form and the library will try to get a copy for you as quickly as possible (usually between 2-7 days).
Key Resources
-
Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC - EBSCO)
"CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association), and Mass media articles index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University) along with numerous other journals..."--About the database.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1915-Current -
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of studies."
Permitted Use | eResources record | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | Full text: 1990 - present. I -
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO)
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest-quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 890 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 850 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1908-Current -
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
Sociological Abstracts "covers the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behaviorial sciences."
-
Google scholar
Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.
Additional Resources
-
Emerald Journals
Emerald publishes a wide "range of management and library & information services journals. Our portfolio is made up of over a hundred leading management and library and information services titles."
eJournal Collection title lists:
Purchased & Subscribed multi-user unlimited access -
IngentaConnect
IngentaConnect offers one of the most comprehensive collections of academic and professional research articles online. UNB has access to a variety of journals, most of which we also receive in print.
-
Science Direct (Elsevier)
Science Direct offers comprehensive coverage of literature across all fields of science, medicine and technology. All previous ScienceDirect journal collections have been merged into this single collection, along with select purchased eBook titles.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access -
JSTOR Archival Collections
JSTOR provides access to back issues of a variety of scholarly journals. UNB Libraries currently subscribes to the Arts & Sciences (I through X) collections, along with the Life Sciences and Ireland collections.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access -
Taylor & Francis Online - eJournals
"Taylor & Francis Group collaborates with researchers, scholarly societies, universities and libraries worldwide to bring knowledge to life. Our journals program encompasses over 1,600 titles and as one of the world’s leading publishers of scholarly journals our content spans all areas of Humanities, Social Sciences, Science and Technology."
Purchased & Subscribed multi-user unlimited access (varies by title) -
SpringerLink
SpringerLINK service provides access to electronic journals in a variety of subjects, including "life sciences, chemical sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics & astronomy, engineering, environmental sciences, law, and economics."
[NOTE: pre-1996 Archival content now accessible when available] -
Meltwater - Canadian Newspapers & beyond
Meltwater is a news service providing UNB users access to newspapers from New Brunswick. The service also offers other NB provincial news sources in addition to newspapers and sources from around Canada, and news sources from around the world. UNB’s access is primarily aimed towards providing access to New Brunswick news through licensed access, but users are welcome to explore beyond those sources should they desire to do so; users can explore licensed news sources as well as those external sources tracked and searched by the service.
Meltwater access requires users to login by username and password with each visit to the site. Login details are provided on the next screen and will be updated randomly.
Permitted Use | eResources record | Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access | Coverage varies by title -
Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete (ProQuest)
Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access
