CHEM 1303 Guide Ask Us

Welcome to the CHEM 1303 library research guide!

This guide is designed to help you successfully complete your Chemical Infographic assignment by connecting you with the most fitting research tools, tips, and resources accessible through UNB Libraries. Use the tabs above to guide you as you complete this assignment. If you have any questions along the way please do not hesitate to reach out to Emily Connor Dafoe, your subject librarian - happy researching! 

As a first-year student, transitioning into university life involves adapting to new study methods and academic expectations. One of the critical resources you will need to leverage is the university library. This guide provides an essential roadmap to effectively utilizing the library’s vast resources and services, which are pivotal for your academic success.

First, a university library means more than just the space or books on the shelf. Libraries offer access to many specialized scientific resources that you won't find freely available on the internet. These resources are electronic; you cannot see them in the library, but you can access them for free anywhere as long as there is an internet connection. This includes access to scientific journals, research databases, and academic publications that are crucial for your studies and research projects. UNB libraries provide access to specialized software and tools that are essential for scientific research, such as statistical analysis software, data visualization tools, and more. Librarians can also assist you in using these tools effectively. To learn more details about your libraries and librarians at UNB, please watch the video librarians made for you.

Before beginning your research or assignment, be sure to read the "Getting Started Guide" and explore the content on "Library Help Videos". It introduces you to all the relevant resources available in the library and is essential for all your courses.

Using UNB Libraries' Databases 

Much of the information that you will need to locate for your assignment can be found in scholarly literature accessed through UNB Libraries' Research Databases. The core Chemistry database is SciFinder, however there are a few other databases that may be helpful.

Research is all about trial and error. If you cannot find the information you are seeking in your first search, play around with your search terms and the database you are searching within!

Key Resources

Please see the videos below for information on accessing and searching with UNB Library databases. 

Grey Literature

Grey literature refers to materials that are not published through traditional channels, such as academic journals or commercial publishers. This category includes a wide range of documents, such as government reports, policy statements, Safety Data Sheets (SDS), finalized research papers that haven't been published yet (post-prints) conference materials, newsletters, bulletins, and fact sheets.

Much of the important information that you will encounter when researching in Chemistry can be classified as Grey Literature. For instance, documents and information such as Safety Data Sheets (SDS) are grey literature.

Finding Safety Data Sheets

Safety Data Sheets are documents that compile data on a chemical substance with the goal of guiding users on its safe use and handling. The sheets are provided by the chemical manufacturer, distributor, or importer and contain information on substance identification, company contacts, physical properties, chemical behavior, hazards, proper handling, and emergency response.

The easiest way to locate a SDS at UNB Libraries is through our database, MSDS plus CHEMINFO. Here you can search for a chemical project and be linked to the SDS. 

Key Resources

To learn more about grey literature, view our What is Grey Literature video tutorial.

Elements of a Citation

For this assignment you are required to provide references in in your preferred style (such as MLA, APA, CSE, etc.). Regardless of style, it is important to be aware of what each element of a citation means. Depending on the source type that you are citing, some of these elements may be used and some may not be used.

Here are the key elements of a citation: 

• Author(s): Who wrote the source? In some cases you may have editors instead or in addition to authors. 
• Publisher: What company published the source? This is most common with books and websites. 
• Date of Publication: When was the source published? 
• Title: When was this source published? If citing a scientific article you will use both journal and article titles:
  • Journal Title: The name of the publication that your article was published within. 
  • Article Title: The name of the specific article you are citing. 
• Volume: Common with scientific articles and typically references how many years that journal has been publishing. 
• Issue: Common with scientific articles and typically references how many times within a specific year that journal has published. 
• Page range: Page range of source, if applicable. 
• URL/DOI: When citing scientific articles include a DOI, not URL. 

When to Cite

Cite sources any time you use content that is the work of others and for anything that is not your own original thought. 

Examples of instances that require a citation include: 

Quoting, paraphrasing, summarizing, data and statistics, images, other's ideas and theories. 

Unsure if a citation is required? Reach out to your subject librarian (Emily Connor Dafoe)! 

Why Citation Matters

There are many reasons why citing sources is essential. You must cite your sources to avoid plagiarism, build credibility to your argument, and allow your reader to verify your claims (among others). 

Citation Help

If you have any questions about formatting your citations, please reach out to your subject Librarian (Emily Connor Dafoe). 

There are also free software available to help you with citation. At UNB, librarians can help you with Zotero.