Reference Materials for Indigenous Studies
Find dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference materials
50 events that shaped American Indian history : an encyclopedia of the American mosaic
[HIL-REF E77 .A125 2017 ]
This powerful two-volume set provides an insider's perspective on American Indian experiences through engaging narrative entries about key historical events written by leading scholars in American Indian history as well as inspiring first-person accounts from American Indian peoples.
A Companion to the Anthropology of American Indians
This title is part of the Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online e-book collection available through the Wiley Online Library.
Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access
A Native American encyclopedia : history, culture, and peoples
[HIL-REF E76.2 .P75 2000]
Dispelling myths, answering questions, and stimulating thoughtful avenues for further inquiry, this highly readable reference provides a wealth of specific information about all known North American Indians. Readers will delight in the stirring narratives about everything from notable leaders and relations with non-natives; to customs, dress, dwellings, and weapons; to government and religion. Addressing over 200 groups of Native American groups in Canada and the United States, A Native American Encyclopedia: History, Culture, and People is at once exhaustive yet readable, covering myriad aspects of a people spread across ten geographical regions.Listed alphabetically for easy access, each Native American group is presented in careful detail, starting with the tribal name, translation, origin, and definition. Each entry then includes significant facts about the group's location and population, as well as impressive details about the history and culture of the group. Bringing each entry up-to-date, Editor Barry Pritzker also addresses with ease current information on each group's government, economy, legal status, and reservations. Engaging and precise, Pritzker's prose makes this extensive work an enjoyable read. Whether he is giving the court interpretation of the term "tribe" (Many traditional Native American groups were not tribes at all but more like extended families) or describing how a Shoshone woman served as a guide on the Louis and Clarke expedition, the material is always presented in a clear and lively manner.In light of past and ongoing injustices and the momentum of Indian and Intuit self-determination movements, an understanding of these native cultures as well as their contributions to contemporary society becomes increasingly important. This book provides all the essential information necessary to fully grasp the history, culture, and current feelings surrounding North American Indians. It is not only a compelling resource for students and researchers of Native American studies, anthropology, and history, but an indispensable guide for anyone concerned with the past and present situation of the numerous Native American groups. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
American Indian history : a documentary reader
[HIL-REF E77 .A4963 2009]
This Reader from the Uncovering the Past series provides a comprehensive introduction to American Indian history. Over 60 primary documents allow the voices of natives to illuminate the American past Includes samples of native languages just above the full translations of particular texts Provides comprehensive introductions and headnotes, as well as images, an extensive bibliography, and suggestions for further research Includes such texts as a decoded Maya inscription, letters written during the French and Indian War on the distribution of small pox blankets, and a diatribe by General George Armstrong Custer shortly before he was killed at the Battle of the Little Big Horn Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
American Indian Religious Traditions: An Encyclopedia
[HIL-REF E98 .R3 C755 2005 vols. 1-3]
This three-volume encyclopedia is designed to define the academic study of American Indian religious traditions and to provide a reference that is sensitive to the political and ethical concerns of Native communities. Unlike much previous scholarship, this work attempts to present Native spiritual traditions as the practitioners themselves understand them; contributors are both Native and non-Native. While the complex subject matter is presented in more depth than is typical of dictionary-type references, the entries provide only brief introductions to the subject material. Atypical features include the use of first person narratives, the citation of individual Native elders as authoritative reference sources, and the deliberate omission of subjects that are considered private by Native communities. Entries are listed alphabetically, and the index is located in the third volume. The set includes some maps and black #38; white photographic images. Annotation #169;2005 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Arts & crafts of the Native American tribes
[HIL-REF E98 .A73 J64 2010 ]
Examines in detail how Native American culture evolved and considers the regional similarities and differences of the arts and crafts created by tribes across the continent.
Artstor is a repository of approximately 300 collections composed of over 2.5 million digital images (and growing), related data and provides tools to actively use those images in a restricted usage environment that balances the rights of the content providers and the needs of the users. The images are drawn from different sources, such as museums, archaeological teams, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference publishers.
Scholars can examine wide-ranging material such as Native American art from the Smithsonian, treasures from the Louvre, and panoramic, 360-degree views of the Hagia Sophia in a single, easy-to-use resource. The artistic traditions across many cultures embraces architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture.
Atlantic Canada Virtual Archives
The Atlantic Canada Virtual Archives (ACVA) features collections of digitized documents and images, accompanied by learning activities and commentary, of interest to a wide range of readers.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America (EBSCO)
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America (BIPNA) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of Indigenous culture, history, and life in North America. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, education, the gaming industry, religion, folklore, economic development, acculturation, mythology, missions, tribal governments, and ethnohistory. BIPNA contains more than 350,000 citations for newspapers, magazines, academic journals, books, reviews, and trade publications from the United States and Canada with expanded content from Great Britain and Australia. Dates of coverage for content range from the sixteenth century to the present.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1989 - present
Cambridge histories online
This resource, part of Cambridge Core, contains the online versions of over 270 Cambridge Histories publications in the following 15 areas: American History, British History, Economic History, General History, History of Science, History of the Book, Language and Linguistics, Literary Studies, Music, Philosophy, Political and Social Theory, Regional History, Religious Studies, Theatre Studies and Performing Arts, and Warfare. For a complete listing of titles in each area, please refer to the publisher's site, at: https://www.cambridge.org/core/what-we-publish/collections/cambridge-histories
Canada's diverse peoples : a reference sourcebook
[HIL-REF FC104 .B86 2003]
Born in the U.S. to European immigrants, Bumsted (history, U. of Manitoba) immigrated to Canada 40 years ago as a young adult, and is married to a Welsh immigrant. He has written numerous books and articles on Canadian history. His chronologically- organized reference text describes the gradual shifting of the origins of Canada's immigrants from a few western European countries to the entire spectrum of the Third World, and concludes with diversity issues and situations faced by Canadians during recent decades. Suitable for the general public and students of Canadian history, sociology, and anthropology. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Dictionary of Canadian Biography
[HIL-REF FC25 .D5 vols. 1-15]
Published simultaneously in French, this reference work is recognized as Canada's definitive source on biography. The 12th volume completes the first part of the series (1000-1900) and will be complemented by a cumulative index in 1991. Current indexing is unwieldy, with a separate index for Volumes 1-4 and indexes within each of the other volumes. Indexing was expanded with Volume 11 to include a list of identifications (names grouped according to occupational or other characteristics), and a geographical index (names grouped by place of birth as well as place of career). A nominal index is also helpful. The general bibliography is the most interesting feature. Its relevance to North American historical studies has been noted by John J. McCusker in New Guides to Primary Sources in the History of Early British North America. Subsequent volumes are being planned under the editorial direction of Ramsay Cook (York Univ.) and Jean Hamelin. This is an indispensable tool for Canadian reference as well as American historical research collections. Mary Hemmings, Univ. of Calgary Law Lib., Alberta Copyright 1990 Cahners Business Information, Inc. From: Reed Elsevier Inc. Copyright Reed Business Information
Dictionary of Canadian biography online / Dictionnaire biographique du Canada en ligne
The Dictionary of Canadian Biography/Dictionnaire biographique du Canada provides detailed biographies of important figures in Canadian history from the year 1000 to 1930. This free online resource is produced by Library and Archives Canada, in partnership with Universite Laval and the University of Toronto, and reproduces the full contents of the print Dictionary of Canadian Biography/Dictionnaire biographique du Canada.
Dictionary of the language of the Micmac Indians, who reside in Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, Cape Breton, and Newfoundland
[HIL-REF PM1793 .R3 2007]
This scarce antiquarian book is included in our special Legacy Reprint Series. In the interest of creating a more extensive selection of rare historical book reprints, we have chosen to reproduce this title even though it may possibly have occasional imperfections such as missing and blurred pages, missing text, poor pictures, markings, dark backgrounds and other reproduction issues beyond our control. Because this work is culturally important, we have made it available as a part of our commitment to protecting, preserving and promoting the world's literature. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest PQDT)
"Searchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. It also offers full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. Includes citations for dissertations and theses from around the world, ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts; master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Designated as an official offsite repository for the U.S. Library of Congress, PQDT Global offers comprehensive historic and ongoing coverage for North American works and significant and growing international coverage from a multiyear program of expanding partnerships with international universities and national associations."
All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.
It is also possible to search within an interface exclusive to Dissertations & Theses @ University of New Brunswick.For UNB theses submitted after 2012, please consult UNB’s institutional repository, UNB Scholar, or the library catalogue, UNBWorldCat.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1743-Current
Early Canadiana online / Notre mémoire en ligne
Early Canadiana Online (ECO) is a full text online collection of more than 3,000 books and pamphlets documenting Canadian history from the first European contact to the late 19th century.
Early encounters in North America : peoples, cultures, and the environment (Alexander St. Press)
Early Encounters in North America documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. The collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from all of the protagonists, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women.
Encyclopedia of American Indian history
[HIL-REF E77 .E48 2008 vols.1-4]
The editors of this 4-volume encyclopedia address the often profoundly tragic history of Native Americans with a careful focus on the viewpoint of Native Americans and attention to the issues that concern them today. Rather than organizing the material into A-Z entries, the material is grouped into six initial chronological essays, followed by groups of essays (arranged alphabetically) and organized by themes. The themes are issues, events, culture, governments, and people and groups. A sampling of individual topics includes Bering Strait Theory, education, genocide, Spanish influence, and the Red Power movement. The final volume contains descriptions of the culture, traditions, and history of the individual Indian nations, grouped into major geographical region. A section of primary source documents concludes the essays and a substantial list of resources is provided. This is a thoughtfully prepared resource that will compel students to read beyond their initial topic of interest. Johansen is at the U. of Nebraska, Omaha; Pritzker is at Skidmore College. Annotation ©2007 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Encyclopedia of Native American history
[HIL-REF E77 .E53 2011]
The Encyclopedia of Native American History offers a comprehensive and authoritative look at the most important individuals, events and topics in American Indian history.
Encyclopedia of native tribes of North America
[HIL-REF E76.2 .J64 2007]
Guide to Micmac-Maliseet holdings in Archives & Special Collections, Harriet Irving Library
[HIL-REF E99 .M6 C59 1996]
Revised edition prepared under the direction of Linda Baier, at the University of New Brunswick Archives, 1995-1996. Index included.
Handbook of Native American mythology
[HIL-REF E98 .R3 B26 2004]
Librarians Bastian (Colorado State U.-Fort Collins) and Mitchell (Hawkeye Community College, Iowa) present stories from some of the many native peoples of North America within the context of deities, themes, and concepts. They also survey the major cultural areas of the continent, the first Native Americans, the geography and climate, and the function and types of myth. One section is devoted to time, exploring such topics as cyclical aspects of time, mythic time, the time of transformers and animal people, and myths and historical time. Readers are expected to be non-specialists, and references and suggestions for further reading are provided. Annotation #169;2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Handbook of North American Indians
[HIL-GOV SU57 FS41 H236n]
Encyclopedic summary of prehistory, history, cultures and political and social aspects of native peoples.
HeinOnline is a comprehensive database of U.S. and international law journals, treatises, yearbooks, reports, cases, treaties, and other legal information resources. Organized into collections called “libraries,” all documents are image-based, full-text searchable PDFs. Most of HeinOnline’s libraries are searchable by citation.
Historical dictionary of Native American movements
[HIL-REF E93 .L43 2008]
Leahy and Wilson (both history, Fort Hays State U., Kansas) present this encyclopedic overview appropriate for high-school age readers and above of significant movements, events, people, legislation, and vocabulary in the history of Native North Americans. Entries are cross-referenced, and the appendix contains excerpts of speeches and writings by Native American leaders Pontiac, Tecumseh, Crazy Horse, and Clyde Warrior. Annotation ©2008 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Indigenous peoples atlas of Canada
[multiple locations E78 .C2 I63 2018 v. 1-4]
In this atlas, you will find outstanding reference maps of Indigenous Canada, as well as a section devoted to Truth and Reconciliation, including detailed pages on many aspects of the topic with contemporary and historical photography, maps and more. There is also a glossary of common Indigenous terms.
Maliseet - Passamaquoddy Dictionary
The editors-in-chief of the dictionary are David A. Francis Sr., a Passamaquoddy elder at Sipayik (Pleasant Point), near Eastport, Maine, and Robert M. Leavitt, Director of the Mi'kmaq-Maliseet Institute at the University of New Brunswick.
Maliseet & Micmac vital statistics from New Brunswick church records
[Multiple Locations E78 .N46 M36 1998]
From the Introduction: "This volume contains records of the baptisms, marriages, and deaths of Maliseet and Micmac people living in New Brunswick. ... The collection includes records dating from the 1700s up to 1919."
[Multiple Locations FN346 MA6 ET P214 no.131; PM1793 .D42 1996]
Text in English and Micmac with an abstract in French.
Native America in the twentieth century : an encyclopedia
[HIL-REF E76.2 .N36 1994]
An alphabetical reference that contains signed articles, written by historians, anthropologists, and other specialists--40% of whom are Native American--on 20th-century American Indians and Alaska Natives. There are overview articles on such subjects as art, economic conditions, educational policy, government policy, health, languages, law, public opinion, Red Power, religion, and reservations. In many cases, there are also articles on specific facets of these broad subjects. Articles on present-day tribal groups comprise more than half of the coverage, usually with a single article devoted to a single Indian nation, but sometimes organized by geographic area, language, or political grouping. Annotation copyright by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Native American issues : a reference handbook
[HIL-REF E98 .T77 T56 2005]
In this second edition reference for high school students and a general readership, Thompson (public administration, U. of Nevada, Las Vegas) gives a historical overview of Native America and examines public policy, statistics, and people relevant to US and Canadian tribes. The book includes a chronology; biographies of important Native Americans and others; notable court cases; statistics, "point-of-view" quotes by Native Americans, US presidents, and Canadian prime ministers; a directory of organizations; a glossary; and an annotated resource list that includes films. A key issue addressed in depth in the 1996 edition was sovereignty; this new edition features, instead, in-depth analysis of gambling. Annotation #169;2005 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Native American medicinal plants : an ethnobotanical dictionary
[HIL-REF RS171 .M64 2009]
In an abridged edition of his Native American Ethnobotany (Timber Press 1998), Moerman (emeritus anthropology, U. of Michigan-Dearborn) retains from the mother volume the some 25,000 uses of some 2,700 plant species, along with relevant references. He began his research in 1970, scoured obscure volumes in libraries and archives across the US, transferred the information to computer as soon as possible, and published a first collection in 1977. The entries, arranged alphabetically by Latin name of the plant, describe in turn how different tribes use it medicinally--for what purpose, which part of the plant, and how prepared and administered. Indexes are by tribes, plant uses, and common plant names. Related information such as the natural history of the plants, chemical composition, how the plants fit into the life and world view of users, must be sought elsewhere. Annotation ©2009 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Native American women : a biographical dictionary
[HIL-REF E98 .W8 B38 2001]
This A-Z reference contains 275 biographical entries on Native American women, past and present, from many different walks of life. Written by more than 70 contributors, most of whom are leading American Indian historians, the entries examine the complex and diverse roles of Native American women in contemporary and traditional cultures. This new edition contains 32 new entries and updated end-of-article bibliographies. Appendices list entries by area of woman's specialization, state of birth, and tribe; also includes photos and a comprehensive index. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Native Americans today : a biographical dictionary
[HIL-REF E89 .J695 2010 ]
Clyde Warrior was a Ponca who helped propel the American Indian rights movement in the 1960s. Richard (Skip) Hayward was the Pequot most responsible for starting Foxwoods, the world's largest casino. Chickasaw John Herrington was the first Native American astronaut. Now there's a place to meet them all--and many other noteworthy Native Americans, including Navajo poet Laura Tohe and Luiseno performance artist James Luna.
North American Indian thought and culture (Alexander St. Press)
This database is comprised of full-text materials that span the entirehistory of North America; from first encounters involving Native Americans and Europeancolonists to the stories of aboriginals living in a 21st century world. Included arebiographies, autobiographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oralhistories.
Multi-part database of the online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published.Covers the humanities and social sciences.
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access
The Canadian encyclopedia
Free online encyclopedia, containing the full text of the print Canadian Encyclopedia, "the most comprehensive source of information on all things Canadian." Includes the full text of the Encyclopedia of Music in Canada.
The Mi'kmaq bibliogrpahy [sic]: a guide to secondary sources
[HIL-REF E99 .M6 A44 2000]
Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online
Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."