STU-Science and Technology Studies Guide Ask Us

Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of studies."
Permitted Use | eResources record | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | Full text: 1990 - present. I

"CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association), and Mass media articles index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University) along with numerous other journals..."--About the database.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1915-Current

In addition to being an archive, JSTOR offers current access to a range of titles from various publishers. UNB has access to current and archival content for almost 50 of these journals.

JSTOR provides access to back issues of a variety of scholarly journals. UNB Libraries currently subscribes to the Arts & Sciences (I through X) collections, along with the Life Sciences and Ireland collections.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access

"SAGE Publications is an independent international publisher of journals, books, and electronic media. Since its inception in 1965, SAGE Publications has been a leader in publishing high-caliber titles for academic researchers in the social sciences."

Science Direct offers comprehensive coverage of literature across all fields of science, medicine and technology. All previous ScienceDirect journal collections have been merged into this single collection, along with select purchased eBook titles.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access

Sociological Abstracts "covers the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behaviorial sciences."

SpringerLINK service provides access to electronic journals in a variety of subjects, including "life sciences, chemical sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics & astronomy, engineering, environmental sciences, law, and economics."
[NOTE: pre-1996 Archival content now accessible when available]

The Philosopher's Index "is a bibliographic database with informative author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in the fifteen fields of philosophy, published in journals and books since 1940."

"Taylor & Francis Group collaborates with researchers, scholarly societies, universities and libraries worldwide to bring knowledge to life. Our journals program encompasses over 1,600 titles and as one of the world’s leading publishers of scholarly journals our content spans all areas of Humanities, Social Sciences, Science and Technology."

Purchased & Subscribed multi-user unlimited access (varies by title)

"America: History & Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present ... The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews."--Database information page.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1964-Current

Please note: CBCA Reference is now searchable as part of the larger CBCA Complete collection. Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
NOTE: In certain instances ProQuest has decided to omit particular 'articles' from full-text access due to copyright restrictions or because the item has not met their criteria for being an 'article' (ie. too short, a letter, not attributed to an author, etc.).
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access

With the emergence of many new branches of ethical debate and discourse in such areas as computer science, genetic engineering, and environmental sciences, there is an increasing need for a reference work that clearly outlines the many ethical issues in science and technology that have arisen in modern societies. Encyclopedia of Ethics in Science and Technology is the only single-volume resource to provide extensive coverage of such issues. Historically and internationally comprehensive, the encyclopedia features more than 400 entries that describe the varied ethical controversies in science and technology: laws, precedent-setting cases, regulations, agencies and organizations, ethical principles, concepts, people, and important events. Also covered are phenomena that are at the fringe of science but have important ethical implications, including voodoo deaths and experimental research into extrasensory perception (ESP). All entries are written in an objective manner, allowing readers to reach an even-handed understanding of these controversial issues.

Contains approximately one thousand alphabetically arranged entries that provide information about topics in science, technology, and medicine, and includes cross-references, photographs, charts, diagrams, drawings, and sidebars and reports.

This encyclopedia considers both the professional ethics of science and technology, and the social, ethical, and political issues raised by science and technology.

This unique reference book focuses on scientific development in the 16th and 17th centuries, when the field of science underwent tremendous advances and discoveries. The 441 articles cover scientists, processes, phenomena, philosophy, religion, and professional societies.

Spanning 5th Century Greece to today, this volume describes the relationship of science and religion throughout history. From ancient cosmology to modern physics, every major intellectual movement and discipline is covered.

Up-to-date, concise, and easy to use, the Science and Technology Encyclopedia is a reliable resource for students, and all those with an interest in the comprehensive array of scientific fields it covers. It includes more than 6,500 authoritative A-Z entries covering earth and life sciences, physics, chemistry, medicine, information technology, and other disciplines; biographical entries for more than 850 famous scientists, detailing their careers and achievements; over 20,000 cross-references; and more than 250 detailed illustrations, including schematic diagrams, representational natural history artwork, and technical cutaway diagrams.

Emphasizing an interdisciplinary and international coverage of the functions and effects of science and technology in society and culture, "Science, Technology, and Society" contains over 130 A to Z signed articles written by major scholars and experts from academic and scientific institutions and institutes worldwide. Each article is accompanied by a selected bibliography. Other features include extensive cross referencing throughout, a directory of contributors, and an extensive topical index.

The second edition of this landmark encyclopaedia will contain approximately 1000 entries dealing in depth with the history of the scientific, technological and medical accomplishments of cultures outside of the United States and Europe. The entries consist of fully updated articles together with hundreds of entirely new topics.

An authoritative online encyclopedia of philosophy. SEP is a dynamic reference work with in-depth articles written (and kept up-to-date) by experts in the field. All entries are peer-reviewed by a distinguished editorial board.

Wiley/Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."