POLS 2201 (SJ) Guide Ask Us

Free online encyclopedia, containing the full text of the print Canadian Encyclopedia, "the most comprehensive source of information on all things Canadian." Includes the full text of the Encyclopedia of Music in Canada.

Canada Commons is the definitive collection of Canadian books, government documents, think tank publications, and primary sources.. UNB has purchased access to a selected list of books by Canadian Publishers, as well as access to all available Public Documents.
Purchased & Subscribed multi-user unlimited access

The Dictionary of Canadian Biography/Dictionnaire biographique du Canada provides detailed biographies of important figures in Canadian history from the year 1000 to 1930. This free online resource is produced by Library and Archives Canada, in partnership with Universite Laval and the University of Toronto, and reproduces the full contents of the print Dictionary of Canadian Biography/Dictionnaire biographique du Canada.

Please note: CBCA Current Events is now searchable as part of the larger CBCA Complete collection. Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
NOTE: In certain instances ProQuest has decided to omit particular 'articles' from full-text access due to copyright restrictions or because the item has not met their criteria for being an 'article' (ie. too short, a letter, not attributed to an author, etc.).
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access

Indexes over 400 Canadian periodicals (English and French) with full-text and reports from 165 periodicals.

This collection allows users to easily conduct in-depth political science research, discovering more of the most relevant full-text and A&I records. It offers consolidated access for the bibliographic records contained in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service), and International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) and combines these with the full-text articles in ProQuest Political Science.

The collection also contains full-text dissertations, thousands of working papers, country reports, and government documents, offering an international perspective from leading and emerging academics, policy makers, and think tanks.

Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of studies."
Permitted Use | eResources record | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | Full text: 1990 - present. I

Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.

Please note: CBCA Current Events is now searchable as part of the larger CBCA Complete collection. Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
NOTE: In certain instances ProQuest has decided to omit particular 'articles' from full-text access due to copyright restrictions or because the item has not met their criteria for being an 'article' (ie. too short, a letter, not attributed to an author, etc.).
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access

Meltwater is a news service providing UNB users access to newspapers from New Brunswick. The service also offers other NB provincial news sources in addition to newspapers and sources from around Canada, and news sources from around the world. UNB’s access is primarily aimed towards providing access to New Brunswick news through licensed access, but users are welcome to explore beyond those sources should they desire to do so; users can explore licensed news sources as well as those external sources tracked and searched by the service.

Meltwater access requires users to login by username and password with each visit to the site. Login details are provided on the next screen and will be updated randomly.

Permitted Use | eResources record | Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access | Coverage varies by title

Maclean’s Magazine Archive, offering content from 1905-2015, a Canadian news and general interest magazine, provides a unique perspective on both national and international affairs. Topics include investigative reporting, opinion and analysis on politics, economy and business, science and technology, society, arts and culture, education and work. It was initially known as then The Busy Man’s Magazine from 1896-1911, with a couple of 1905 issues published as The Business Magazine, and then changed to the current title, Maclean’s, in 1911.

Features:
• Cover-to-cover processing presents each issue in its entirety as originally published
• Articles and cover pages are fully indexed
• Advertisements are fully searchable
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1905-2015

Canada's Heritage from 1844 contains complete coverage of The Globe and Mail newspaper from 1844 through 2011. Coverage includes major events in Canadian history, images, advertisements, classifieds, cartoons, birth/death notices and the full content of the Report on Business section first published in 1962.

Thousands of newspapers, magazines, and other news sources from 100 countries in 60 different languages. News sources are searchable and current with up to a 60-day backfile at most -- access varies per news source.

July 2019 NOTE: Please visit PressReader directly to select the newspaper or magazine you wish to read. Title level access is not yet available through the catalogue or the eResources search.

Due to publisher restrictions online access to the Globe & Mail newspaper is only available while on-campus.

NFB Campus offers access to over 3,500 Canadian film productions, including 500 new titles added just for classroom use.

The Theses Canada Portal currently provides access to records from the National Library of Canada theses collection (from 1965), and access to fulltext for theses and dissertations submitted between 1998 and 2002.

UNB Scholar's Theses and Dissertations collection provides full-text access to most theses and dissertations submitted electronically from 2012 to the present. Please note that since electronic submission was optional for graduate students until January 2019, this is not a comprehensive collection of all UNB theses. Researchers are urged to check the library catalogue for the most complete record of UNB theses and dissertations in print, microfilm, and electronic formats.

For UNB theses submitted before 2012, please consult ProQuest Dissertations & Theses, or the library catalogue, UNBWorldCat for select theses available online through the ProQuest resource.

Full-text access to all volumes of the Supreme Court Reports. When using the Citation Navigator, enter the volume number in the search box labelled "Vol." for citations to volumes 1 (1876/77)-64 (1923), but enter the volume year without brackets and the volume number if applicable for citations to volumes published after v.64 (1923). For example, enter 1977 2 in the "Vol." box to find [1977] 2 S.C.R. 36. Advanced search options are also available.

The Revised Statutes of Canada is the consolidation of the Statutes of Canada incorporating amendments and Acts that have been added since the last revision. There have been six revisions thus far in 1886, 1906, 1927, 1952, 1970, and 1985. HeinOnline includes complete coverage of all six revisions from the official printed volumes.