Skip to main content

Mobile Resources for Academics Guide Ask Us

Guide Sections

Research on the go

Mobile technologies and resources at UNB Libraries

Many electronic resources licensed by UNB Libraries now provide mobile friendly versions of their sites as well as mobile applications.

There are different ways you can obtain mobile access to resources at UNB Libraries. While some mobile friendly sites can be accessed using a mobile URL, others can detect your device and automatically provide the mobile version. A few electronic resources at UNB Libraries can be also accessed via mobile pairing. Mobile pairing allows you to "pair" your web browsing devices, such as smartphones, tablets, laptops, desktops, with UNB's network, allowing you to access licensed resources when you are not connected to UNB's network.

Mobile applications associated with UNB databases may require you to create an account from UNB premises, while on an IP authenticated computer, in order to verify your UNB credentials. Also, certain apps may require you to renew your IP authentication every 30 days and you must be on campus to do so.

Mobile apps specific to databases available at UNB Libraries

ACM Association for Computing Machinery gives you access to full-text articles published by ACM and bibliographic citations from major publishers in computing and information technology. The app features include the ability to search, browse, save, read, and share content as well as access to the Integrated Conference Schedules. Freely available for iOS or Android.
ACS Mobile American Chemical Society app allows you to follow a live stream of new research content published across the journals supported by ACS including their flagship Journal of the American Chemical Society. Download full-text articles into your "My ASAPs" folder for off-line reading. Freely available for iOS or Android for free.
Cochrane Cochrane Library allows you to access the Cochrane Library, which contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, on your iPad or tablet. Freely available for iOS and Android.
Financial Times App Financial Times gives you access to the latest international business, finance, economic and political news, analysis, data, tools, plus RSS feeds. Freely available for iOS and Android.
Hein Online HeinOnline allows you to view PDFs, access content by citation, browse by volume, navigate a volume with the electronic table of contents, and use full advanced searching techniques in this legal research database. Freely available for iOS.
NFB Films National Film Board app allow you to watch over 2000 movies - documentaries, animations and feature films - on your iPad or tablet. Store films for up to 48 hours for off-line viewing and bookmark your favourite films. Freely available for iPad and tablet.

Mobile friendly access specific to databases available at UNB Libraries

There are different ways you can obtain mobile access to resources at UNB Libraries. While some mobile friendly sites can be accessed using a mobile URL, others can detect your device and automatically provide the mobile version. A few electronic resources at UNB Libraries can be also accessed via mobile pairing. Mobile pairing allows you to "pair" your web browsing devices, such as smartphones, tablets, laptops, desktops, with UNB's network, allowing you to access licensed resources when you are not connected to UNB's network.

AMS American Mathematical Society Mobile: Access journals and other publications by the American Mathematical Society on your mobile device. With "mobile pairing", you can access AMS electronic products even when not connected to the UNB host network.
AR Annual Reviews: Access collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews publishes each year for more than 41 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences including Economics.
Artstor ARTstor Mobile: Search digital images from many time periods and cultures. Images are drawn from a variety of sources including: museums, archaeological teams, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference publishers.
CJ Cambridge Journals Mobile: Access over 300 peer-reviewed academic journals, containing the latest research from a broad sweep of subject areas, on your mobile device.
EB EBSCOhost Mobile: Search EBSCO databases, such as Academic Search Premier, CINAHL, ERIC, PsycINFO, SPORTDiscus, and the American Accounting Association journal collection, on your mobile device. Utilize your EBSCO personalized account features that include saving your searches and your found articles.
Em Emerald Journals Mobile: Search and browse Emerald's journal articles across a wide variety of academic fields including business, accounting, economics, marketing, management, and many others. Use your Emerald profile to manage your marked lists and saved searches on the go.
HO HeinOnline Mobile: This is a comprehensive database of U.S., Canadian, and international law journals, treatises, yearbooks, reports, cases, treaties, and other legal information resources. Organized into collections called “libraries,” all documents are image-based, full-text searchable PDFs.
JS JSTOR Mobile: Search a variety of journals in the humanities, social sciences, and science on your mobile device. Read full-text articles or e-mail yourself the article links.
LC Lyell Collection Mobile: Access one of the largest integrated collections of online Earth science literature available on your mobile device. Created by the Geological Society of London, the collection brings together key journals, special publications and society book series.
NRC NRC Research Press (Canadian Science Publishing) Mobile: Access leading Canadian science publications on your mobile device. Add articles or journal titles to Favorites for quick access and download articles for offline reading. To pair your device, access the mobile site from UNB’s network, tap the Settings icon, select the Device Pairing menu item, and request a pairing code. Alternatively, you can visit https://nrcresearchpress.com/action/mobileDevicePairingLogin to obtain a pairing code.
PQ ProQuest Mobile: Access ABI/INFORM Complete, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses, ProQuest Historical Newspapers, and Sociological Abstracts, and many other ProQuest databases. Refine your searches using the Advance Search features and organize your research within a "My Research" personal account.
PO PsychiatryOnline Mobile: PsychiatryOnline features the DSM-V and the American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of a collection of psychiatric references, including books, journals, and self-assessment tools. Now available on your mobile device via mobile pairing. (First, create an account on an IP authenticated computer then follow mobile pairing instructions.)
SJ SAGE Journals Mobile: Access journals in health and biomedical sciences, engineering, as well as social sciences and humanities on your mobile device. Save your searches and citations and customize your searching and browsing of SAGE Journals.
TF Taylor & Francis Mobile: Access a wide variety of publications in humanities, social sciences, and science and technology. Mark your favourites for easy access and save your documents in a personalized account.
SS Wiley Online: Access online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities on mobile devices. (You need an app that works as an RSS feed reader which will manage your reading of Wiley journals.)

Contact

UNB Libraries encourages your feedback and suggestions for additional apps. Please forward your comments to Aggie Sliwka at asliwka@unb.ca.

Talk to me about your research and teaching needs including working with primary sources, literature searches, building a research question, evaluating online sources, effective reading and organizing sources, and more.

Last modified on May 12, 2021 16:20