Key Resources
-
Medline (1950 to Present)
"MEDLINE® is the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM®) premier bibliographic database providing information from the following fields: Medicine, Nursing, Dentistry, Veterinary medicine, Allied health, and Pre-clinical sciences. As well, MEDLINE is the primary source of global information from international literature on biomedicine, including the following topics as they relate to biomedicine and health care: Biology, Environmental science, Marine biology, Plant and animal science, Biophysics, and Chemistry."
-
CINAHL with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature - EBSCO)
CINAHL with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 500 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1981, CINAHL with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1981-Current -
Native health database
This database contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents about the health and health care of Indigenous peoples located in North America.
Open Access -
Native American Ethnobotany : a database of foods, drugs, dyes and fibers of Native American peoples, derived from plants
A database of foods, drugs, dyes and fibers derived from plants, representing traditional use by Indigenous peoples located in North America.
-
Abstracts in Social Gerontology (EBSCO)
"Abstracts in Social Gerontology includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to social gerontology, including the psychology of aging, elder abuse, society and the elderly, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline."--About the Database page.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access -
Violence & Abuse Abstracts (EBSCO)
Violence & Abuse Abstracts publishes 1,200 abstracts annually plus and extended bibliography of recent literature on all types of interpersonal violence, including sexual, physical and psychological child abuse, domestic violence, rape, sexual assault and harassment, hate crimes, workplace violence, gang violence, elder abuse and neglect. Each abstract is categorized into one of four distinct sections: medical, legal, psychological and social.
-
The Cochrane library
The Cochrane Library contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. This database includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, the Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews, the The Cochrane Methodology Register, the Health Technology Assessment Database, and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
Access to the Cochrane Library in New Brunswick is through a province-wide license made possible by a partnership between UNB and the eight Regional Hospital Authority libraries. -
Global Index Medicus (WHO - World Health Organization)
Provides access to biomedical and health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries. The following regional databases can be searched all together or separately: Latin American and the Caribbean Literature on Health Sciences (LILACS), African Index Medicus (AIM), Index Medicus for the Eastern Mediterranean Region (IMEMR), Index Medicus for the South-East Asia Region (IMSEAR), Western Pacific Region Index Medicus (WPRO).
-
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI : EBSCO)
Health and Psychosocial Instruments is a bibliographic database with abstracts produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services (BMDS). It is used to find citations to and information about information-gathering tools for clinicians, such as questionnaires, interview schedules, tests, checklists, rating and other scales, coding schemes, and projective techniques. Over 2/3 of the tools are in medical and nursing areas such pain measurement, quality of life assessment, and drug efficacy evaluation.The database contains citations to actual test documents that copyright holders authorize BMDS to make available; bibliographic citations to journal articles which contain information about specific test instruments; and a catalog of commercial test publishers and their available instruments.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1985-Current -
Statista : the portal for statistics
Statista is a multidisciplinary database that aggregates information covering 80,000 topics. Access to data from over 18,000 sources covering 1.5 million statistics. All statistics can be directly downloaded in PNG, PDF, Excel, and PowerPoint formats. Data prepared according to academic citation standards, with a citation tool (APA, Chicago, Harvard, MLA, and Bluebook) and links to the original source for further research. Statista also covers industry reports, studies, forecasts, dossiers, digital market outlook , aesthetically pleasing infographics, and more.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access
Additional Resources
-
OECD iLibrary - Books, Papers and Statistics
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD's analysis and data. OECD Books and Papers covers all OECD’s published (ISBN/ISSN) monographs, journals, statistical annuals and periodicals available online in 17 subject themes. The main texts are accessed as PDFs, whilst related tables are in XLS, PDF or HTML.OECD Statistics provides online access to all OECD’s published data, irrespective of format. It includes the dynamic interactive databases, as well as the statistical annuals and periodicals in PDF format, and their related tables in XLS, PDF and HTML.OECD iLibrary Content items (April 2020):• 15 620 ebook titles• 81 600 chapters• 242 220 tables and graphs• 2 305 articles• 6 360 multilingual summaries• 6 620 working papers• 7 billion data points across 44 databases.
IEA Statistical Databases are not included in this package.
-
PubMed
PubMed is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's (NLM®) database of biomedical citations and abstracts. It includes MEDLINE, which covers over 4,800 journals published in the United States and more than 70 other countries primarily from 1966 to the present.
Open Access -
Scopus
Scopus, a multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.
