Gender and Women's Studies Guide Ask Us

Additional Resources

• Encyclopedia of feminist theories
  see also [HIL-REF HQ1190 .E63 2000]

  The path-breaking "Encyclopedia of Feminist Theories" is an accessible, multidisciplinary insight into the complex field of feminist thought. The "Encyclopedia" contains over 500 authoritative entries commissioned from an international team of contributors and includes clear, concise and provocative explanations of key themes and ideas. Each entry contains cross references and a bibliographic guide to further reading; over 50 biographical entries provide readers with a sense of how the theories they encounter have developed out of the lives and situations of their authors. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

• Gerritsen Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs - Books & Journals
  "This database is the definitive cross-cultural resource for information on women's history. It spans more than four centuries and 15 languages and includes over two million pages in full image. Users can trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of that country's feminist movement on other countries and their movements. The Gerritsen Collection also provides immediate access to many primary sources from around the world that were previously available only in a limited number of rare book rooms."
• Archives of sexuality & gender (Gale)
  The Archives of Sexuality and Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas. This growing archival program offers rich research opportunities across a wide span of human history.
  Permitted Use | Purchased multi-user unlimited access
• Palgrave Handbook of Sexuality Education [HIL-REF HQ56 .P35 2017 ]

  This state-of-the-art Handbook provides an authoritative overview of issues within sexuality education, coupled with ground-breaking discussion of emerging and unconventional insights in the field. With 32 contributions from 12 countries it definitively traces the landscape of issues, theories and practices in sexuality education globally. These rich and multidisciplinary essays are written by renowned critical sexualities studies experts and rising stars in this area and grouped under four main areas: Global Assemblages of Sexuality Education; Sexualities Education in Schools; Sexual Cultures, Entertainment Media and Communication Technologies; Re-animating What Else Sexuality Education Research Can Do, Be and Become. Importantly, this Handbook does not equate sexuality education with safer sex education nor understand this subject as confined to school based programmes. Instead, sexuality education is understood more broadly and to occur in spaces as diverse as community settings and entertainment media, and via communication technologies. It is an essential and comprehensive reference resource for academics, students and researchers of sexuality education that both demarcates the field and stimulates critical discussion of its edges. -- Back cover.

• Women and social movements in the United States 1600-2000
  Women and Social Movements in the United States serves as a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. It provides learning modules in the form of mini-monographs, each of which is organized around a specific question about a single social movement.
• Women in American history : a social, political, and cultural encyclopedia and document collection [HIL-REF HQ1410 .W6468 2017]

  This four-volume set documents the complexity and richness of women's contributions to American history and culture, empowering all students by demonstrating a more populist approach to the past.

  Based on the content of most textbooks, it would be easy to reach the erroneous conclusion that women have not contributed much to America's history and development. Nothing could be further from the truth. Offering comprehensive coverage of women of a diverse range of cultures, classes, ethnicities, religions, and sexual identifications, this four-volume set identifies the many ways in which women have helped to shape and strengthen the United States.
  
  This encyclopedia is organized into four chronological volumes, with each volume further divided into three sections. Each section features an overview essay and thematic essay as well as detailed entries on topics ranging from Lady Gaga to Ladybird Johnson, Lucy Stone, and Lucille Ball, and from the International Ladies of Rhythm to the International Ladies Garment Workers Union. The set also includes a vast variety of primary documents, such as personal letters, public papers, newspaper articles, recipes, and more. These primary documents enhance users' learning opportunities and enable readers to better connect with the subject matter.

  Features

  • Provides significantly more detail than typical reference works on women's history and culture, enabling readers to better appreciate the contributions of women of all socio-cultural statuses
  • Covers the astounding range of American women's experience, including women of various economic and racial statuses, religious affiliations, political and ideological identifications, and sexualities
  • Includes a significant selection of primary documents, thereby combining the educational power of secondary and primary literature to create a richer learning experience for users
• Encyclopedia of women social reformers
  see also [HIL-REF HQ1236 .R29 2001 vols. 1-2]

  The first comprehensive guide to women activists from every part of the world, illuminating the broad range of women's struggles to reform society from the 18th century to the present.

• Encyclopedia of domestic violence [HIL-REF HV6626 .E534 2007]

  Jackson (Purdue U.) presents this encyclopedia as a "state of the research" compilation of topics related social scientific understandings of domestic violence. The 140 alphabetical entries include both well-understood issues and neglected areas. The entries can be categorized according to seven primary themes. Entries on victims of domestic violence include discussion of battered wives, battered husbands, parricide, dating violence, and domestic violence in the workplace. Theoretical perspectives and correlates of domestic violence are discussed, including animal abuse, batterer typology, exchange theory, post-incest syndrome, popular culture and domestic violence, and victim-blaming theory. Cross-cultural and religious perspectives are presented, including domestic violence in Greece, cultural dimensions of domestic violence amongst Asian Americans, Qur'anic perspectives on wife abuse, religious attitudes towards corporal punishment. The entries also include discussion of understudied areas and "special" topics, including lesbian battering, domestic violence by law enforcement officers, pseudo-family abuse, sexual aggression perpetrated by females, community response to domestic violence, and measuring domestic violence. Child abuse and elder abuse are the subjects of a number of entries and the final category of entries provides coverage of issues related to domestic violence and the law. Where there is not explicitly cross-cultural content, the material generally is presented from the US perspective, especially those that concern the law. Annotation #169;2007 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

• The sourcebook on violence against women [HIL-REF HV6250.4 .W65 S68 2001]

  This textbook comprises a collection of original scholarly writings extensively coving current research on violence against women. It is an excellent resource for students, practitioners, and academics.