Library hours forSaturday, November 2, 2024
Harriet Irving	Unavailable
Science & Forestry	Unavailable
Engineering & CS	Unavailable
Saint John	Unavailable
Complete Hours

Educational Psychology / Counselling Guide Ask Us

Find Articles

When searching for journal articles, an indexing and abstracting database or print index is usually the best place to begin. Below are some recommended print indexes and databases for research in educational psychology. For other databases, check the Article and Research Databases page of the library website.

Key Resources

ERIC (EBSCO)
ERIC is a "bibliographic database that contains education-related documents and journal articles." The EBSCO interface also provides some full text linking.
Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1966-Current
PsycINFO (American Psychological Association; APA - EBSCO)
PsycINFO is an abstracting and indexing database of more than 2000 journals (approximately 3.3 million records) devoted to peer-reviewed literature (journals, books and dissertations) in the behavioural sciences and mental health.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1887-Current
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of studies."
Permitted Use | eResources record | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | Full text: 1990 - present. I

See Additional Resources Hide Additional Resources

Additional Resources

Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Education (ProQuest)
Please note: CBCA Education is now searchable as part of the larger CBCA Complete collection. Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere.
NOTE: In certain instances ProQuest has decided to omit particular 'articles' from full-text access due to copyright restrictions or because the item has not met their criteria for being an 'article' (ie. too short, a letter, not attributed to an author, etc.).
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access
Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest)
Social Services Abstracts "provide bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development."
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
Sociological Abstracts "covers the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behaviorial sciences."
Scopus
Scopus, a multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest PQDT)

"Searchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. It also offers full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. Includes citations for dissertations and theses from around the world, ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts; master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Designated as an official offsite repository for the U.S. Library of Congress, PQDT Global offers comprehensive historic and ongoing coverage for North American works and significant and growing international coverage from a multiyear program of expanding partnerships with international universities and national associations."

All PhD dissertations and Master's theses from depositing universities are available from 1997 onwards, unless the document's author has requested a temporary delay.

It is also possible to search within an interface exclusive to Dissertations & Theses @ University of New Brunswick.
For UNB theses submitted after 2012, please consult UNB’s institutional repository, UNB Scholar, or the library catalogue, UNBWorldCat.
Permitted Use | Subscribed multi-user unlimited access | 1743-Current
Google scholar
Google Scholar searches a subset of the Web that Google has classified as "scholarly literature". They do not publish a list of chosen sites, and they do not state how often sites are checked. Some important sources are not covered at all. Thus, Google Scholar alone should not be relied on for comprehensive research.
Annual Review of Psychology

Part of the Annual Reviews database dealing with Psychology.
SAGE Journals Online
"SAGE Publications is an independent international publisher of journals, books, and electronic media. Since its inception in 1965, SAGE Publications has been a leader in publishing high-caliber titles for academic researchers in the social sciences."
SpringerLink
SpringerLINK service provides access to electronic journals in a variety of subjects, including "life sciences, chemical sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics & astronomy, engineering, environmental sciences, law, and economics."
[NOTE: pre-1996 Archival content now accessible when available]

Encyclopedias, etc.

Below is a small sample of the encyclopedias and handbooks available through UNB Libraries.

To find more, search UNB WorldCat on the Find Books tab in this guide and include, among your keywords, the term "encyclopedia" or "handbook" (e.g. search for handbooks on special education using terms such as: "special education handbook"). Limit by Format to "eBook" for web-available versions.

Key Resources

Concise encyclopedia of special education [HIL-REF HQ772 .C436 2002]

"Child Development offers 296 illustrated articles examining contemporary issues in the field of child and adolescent development. It features the latest research on growth and development during the prenatal, infant, toddler, preschool, middle childhood and adolescent periods. Appendices include an annotated list of Web sties and 40 tables of current statistical data. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Encyclopedia of Special Education [HIL-REF LC4007 .E53 2007]

Alphabetical listing of over 2000 topics that include biographies, educational and psychological tests, interventions and service delivery, handicapping conditions, related services, legal matters, and miscellaneous. Intended for professionals and general public. Entries include narrative, references, contributor's name and institution, and cross references. Vol. 3 contains author and subject indexes
A Dictionary of Psychology (4 ed.)
"Written by a leading authority, with the assistance of a distinguished team of advisory editors, this comprehensive dictionary is essential reading for professional psychologists, psychiatrists, counsellors, and students of psychology and related disciplines such as nursing, sociology, social work, and education. There is comprehensive coverage of phobias and phobic stimuli and mental disorders."
Collection limited to subscribed 5-user access
The handbook of counseling [HIL-REF BF637 .C6 H365 2001]

Intended as a resource for counselors, educators, and student counselors, as well as for library reference purposes, this volume contains 44 chapters written primarily by professors of counseling, educational psychology, and other fields. It is organized into five sections addressing the profession of counseling; the theoretical foundations in the field; settings and interventions in which counselors commonly work; important research issues and the broader value of research; critical issues and emerging topics; and a conclusion addressing the political and social issues facing the profession. Annotation c. Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Handbook of Counseling and Psychotherapy in an International Context [HIL-REF BF636.6 .M66 2013]

The spread of globalisation and a rise in immigration have increased the need for mental health practitioners to be able to interact effectively with people of different cultures. This book addresses this need by exploring the history, philosophy, processes, and trends in counselling and psychotherapy in countries around the world.
Handbook of counseling psychology [HIL-REF BF637 .C6 H315 2000]

The bestselling reference on counseling psychology in clinical and educational settings Following on the success of the previous editions, this updated and expanded Third Edition of the Handbook of Counseling Psychology provides a cross-disciplinary survey of the entire field and offers analysis of important areas of counseling psychology activity. The book elaborates on future directions for research, highlighting suggestions that may advance knowledge and stimulate further inquiry. And specific advice is presented from the literature in counseling psychology and related disciplines to help improve one's counseling practice. Based on the results of extensive surveys from leading scholars, this edition has been updated to reflect the field's current breadth and vigor. New and expanded coverage has been added on cultural issues, new scientific developments, and career and educational topics. Focus is placed on the latest state-of-the-art thinking and research on the developmental and counseling implications of gender, race, ethnicity, sexual orientation, social class, and culture. Plus, several new chapters have been added that reflect relatively new, reinvigorated, or substantially expanded areas of involvement by counseling psychologists. These topics include: Qualitative research methods Preventive interventions with school-age youth Promoting school-to-work transitions The process and outcome of group counseling The process and outcome of couples and family counseling The Handbook of Counseling Psychology contains chapters written by today's key figures in counseling psychology. Their work has helped this book become a leading resource of counseling psychologists who need to know the latest information on preventing and treating vocational, educational, and personal adjustment problems. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Handbook of educational psychology [HIL-REF LB1051 .H2354 2006]

In this update of the 1996 compendium sponsored by Division 15 of the American Psychological Association, said to be the first single volume reference in educational psychology, Alexander (U. of Maryland) and Winne (Simon Fraser U.), continue D. C. Berliner and R.C. Calfee's tradition of presenting the latest information on the foundations of and trends in this increasingly diverse field. Berliner overviews its history and offers opinions on what directions it should take. International contributors survey advances in the understanding of learning, research methodologies (including use of the Internet), and assessment. Annotation #169;2006 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com) Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.
Handbook of evidence-based interventions for children and adolescents

This comprehensive handbook for evidence-based mental health and learning interventions with children and adolescents is distinguished by its explicit yet concise guidance on implementation in practice. With a compendium of proven strategies for resolving more than 40 of the most pressing and prevalent issues facing young people, the book provides immediate guidance and uniform step-by-step instructions for resolving issues ranging from psychopathological disorders to academic problems. Busy academics, practitioners, and trainees in schools and outpatient clinical settings will find this resource to be an invaluable desktop reference for facilitating well-informed decision making.
Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY - EBSCO)
" Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, the Mental Measurements Yearbook™ (MMY) provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. All MMY entries contain descriptive information (e.g., test purpose, publisher, pricing) and edited review(s) written by leading content area experts. To be included in the MMY, a test must be commercially available, be published in the English language, and be new or revised since it last appeared in the series. First published by Oscar K. Buros, the MMY series allows users to make knowledgeable judgments and informed selection decisions about the increasingly complex world of testing. MMY provides coverage from Volume 9 to the present."
Praeger Handbook of Education and Psychology [HIL-REF LB1051 .P635 2007 v.1-4]

Discusses such topics as cognition, mind, counseling psychology, lesson plans, learning styles, and Vygotsky. This work, a rethinking of school psychology, serves as a useful resource for educators, parents, psychologist, and others. It combines traditional knowledge with contemporary insights into the nature of modern schools and students.

See Additional Resources Hide Additional Resources

Additional Resources

Psychology of Classroom Learning: an Encyclopedia [HIL-REF LB1060 .P89 2009 v.1-2 ]

Uniquely focused on the teacher-student dynamic, the Psychology of Classroom Learning: An Encyclopedia examines the fundamental psychological aspects of learning such as cognition, motivation, and emotion, as well as individual and environmental factors at work in the classroom. Teachers, school psychologists, those studying developmental and school psychology and the general reader will find nearly 300 alphabetically arranged essays examining how instruction and learning are affected by factors such as classroom management, multiculturalism, learning styles, home schooling, peer relationships, school culture, discipline, self-esteem, socioeconomic status, and more. In addition to these topical essays, biographical entries on leaders in educational psychology are included. This two-volume encyclopedia also offers statistical information in the form of charts and sidebars, synopses of recent research specific to essay topics, and images. Extensive cross-references, a glossary, and subject index are included.
Tests in print, VI : an index to tests, test reviews, and the literature on specific tests [HIL-REF BF431 .B826 2002]

The most comprehensive index to commercially available tests published in the English language, "Tests in Print VI" contains information on over four thousand testing instruments. Informative descriptions of each test include specific data on their purpose, population, scoring, and pricing. Indexes of test titles, publishers, acronyms, and subject classifications are provided, as well as notations on out-of-print tests. Specific information about testing is required by a wide range of professionals in areas such as education, psychology, counseling, management, personnel, health care, career planning, sociology, child development, social science, and research. "Tests in Print VI" also serves as a comprehensive index to the Mental Measurements Yearbook series by directing readers to the appropriate volume for reviews of specific tests. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions, Inc.

Literature Searching Essentials

The following brief web tutorials are intended to acquaint you with tools and strategies for conducting and managing literature searches as a UNB scholar. Feel free to proceed sequentially or dive in where the need presents itself. Below we will cover:

UNB Libraries Website
UNB Worldcat for searching for books
Article searching with ERIC and other EBSCO-based resources
Searching for theses and dissertations with ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database
Google Scholar for finding articles and searching through "grey literature"
Zotero for citation management

Introduction

1. The UNB Libraries Website

2. UNB WorldCat for book searching

Does anybody even read books anymore? Well at the very least they skim them or else read them selectively - and often to great effect. While journal articles might be considered the primary unit of scholarly communication, books situate the highly specific info typical of research articles - say the mathematical achievement of 11 year old boys at an Anglican schools in Trinidad on the Secondary Entry Exam - in broader contexts - like the history and legacy of standardized testing in the Caribbean or comparing boys vs girls scores across all school types or different regions – the sort of contexts, in other words, that define academic and even societal discourses whatever the subject, period, or place.

But it’s not really my job to convince you of a book’s worth, only to show you how to find the ones you’re after.

More on retrieving research materials and document delivery: https://youtu.be/Ta9qicg1e10

More on eBooks at UNB Libraries: https://youtu.be/pNpW9mMRu-Y

3. Article Searching

When I was a youngster, the first floor of the Harriet Irving Library was nothing but big bound volumes of indexes and abstracts, floor to ceiling far as the eye could see, blotting out the sun. These were the ancestors of the article and research databases of today – oh and coffee back then? Forget about it! Get you thrown out on your head. My, how the times have changed. What hasn’t changed are many of the names we now associate with easy online access: ERIC, CINAHL, Dissertations and Theses, and many, many more have been around a long time, only now they’re joined by younger siblings like Academic Search Premier and Canadian Business and Current Affairs in a vast digital universe the access to which sometimes leaves you breathless.

So sit back, loosen up, and enjoy this double feature of ERIC and Dissertations & Theses, two titans in the realm of research literature, each available from UNB Libraries on a respectively popular platform - and learn how you make their power...your own.

ERIC on the EBSCO Platform

For those of you interested in learning more about how to break down a research question into its logical parts and put it back together in a manner that works well in ERIC on the EBSCO platform, have a look at the following document: SearchStrategiesForClassroomDesign_0.pdf

4. Dissertations and Theses on the ProQuest Platform

5. Google Scholar – the what, the why, the when, and then: the how

What – It's a treasure trove of research articles and so-called grey literature: technical and government sponsored reports, white papers, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations - and more.

Why – it’s easy to use and you don’t have to worry about mastering database- or discipline- specific controlled vocabularies - though they’re hardly a liability, just not everyone’s idea of time well spent - while leaving the sophistication of the searching up to Google Scholar leads to a lot of false positives - we’re talking...millions - the cream, if there is any, often mysteriously rises to the top...

And as you gain practice you get better at making the searching work for you. Another plus: a lot of international research, often housed in institutional repositories – like UNB Scholar here, or UWISpace in the Caribbean, not to mention the aforementioned grey literature - isn’t found in the subscription databases. And then there are some great features like tracing the influence of a piece of research into the future – from when it was published – not like the future future – though with Google I wouldn’t put it past them. Maybe in a future future upgrade.

The When – Whenever – start here or go directly to subscription databases, but ideally you will use them in tandem since there is bound to be areas where coverage doesn’t overlap – and you’re a serious scholar now.

And now, the How. These next two videos impart indispensable tips and tricks for using Google Scholar as a UNB student and, while they won’t constitute the most dynamic seven minutes of your life, they will more than pay for themselves in time saved and research accrued moving forward.

5 a. Google Scholar I

How to set up authentication or linking to UNB Libraries' full text journal and ebook subscriptions from within Google Scholar

5 b. Google Scholar II

The ins and outs of GS searching

6. Zotero for citation management

A software program that collects, manages, and cites research sources, Zotero is easy to use, works with your web browser where you do your work, and best of all it's free. With one click, Zotero will save web pages, books, PDFs, abstracts, and almost anything else with all its citation information. Learn more here:
https://guides.lib.unb.ca/guide/206

Bonus Content

Research Booster I

UNB Scholar Profiles
Google Scholar + Zotero
ETD Formatting basics

Lay a firm foundation for your research and publishing activities with this action-packed 45 minute introduction to useful practices, products, and people.

With Marc Bragdon, Mike Nason, and Rob Glencross.

Marc Bragdon
Head, Harriet Irving Research Commons
UNB Fredericton
mbragdon@unb.ca
(506)-458-7741

Last modified on January 12, 2023 14:14

Educational Psychology / Counselling Guide Ask Us

Guide Sections

Find Articles

Key Resources

Additional Resources

Find Books

Encyclopedias, etc.

Key Resources

Additional Resources

Literature Searching Essentials

Literature Searching Essentials

Introduction

1. The UNB Libraries Website

2. UNB WorldCat for book searching

3. Article Searching

ERIC on the EBSCO Platform

4. Dissertations and Theses on the ProQuest Platform

5. Google Scholar – the what, the why, the when, and then: the how

5 a. Google Scholar I

How to set up authentication or linking to UNB Libraries' full text journal and ebook subscriptions from within Google Scholar

5 b. Google Scholar II

The ins and outs of GS searching

6. Zotero for citation management

Bonus Content

Research Booster I

More Information